Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Al-Amal School

Private | PK-12

 
 

Living in Fridley

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2012

Al-Amal School offers my children the opportunity to excel in all academic areas. Coming from an educated background, I am always looking for the best educational standards for my kids. This school's administration has been diligently trying to improve all areas of instruction to cater to the needs of the 21st century tech era. Teachers put in extra effort to get kids ready for the MCAs. Their regular school tests keep the kids on a constant study schedule. The school's strong science and math projects and focus is a promise for its students to be geared up in order excel in Science fields in the US. I'm a more than a satisfied parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

As a parent, I strongly recommend Al-amal School to our community members, its not just a a school, it gives a sense of being part of it , principal, staff, administration everyone is reachable at all times, islamic environment and arabic are excellent here. They are working hard to improve everyday and our children love going here. Everyone is like a big loving family. I love the school. ALHAMDOLILLAH!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

Alahamdolillah, It is a blessing for us in USA to have a school like AL-AMAL. We needed the islamic environment with everything else , when you go in the morning you have quran going on. Children tested on NWEA yielded greater than average scores. No place is perfect but they are doing a really good job and keep the parents involved at all times ,open to suggestions, helathy discussions ,teachers are nice to the students. The principal is great as she is trying her best to bring the changes neede and to improve the areas already good. I have 3 kids and I am more than happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

The school has really fallen off in last couple of years in regards to teachers, quality of education, performance of students. We have heard from many parents that this is because of the principal who came in and changed the staff and put unfair strictness on grading of students and overly discipline. Teachers in the middle school are bad, do a lot of yelling and don't know how to teach and if students don't perform, put the blame on students rather than take ownership on their own performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

Below standard school. Focus in on overly discipline students without any focus on studies. Favorism by School principal and teachers. Teachers doesn't know how to teach. Teachers yell at students all the time, no respect, encouragement or help to students. Unfortunately, too late to pull my kids out of school, will do it as soon as I can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

My children went public school for a while and we decided to send them Al-amal, we are so pleased and happy with every thing, our kids love their school so much, and we are getting more than we ever expected Al-hamdu LIlah. we advice to every muslim to send their kids to Al-amal it is going to pay back Insha'Allah.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

Needs discpline, and better reading,writing programs..Elementary needs improvment but preschool and high are good. Stiil needs science supplies for upper grades
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

Elementary teachers are spending time discplining not teaching, so students are not learning well. High school is good, even though they lack science equip. preschool is great!!! Ellementary kids need discplining out of class so kids can focus and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

Ive been a student at Al-Amal for 6 years now this is my final year and I will be soon heading off to college!!! I think Al-Amal is great for young muslim childern, it gives them a strong Islamic background and prepares them for the world ahead. I am soo grateful I attend Al-Amal, and I would reccomend it to any student/partent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

This school seems to have found a great balance between Islamic teachings and core classes. Their middle/high school tested highest in Math in the state. My son graduated with college credits accepted by the University of Minnesota. I you want your child learn about Islam and be best prepared for college, this school should be your choice in Minnesota. Note: for some grades they have a waiting list and the admission tests are pretty tough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

This a good school with bad board members, and terrible administaration. They have good teachers, and students. But the administration is never organized and fair. Sometimes they make bad descinons sometimes. I will rate this school five even though they have bad board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

This school is wonderful. It is a challenge and prepares you fully for the load college will soon have!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2007

This school teaches the best and values the parents input in every matter. The kids are scoring far more than average of state & national average and the kids behavior is much better than the public school kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 11%
White 32% 73%
Asian 11% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 7%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Minnesota
University of St. Thomas
Local Community Colleges
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 3rd Place in the I-Sweep International Science Fair (2011)

Arts & music

Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Audrey Zahra Williams
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Islamic
Associations
  • ISLA
Fax number
  • (763) 571-1925

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Minnesota
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1401 Gardena Ave NE
Fridley, MN 55432
Website: Click here
Phone: (763) 571-8886

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Transitions School
Fridley, MN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT