Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Peter's Lutheran School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Edina

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $278,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2013

I am a recent graduate of this school and I loved it!!! It was a great small school Experience and lots of one on one learning. We did a lot of fun things in school it was a joy to be there. As my 5th grade teacher once said, " St.Peters is one big happy family."


Posted February 2, 2011

I truly value the teachers at St. Peter's and their feedback and insight regarding my childrens' learning styles. Recently, the computer instructor observed my child's attention challenges during afternoon computer class. The instructor and classroom teacher worked together to offer computers in the morning instead. My daughter is doing much better in computers now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

Our sons are excited to start their days at St. Peter's. As a parent it is the most comforting thing to know that your child loves their school and the people that care for them there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

St. Peter's is a wonderful school. Our child enjoys going and learning there. as a first grader he scored in the top 93% in the Iowa Basic test. He had a speaking part in the school Christmas musical and had alot of fun doing even though he is shy. There is no bullying because it is based on Christain problem solving. He loves St. Peter's so it is worth the drive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2011

We are a catholic family and my daughter attends St Peter's Kindergarten. I could not be more pleased with this school. First, the academics are very impressive and that was my first priority when selecting a school. I am endlessly amazed by the teacher's curriculum and how much my daughter is learning in Kindergarten. The students are also taught by other instructors, specializing in subjects such as music, math, etc. Second, the class size is fairly small so teacher/student ratio is great. This is a smaller school then usual which makes it a family environment, which is caring and loving. I'm not sure why a previous reviewer mentioned a "military" style - we do not see that here at St Peter's. Walk down the halls and listen to teachers acknowledge every child or listen to older students say "hi" to the younger students. St Peter's is a safe, caring and excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

St. Peter's is a wonderful, christian environment and offers exceptional education for my children. The small class sizes mean individualized attention. St. Peter's has an excellent music program with personal music lessons given by the band instructor. The parents are very involved and the school has a total family atmosphere. They have a new principal and she is the best! I've never known a school with such a close-knit faculty. There are lots of family activities throughout the school year. Also, St. Peter's has the best preschool around. The preschool teacher is known nationally as a leader in her field. You and your kids will love St. Peter's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Before choosing St. Peter's, we searched the entire Twin City area. When we arrived at St. Peter's we immediately felt like we were home. Staff was very helpful and caring. Since both parents work, the before and after school program was very important. Not only did St. Peter's offer this program but my child continues to be sad when we pick up early. School is very clean, organized. Everyone treats each other like they are part of a family. Everyone willing to help each other out (car pooling, pick up, etc.) We are going on our 5th year and couldn't be happier with our decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

We chose St. Peter's for it's high academic standards and longevity of the teaching staff. In addition, there are great extra-curricular sports and language choices. Beginning band starts in 4th grade and the choir teacher helps to create a major musical production each year. The parents are very supportive and highly involved in helping to make an optimal learning environment for the kids. St. Peter's is centerally located with many kids from around the metro area. Families at St. Peter's are from a variety of denominations, so there is a diverse representation of Christian beliefs, which makes us stronger. A Christ-centered education is at the core of St. Peter's mission, and we are all encouraged to be alive in Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

What a wonderful environment for learning! My son is in preschool and it is such a nurturing place. He has learned a lot academically, but I have been most amazed at how the teacher has drawn him out of his 'shy shell' and truly engaged him. The other parents are friendly and involved as well--a huge plus. I plan to send both of my children to St. Peter's through eighth grade--the quality of education and availability of extra-curricular activities make that possible. The small class sizes ensure that they will get the attention and guidance that they need. An earlier review mentions a negative viewpoint of the former principal. He left in the fall (2005).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

I have had 2 grandchildren attending the school since preschool. I found the school halls filled with a family-like environment with teachers displaying positive attitudes until this year. This year they have a new principal enforcing different curiculum and principles. It has become more like a military school and many of the children are unhappy with the changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

We have a 7th, 4th and 1st grader attending St. Peter's School and we love it! They use Saxon Math program rather than Chicago Everyday Math - a big plus for us. They have an excellent Band director who gives private lessons DURING the school day, so I don't have to coordinate lessons somewhere else after school hours. They offer Spanish and Chinese language classes. They say prayers to begin each day, grace before AND after lunch, and then again to end their day. Teachers are very in tune with the kids, building cooperation in a Christ centered environment. There are old fashioned pot-luck get togethers and two PTL sponsored all-school activities each year; A Family Fall Party and A Spring Dance. There is chapel once each week and monthly missions so the kids learn to help other people. And of course, they have fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Black 6% 9%
Hispanic 6% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (952) 926-6545

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5421 France Avenue South
Edina, MN 55410
Website: Click here
Phone: (952) 927-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT