Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Excelsior, MN
Students enrolled: 118
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

St. John the Baptist School has been the Parish school for 60 years and has the strong support and financial commitment of the Parish to host Catholic education on its campus. Over its 60 years, SJB has experienced varied attendance due to demographics, but has always responded with best practice to offer a quality education, steeped in the Catholic faith tradition. Some points of interest worth knowing as you take a look at us: *Accredited by MNSAA *Preschool through 8th grade, with extended day options and Homework Club * Part of the MCYO Athletic league where we offer volleyball and boys' and girls' basketball *Recently voted "Best Private School" in the area *Strong academics, evidenced by NWEA scores that are higher than neighboring public schools and high percentage of 8th grade graduates on honor rolls of both public and private high schools *Cutting edge technology - Smart boards in each classroom, utilized daily; middle school students buy laptops designated by the school,and the school loads required software and sets up each one for student's use for all their classes *All students receive Spanish instruction *Physical education classes offer lifetime fitness lessons and because of our small size offers instruction in tennis, skiing, roller skating, football, and more *Drama is offered to students in grades 4-8 with production of a full play with input from committed parents and a local playwrite *Every opportuntiy to expose students to extra curricular activities and Art programs is pursued I would be happy to give you a tour, so come take a look!
March 2, 2011

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St John The Baptist School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
I was looking for an authentically catholic school for my kids. A school where the catholic faith is taught and lived. Kids can learn very well at a public school but I believe, if you are a person of faith, that secular education is incomplete since it ignores the spiritual life in a child's life. I am so grateful to SJB for assisting us as parents to raise our children in the faith.

St John The Baptist School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Our small school is strong and vibrant. "The mission of St. John the Baptist Catholic School community is to provide academic excellence in the Catholic learning tradition. Our vision is to strengthen faith, build character, encourage success, and foster the uniqueness of each individual student. " This is a perfect summary of what we believe and continue to offer students and parents in our community. Our family has had students at St.John's for the past 12 years, and can't imagine having a more positive experience. I am the current chair of our parent organization, and we have an amazing group of parents who volunteer wherever needed. For the past several years our older students have had the opportunity to participate in wonderful theater productions. Some of the alumni have gone on to act in high school productions thanks to their experiences at St. John's. We encourage everyone to consider our school. You won't be disappointed!


St John The Baptist School 5

Posted April 19, 2013
- a parent
This school is fantastic! Our whole family has thrived as a result of this school. The staff is tremendous!!!! Each person is treated with dignity and respect. They go out of their way to make sure each child learns in the way that best works for their style. The culture allows children to be themselves so as to be able to better learn. I truly don't understand the negative reviews. There could not be a better group of people and educators.

St John The Baptist School 5

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
My children attend St. John's and I couldn't be happier. They are thriving. The environment is small, caring, and nurturing. They participate in sports, take piano lessons, do woodworking, and because of class size, are able to move according to their ability regardless of grade. Check the honor rolls of Holy Famliy and Minnetonka High, SJB grads are routinely on it. I couldn't imagine having my kids anywhere else. Come and check us out! You won't regret it.

St John The Baptist School 1

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately, the school is really struggling and unable to keep their teachers due to declining enrollments, so they combine some grades into one classroom. Several of the "staff" they picture on their website are not paid, degreed professionals, but volunteers who are helping out, and officially part of Mtka system, but required by law to spend a couple hours a week at this school. Check out other options, the services here are really lacking, and what is available is not as portrayed. For example, the language program - Is it possible to learn a foreign language in a little over an hour a week for a Middle School student? The students are at a disadvantage when they go to other schools. There haven't been art classes, and attend the "concert" to see and hear for yourself what they call a "band" and "choir". A few parents are campaigning to save this school, but look at numbers over the past 10 years, and then talk to people who sent their kids elsewhere and ask them why.


St John The Baptist School 5

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
St. Johns is a fantastic school! Children are given individualized attention because it is a small school The children are well prepared for high school once they graduate. It isn't just the above grade NWEA test scores, but the student performance is a testimonial to the school's strong academics. Every single 2010 graduate made their High schools' (public and private) honor roll. The last parent survey showed that 94% of the parents are very satisfied with the school. Yes, there is an occasional parent who is not satisfied with something, but you find that everywhere. I definitely recommend this school if you want the best for your child. Our children have thrived here.

St John The Baptist School 1

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
We do not recommend this school for many reasons. They have frequent issues, it is not what it used to be! Most of the objective comments have been removed, but there is a reason it is small and struggling.

St John The Baptist School 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a parent
hi why was my positive post just removed? I saw it and then it disappeared!


St John The Baptist School 1

Posted April 11, 2011
- a parent
Why have all of the "negative" comments been removed here? A few parents have been on a campaign for "good" reviews. This school is bare bones and lacks the resources one expects- even for basic services and programs. Teachers have doubled up on responsibilities, and do not even have time to update the homework on their websites, as an example. There are much better options in the area....DO YOUR HOMEWORK! Numbers have been declining for a reason.

St John The Baptist School 5

Posted March 07, 2011
- a parent
St. John the Baptist has such a warm and caring environment thanks to the teachers. They challenge the kids to do their best and beyond. The small class sizes are perfect so no one is lost. The school has star boards in the class rooms and each middle school student has their own lap top. The students have High NWEA test scores and a majority of the graduates are on their high school's honor rolls. My oldest child graduated from St Johns and is doing very well in the advanced high school classes. My youngest is still at St. Johns and we are very pleased with her progress.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St John The Baptist School
638 Mill Street, Excelsior, MN  55331
(952) 474-5812
Last modified St John The Baptist School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St John The Baptist School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top