Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Eden Prairie, MN
Students enrolled: 763
 

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

9 reviews of this school


Oak Point Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
Oak Point is now solely an elementary school (Spanish Immersion shares the building). While it is a large school, it is divided into very nice, comfortable atriums that the children get to know quickly and are at home in. We were hesitant at first when we were moved to the school due to redistricting, but we have been absolutely thrilled with the quality of education our children have received. The teachers and the principal are very committed to the school and the kids. There is a wonderful group of parents who are also very committed to the school. All in all, Oak Point is a great school!

Oak Point Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Made the transtion between general elemantary to middle school easier for my child.


Oak Point Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
The school is great. The kids are nice. The parents are the WORST! As my kids get older, they have been taught to be responsible for themselves, not blame teachers. I wish some of the parents in this district could do that. If you want your child to have access to a technologically advanced education, a teaching staff that encourages student development with independent learning and responsibility, access to free after-school programs, and MANY parent volunteer opportunities (that means helping everyone, not just your own kids,) then your family will like Oak Point. The most recent poll of Eden Prairie parents who have had kids at OP showed that they favored keeping it as is. When they close it to house Spanish Immersion, which will lead to larger classes in K-6 down the road, everyone will want it back. I will miss Oak Point when it is gone.

Oak Point Elementary School 2

Posted April 25, 2008
- a parent
My daughter previously went to Glen Lake (absolutely EXCELLENT) and then transferred to Oak Point for sixth grade. There isn't much for parental involvement and I would say poor teacher/parent communication. Hopefully middle school will be better.

Oak Point Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 07, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is in her second year here. The place is massive. The teachers have too many students to take on. If she is on student council, plays an instrument, or volunteers in the library, she misses academics. There are 30 kids in each classroom.


Oak Point Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2007
- a parent
My son went to oak point for 2 years and he had a nifty time.

Oak Point Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 10, 2007
- a student
This school is a good school

Oak Point Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2007
- a parent
My son attended Oak Point for 1 1/2 years and we were very happy with the academics of this school and the way that they kept order in such a large enviornment. I also felt like he was safe there and that the programs were well planned. We really miss this school since we've moved away.


Oak Point Elementary School 1

Posted June 15, 2007
- a parent
Although there are a higher number of programs for music at this school, the staff members are very unorganized in the uniformity of teaching. Staff communication and collaboration is extremely important, but because of the oversized building, they do not. Also, the supporters of this school are very aggressive and loud, yet the majority of the community is not in support of the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Point Elementary School
13400 Staring Lake Parkway, Eden Prairie, MN  55347
(952) 975-7600
Last modified Oak Point Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oak Point Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top