Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The International School of Minnesota

Private | PK-12 | 420 students

Our school is best known for its diverse student population representing 40+ nat

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Eden Prairie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2008

This school offers a breadth of opportunities not often seen in public or private schools. The environment created is supportive and friendly, with teachers who take an active interest in their students' activities and performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

I am a middle school student at the International School and I think it is amazing. The curriculum is outstanding. I, as a student, admire the secondary language. All year round, your student will be learning either French or Spanish as a period of the day. I have been taking French for 8 years and it is simply wonderful. My parents are amazed to hear me speak fluently in French with my neighbors. Academic wise, this school will give your child personal attention. This school is for college prep. I strongly and highly recommend this school for your child. It is amazing. Lauren Lindahl.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2008

I have changed many schools trying to find the best one.. With International school of Minnesota, I think I found what I was looking for, where children are getting the best education, personalized attention, and are happy. I hear often parents complaining that their kids don't want to leave the school when they come to pick them up (this is true and I am witnessing it every day). Afsana Motameni
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

My kids love going to ISM. They are receiving a superb education as well as building social skills, self-esteem and self confidence. The foreign language program gives them a wonderful global perspective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

Horrible school. Do not send your children there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 13, 2006

ISM offers a strong traditional academic program in addition to strict discipline guidelines that creates a true learning environment. The high standards have taught my child the importance of hardwork and respect in addition to academic excellence which will stay with her lifelong in whichever field she chooses. What I like most about this school is the small community atmosphere where each administrator or teacher is easily approachable and work with each parent to make the school a valued learning environment for their child. Additionally, despite being a private school, it attracts families who truly value education and not just the affordability/status factor. The academics are combined with regular exposure to other activities and extra-curriculars that helps the children appreciate the arts and school team spirits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

My son has been at the school for 8 years, and is still loving it. The quality of academic programs is exemplary. The students are constantly tested and retested so no child is left behind, nor allowed to sit quietly in the back of the class while the education and knowledge slips woefully over their head. The system does not allow a child to progress to the next grade, unless they have fully mastered the necessary skills. The sports programs are adequate, and if sports ranks high on your requirements for your child's education, then this wouldn't be the school for you. Music, art, and extracurricular activites are excellent and stimulating. Parental involvement is modest (which is a good thing, as there's nothing worse than over-zealous, outspoken parents)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

My child is in her eighth year at ISM. She has been in both the Early Childhood Education grades and the lower school (1-5 grades). The excellent teachers have always been there for both my child and the parents and have been very easy to work with in resolving a variety of situations, whether they are academic or otherwise. We feel that our daughter is getting an excellent education and has had the opportunity to help other students who may need a little extra help. In that respect, I have to say that there is a definite support system in place that helps those kids who may need a little extra help to understand the previous week's lessons. Our daughter is enrolled at ISM because of their strong academic background. Children can get very involved in sports and have a great time, however the school is not an athletic powerhouse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

We are very impressed with the international school. First of all the academic level is high. A lot of attention for every individual student and his or her needs. The possiblity to grow acadamically is without limits, so many different levels in every subject. For such a 'small' school the sportsprogram is well developped and continues to grow with after school sports and leagues. This is definitely a school in motion , continiously looking for ways to improve. As a parent I feel I'm taken serious when I have questions or suggestions. The testing might seem heavy at first but our daughter got used to it really fast. It does give the student, teachers and parents a clear view of possible problems in understanding the work. Our child is very happy at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Leadership and teachers do not treat children with executive function disorders or depression properly. No IEP programs. School is superior for heavy testing, homework, and substantial curriculum. Solid test-taking skills learned. No outside programs similar to public or larger private schools. Gifted children need to be given more material, and more programs if children are behind need to be in place. If children don't fit in, no effort is made by the leaders other than to blame the child for not fitting in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2004

The International School was not impressive to me as a teacher because I felt it failed to provide a well rounded education. Math, language, and reading were done very well, but the other parts of becoming a well rounded adult seemed lacking. Examples of departments that were lacking if not ignored all together were physical education, home skills, and music! For a school that is so much into math, I would have thought that the connection between music and math would have been made and fostered.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 73%
Two or more races 22% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 2%
Black 3% 9%
Hispanic 1% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public
Private
International
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Arabic
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15am
School end time
  • 3:45pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Christi Seiple-Cole
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • internationalschoolmn@sabis.net
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Sailing, Crew
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Sailing, Crew
  • Soccer
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public
Private
International

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Top 200 Colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6385 Beach Road
Eden Prairie, MN 55344
Website: Click here
Phone: (952) 918-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Epsilon
Minnetonka, MN


Options
Minnetonka, MN


Bren Independent Study
Minnetonka, MN


Prairie Center Academy
Eden Prairie, MN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT