Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public
Jordan, MN
Students enrolled: 550
Before care: No
After care: Yes

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jordan Middle School 4

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
Jordan Middle School has been a positive place for all of my children. We are very excited for the complete renovation of the middle school as well as the new adjoining community center. I appreciate the honors classes that have been implemented in the past two years. It has really prepared them for the rigor of our high school. They run a true middle school and have an advisory period everyday where the students do activities such as character building, class bonding activities, and charitable events. There is a strong parent presence at JMS and they have a very active PTA organization! I love that all the schools in Jordan are in a campus style. Makes it easy for my kids to meet with their brothers if needed. Finally, the leadership, under the direction of our new Superintendent, in our district has improved tremendously in the past year. Excited to see what comes next!

Jordan Middle School 1

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
Poor quality across the board- teachers, staff, school board. The latter has improved due to new blood, but simply too much to tackle to make any big differences in a reasonable amount of time. Teachers are lazy, not the best role models. Looking to sell and leave this district- things haven't changed much here in 30 yrs. Not a progressive school or town.


Jordan Middle School 1

Posted October 30, 2013
- a community member
poor leadership, only a handful of teachers care about you and your grades, much harassment and nothing done about it even though they say they do, they don't. School and staff could use a make over.

Jordan Middle School 4

Posted September 03, 2012
- a parent
For the most part the teachers in Jordan Middle School provide high expectations and strive for student achievement. Just like any school, there are a handful of teachers that seem to be "employed" only during clock time. However, I have found that the Principal does address parent concerns and also wants what is best for the students. I am happy to have had my children attend. I am especially grateful that in light of a traumatic event last spring, the staff took the high road and helped without asking for acknowledgement. That says a lot about overall character!

Jordan Middle School 1

Posted March 23, 2012
- a parent
Overall not a good school, in my opinion most of the teachers don't care and won't meet after school. I was told by one teacher that she only works until 3:15 and won't meet after that. Most people work longer. The school does not really address bully and harrassment issues and I do not believe that they have stong leadership and the academic programs are not great.


Jordan Middle School 1

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
I am very dissatisfied with Jordan Schools- This school in particular allows bullying, has students that are so harrassed they change to another district.They seem to discourage parent involvement by their actions. And none of the teachers seem to challenge the kids to exceed expectations.

Jordan Middle School 2

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Same issue as parent above - my daughter pulls in c's and d's and then steps it up towards the end and relies on the unused hall passes to bring her grades to a B- or C. The kids even talk about 'the teachers that do this and how to play the system' Not real impressed with the district as a whole. The teachers are not 'teachers' they try to be the 'friend' in a middle school environment- the kids need more structure- the teachers tend to share to much personal information that does not belond in the classroom

Jordan Middle School 3

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
The one problem I have with this school is that the kids are given lots of opportunities to bring the grades up- extra credit may mean brining in a box of tissues or unused hall passes. This does not teach the children responsibility and accountability. My child takes full advantage of these opportunities and skims by every quarter. Real life will not be so leniant


Jordan Middle School 5

Posted September 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jordan Middle School
500 Sunset Dr, Jordan, MN  55352
(952) 492-2332
Last modified Jordan Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jordan Middle School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top