Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Excelsior Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2014

I find this school substandard in so many ways. Huge, impersonal, academically lacking. After only a few months I realized that this school was not good enough for my kids and enrolled them in nearby catholic school where they are blossoming. I'm sure it was excellent at one point in time but now it feels like a third world school, so depressing, with huge class sizes and lackluster teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

As a new kindergarten family at Excelsior Elementary we were nervous. Sending our oldest off to a new school not mention into a Chinese immersion program was overwhelming. The school has had many opportunities for us to familiarize ourselves and be comfortable with the atmosphere as well as the staff. The immersion program has exceeded all our hopes and the teachers have been fabulous. My favorite though has been how involved the principle has been. Taking the time to introduce herself and acknowledge students at every opportunity. The best part about her is that she brings her dog in for students to read to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Excelsior Elementary is the tops! It is not just a school, the whole staff are a wonderful community of caring adults that make learning fun. From our first school visit, my husband and I turned to each other and said, " I wish I had gone to elementary here."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

While entering the parking lot you notice there is something different about this elementary school. The emotion is palpable. Kindness, devotion laughter and happiness...numerous adults greeting children, guiding traffic, and acting as a safety patrol for walkers - day in and day out. Principal Lee Drolet, runs her school like one of the best run businesses in the world. A fair but firm CEO. She knows all 600 +/- students by name, speaks to them often, and hand delivers birthday cards to them. Class size seldom exceeds 20 children; all classrooms are equipped with smart boards, microphones and computers. Music, art and PE are mandatory. This public school offers all students the option to learn to speak and write Mandarin in the Chinese Immersion Program. There is also classrooms for gifted children and adequate staff for children with special needs. The playground is safe, clean and has updated equipment, running track and a music area. The number of parents that volunteer is remarkable. There are numerous activities that create a special elementary school experience: VIP day, boat excursions, movie night, class parties, field trips and walks and parades down main street.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

The best School you can Ever imagine. Great teachers, great programs, great support for the kids. It is just amazing!!! My daughter is in Chinese immersion and is incredible. They pay attention to every small details in my kids. It's an awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

I can't believe how unprofessional people can be when their job is to work with people. I had an issue with a teacher and had to notify the principal on the matter. While the principal did claim to take action it appeared to be no consequence for the teacher actions.There was no justified reason for the level of disrespect on the teachers behalf. There was no apology to me or my child for the belittlement and embarassment that was caused. Hopefully some type of training can be implemented to improve the level of professionalism needed to properly work with children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

Excelsior Elementary is the Best!! The teachers work very hard to provide a variety of great learning experiences for ALL learners. The principal is a strong leader and supportive of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2012

Excelsior Elementary is a fabulous school! We live in another district, but open enroll to Excelsior because of the quality of education that our children receive. Excelsior is a wonderful blend of a school with top- notch strategies used by teachers and a variety of activities for all children, but also maintains the feeling of a small school with individualized attention. The principal is a very strong leader and the teachers are amazing. This staff truly cares about my children, challenging them to learn and grow as people. We are thrilled with Excelsior!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

This school is really lacking. The only reason this district has a good rep. is due the wealth of the families. Which allows the important focus of what matters overlooked.My child was bullied by a teacher.A teacher should be a role model in the school day to not only their class but to all students.The teachers don't actually look at the work.My child received a good grade on a paper when clearly there were errors. There was no correction in errors made in the assignment.This was not the only time my children came home with work like this either. If a child gets injured at school it is not always reported to the family unless you really communicate with your child. You would be suprised in the things that go on luckily I speak with my children. If a student misbehaves in class I found that the teacher does not respond appropiately either. I've taught to children myself and just find it to be a shame on so many levels. My children will be attending another school next year. It's of great importance my children are in a safe enviornment when I'm not around and EES dont cut the cake for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2011

we love excelsior elementary. we live in the wayzata school district, but open enrolled our child into the chinese immersion program at excelsior. the teachers and staff have been communicative, responsive and top notch. my child loves going to school and has had a fantastic first year experience. bravo bravo. could not be happier
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

I'm not sure what the a previous poster is referring to, but Excelsior is a fantastic school! Regarding the math program, yes, new methods are taught, but my children are taught traditional methods as well. They then have the choice of which methods to use. The principal supports both parents and her teachers, cares about kids, and is definitely dedicated and accountable! Not sure what the comment about immersion students is about. My children are not in the immersion program and do receive gifted services. There are differentiated services for both traditional and immersion students. Excelsior is a wonderful school with a terrific staff and my children are thriving there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Our child is not only keeping up with the other classmates but with special ed over the past few years starting to even advance more, along with outside additional efforts, and our child now is excited to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

As a very successful professional (engineer), I can tell you that the 'new math' program really falls short of meeting the mark if you're hoping for a good math program. Don't let the test scores fool you! Count on having to teach your kids all the traditional method yourself. On the plus side, I spend more time with my kids. The homework helps teach the kids good study habits outside of the normal school day. The teachers are nice, but the principal isn't accountable for her actions. The school is totally caught up in all the liberal indoctrination rather than teaching the basics. It is assumed that all the 'smart' kids are in the immersion program and thus get advanced placement. There are too many days off during the year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

Excellent teachers and staff! Fantastic principal! Involved parents! Impressive Chinese Immersion program! These are just some of the reasons why my family moved to Excelsior so that we can attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

My child went to Excelsior from K-4th, and in general had an average experience. Excelsior does have some nice qualities, such as classroom parties and the annual Halloween parade. However, some of the teaching methods lack the importance of learning the basics of writing properly, forming letters and sentence structure. The math curriculum, Everyday Mathematics, is also a marginal program. Technology is excellent though, lots of new computers, laptops for the kids, etc. On another topic, the high potential program is very questionable in their testing methods. The high potential program cannot explain their testing methods adequately. There are bullying problems on the playground which are ignored or not dealt with in an effective way. Another parent mentioned the 'small town' feel, which yes can be nice because you know everyone, but can also manifest itself into extreme narrowmindedness. My son has since changed schools and is much happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2004

Excellent School! I have had three kids go through Excelsior, each had an awesome experience. The school has a 'small town' feel, everyone is your neighbor. The teachers are young, energetic, and love teaching - it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2010.

122 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

133 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2010.

132 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2012.

149 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2010.

100 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 46% in 2011.

133 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Not migrant93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities77%
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Not migrant98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female82%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant87%

Reading

All Students74%
Female74%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian73%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female87%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant90%

Reading

All Students79%
Female86%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian75%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant83%

Reading

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant91%

Science

All Students87%
Female83%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities72%
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Black 2% 9%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lee Drolet
Fax number
  • (952) 401-5657

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

441 Oak St
Excelsior, MN 55331
Website: Click here
Phone: (952) 401-5650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Spring Hill School
Excelsior, MN


Our Savior School
Excelsior, MN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT