Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fridley Middle School 1

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
My child is being bullied daily & was told by two teachers to "ignore them." I guess it's easier for them than having to deal with children who are a problem. There is a genuine lack of caring & respect. There are fights weekly & police officers on site. High school students drive in the parking lot with a blatant disregard for all traffic and safety laws and no one cares despite several phone calls. The whole school system is a circus. Absolutely ridiculous. They are more concerned with being PC than being educators.

Fridley Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
This school has a terrible problem with unruly students and bullying. The children who are well behaved get little to no attention because there is so much focus on the negative kids. When a child is being bullied they are told to have empathy for the bullies...wonderful, but how does that help the bullied child? Once again the focus goes to the disruptive kids and the ones who want to learn are left aside.


Fridley Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
I actually feel the teachers are for the most part great, but their hands are tied by the lack of support by the administration. They end up spending so much time with the disruptive kids that the well behaved students who want to learn get zero attention.

Fridley Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
Instead of having zero tolerance for bullying, they try to teach the well behaved children to come up with retorts and have empathy for the bully. Ridiculous.

Fridley Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
Again, they are not tough enough on disciplining the children who are disruptive and awful.


Fridley Middle School 2

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
Granted it's middle school, however they have a large group of students bused in who are rude and awful. Their way of handling seems to be to have empathy for the person who's doing the bullying because of their home life, rather then to take care of the child who is bullied.

Fridley Middle School 4

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
I really like the principle and the teachers. They respond well and in a timely manner if I had any concerns. The students are a little more rough than what my son was use to, but then again it's middle school- it will only get more rough. I feel this school has done a very well job with helping my son adjust to his first year of middle school, and making sure staying in communication with me about his grades.

Fridley Middle School 5

Posted August 11, 2014
- a community member
Fridley Middle School is the best school out of all schools, in my opinion. I attended FMS 2011-2013, I loved it so much that I decided that I'm going back for the year of 2014-2015. The teachers, and staff are so great and kind. They make you feel very welcome. And the students also. The students make great friends to talk to, and hang out with. I haven't been to a school better then Fridley Middle School. I love FMS so much!


Fridley Middle School 3

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
The teaching staff is wonderful bunch that are really honest and communicative if you as a parent are active in your child's education. I do enjoy the school but I do not care for the students there, I believe their handling of undisciplined students are too light and could be detrimental to other students learning. I am pulling my student out of this school due to her getting tied into the wrong crowd, I have heard of bullying also among other students. They should have more stringent penalties for students misbehavior on bullying and offer a better learning environment for all students.

Fridley Middle School 3

Posted July 22, 2011
- a parent
Mediocre in many areas. Some curriculum outdated, not in keeping with IB concept. Counselor/administrators not quick to respond when contacted for assistance.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fridley Middle School
6100 West Moore Lake Dr, Fridley, MN  55432
(763) 502-5400
Last modified Fridley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fridley Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top