Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South View Middle School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a community member
The Mediocre Teacher tells,The good Teacher explains.The superor teacher demonstrates.The GREAT Teacher inspires..SVMS Has The GREAT Teachers...KUDOS!

South View Middle School 4

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
Great, but Short-changed by Superintendent & School Board: The principal & teachers are superb. They listen and resolve any issues with competence. My child has learned more than I can believe. My only concern is that funding can be tight. Meanwhile, many families are from the city of Edina but not the Edina school district. They want a district boundary change so their property taxes can go to Edina schools, but people at the district level won't support the issue. The funding shortage means kids at this school need to bring many classroom supplies from home and pay out-of-pocket for all activities, field trips, special programs, etc. It's still a great school though.


South View Middle School 4

Posted July 22, 2013
- a community member
This school is fabulous. The students are kind and caring, and many teachers are extremely charismatic to students and parents. A few problems that could be adjusted are cliques, pranking, minor bullying, and speaking put more during LGBTQQA month. Overall, this school is excellent, especially in education of gifted students. -A Student

South View Middle School 4

Posted December 12, 2012
- a parent
The principal is creative, hard-working, innovative and an excellent listener. The teachers are some of the best. My only complaint is that there are cliques in the lunchroom. A handful of popular kids cuts in lines and excludes the majority of other students from sitting near them. It would be nice if kids sat according to the class that they just came from, or if once per week there would be a mix-it-up Monday, or something like that. Kids would verbally complain, but I think that they would feel some relief "on the inside."

South View Middle School 2

Posted August 25, 2012
- a community member
you learn a lot, but many of the staff for special education were less than kind if one of the kids corrected them or didn't want to do something. instead of helping them, they would usually send them to the office for "tone of voice issues." the students are somewhat rude (like a lot of students all over), and some of the teachers are less than understanding too. I would say it was a bit overstaffed, and the teachers seem to not care about a few things.


South View Middle School 1

Posted December 08, 2011
- a parent
Nothing good to say about this school at all, overstaffed and overestimated. Would never recommend this school to anyone.

South View Middle School 5

Posted September 01, 2011
- a community member
This is a superb middle school. It has a pattern of innovation that is unmatched. There are many programs in place to reach students who are academically struggling, thriving, and in the middle. There is a clear passion from administration to make this a school that meets the needs of all students and teachers set clear expectations and hold students to high standards. There is a commitment to teaching students and helping them develop into the people they want to be. I really like the direction of the school and the focus the staff has on equity and excellence.

South View Middle School 5

Posted July 02, 2011
- a parent
Great school. The teachers are excellent. The communication from teachers and the principal is impressive. The school is in tune with the psychological and emotional make-up of the middle grades. The school is organized and very well run, but not too controlling or harsh on kids. The class offerings are incredible.


South View Middle School 4

Posted May 23, 2011
- a community member
Very Good School better than most schools ive been to and ive been to 7 different schools! although some people like taking advantage of you so you have to know how to defend yourself from others in the school otherwise its an extremely good school! i would send my kids here.

South View Middle School 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a student
I go to school here and there is alot of spirit and everyone is very nice. Everyone participates and learning is fun.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South View Middle School
4725 South View Ln, Edina, MN  55424
(952) 848-3700
Last modified South View Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South View Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top