Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Salem Hills Elementary School 1

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Salem Hills Elementary is terrible at communication they are also terrible at making anybody who is new feel at home. My son is in second grade who came from Minneapolis in November and has felt nothing but bad vibes from the school. There are maybe three or four students out of the entire school that my son feels OK to be around I think it's sad my son just recently got pink eye and no notification was put out to any of the families until I went and picked up my son last Thursday who got it from a number of students from his classroom. Terrible school wouldn't recommend communication is terrible terrible I wouldn't recommend it for anybody. Adults talk to children like their the boss of themselves my son comes home from school telling me adults ask him for things only his parents would now. Iam sick of this school I work for a big company I will be forwarding any INFORMATION I need to. Terrible Terrible school!!

Salem Hills Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
My child. Another child Ariana her and my son seem to get along well and enjoy each other's company.


Salem Hills Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Homework should be encouraged to do not told to do one day and that's it. These kids have attention spans like fish at times they need a reminder in class about homework

Salem Hills Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
They would follow typical procedure and contact the parent when things like pink eye are in the school. That is terrible communication.

Salem Hills Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Salem Hills Elementary is terrible at communication they are also terrible at making anybody who is new feel at home. My son is in second grade who came from Minneapolis in November and has felt nothing but bad vibes from the school. There are maybe three or four students out of the entire school that my son feels OK to be around I think it's sad my son just recently got pink eye and no notification was put out to any of the families until I went and picked up my son last Thursday who got it from a number of students from his classroom. Terrible school wouldn't recommend communication is terrible terrible I wouldn't recommend it for anybody. Adults talk to children like their the boss of themselves my son comes home from school telling me adults ask him for things only his parents would now. Iam sick of this school I work for a big company I will be forwarding any INFORMATION I need to. Terrible Terrible school!!


Salem Hills Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Salem Hills Elementary is terrible at communication they are also terrible at making anybody who is new feel at home. My son is in second grade who came from Minneapolis in November and has felt nothing but bad vibes from the school. There are maybe three or four students out of the entire school that my son feels OK to be around I think it's sad my son just recently got pink eye and no notification was put out to any of the families until I went and picked up my son last Thursday who got it from a number of students from his classroom. Terrible school wouldn't recommend communication is terrible terrible I wouldn't recommend it for anybody. Adults talk to children like their the boss of themselves my son comes home from school telling me adults ask him for things only his parents would now. Iam sick of this school I work for a big company I will be forwarding any INFORMATION I need to. Terrible Terrible school!!

Salem Hills Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful School! My oldest son went there for Kindergarten in 2011/2012. The next year we moved, so he switched school districts. I hated it. They were nothing like Salem. So although we still live out of district, I drive him everyday to Salem. And now his little brother is in Kindergarten at Salem and I love it! They are so dedicated to their students. The staff is great! I am very pleased with the school all around!!

Salem Hills Elementary School 1

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
Not a good experience at all for my child's first year there to many issues poor communication.however nice principal just wish she would of been around more.Had any meetings with the district on safety issues and nothing was done not safe at all.


Salem Hills Elementary School 2

Posted August 26, 2011
- a parent
My son is at Salem Hills because my daughter is in their Atheneum program- it is not our home school. While we love the homey, small-school feel of Salem Hills, the teaching outside of the gifted program ranges from excellent to sub-par. We are getting a new principal this year, and I sincerely hope she can help turn things around. My son's scores actually fell during second grade in reading and math- mainly because his teacher didn't know how to manage a large group of students. Without strong principal leadership in the past, inexperienced and lower-quality teachers were hired to cover increasing numbers of students enrolled. We are hoping to see improvements with a new principal.

Nearby schools

Salem Hills Elementary School
5899 Babcock Trail East, Inver Grove Heights, MN  55077
(651) 306-7300
Last modified Salem Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top