Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jordan Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Homework seems reasonable taking into account that Wednesday is considered Family Night. If parents are actively involved in education, they will be aware of homework(via planners and online) and should be able to assist monitoring on long-term deadlines, which are important for children to have for life.

Jordan Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Compassion, caring and empathy are developed through advisory and modeled by the teachers. As a parent volunteer, I have witnessed more than one teacher console a child. I have also seen them provide redirection to children that may not always know when or how to help another child. I am aware of fundraisers the Middle School Staff has spear-headed to help out current students as well as previous students such as dances, activities, etc to show how we can all help others without any type of publicity or compensation because the staff truly care about kids educationally and emotionally, which is very important.


Jordan Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
This school provides character education through their advisory program along with opportunities for kids to learn about future educational options, careers, and choices. The principal, social worker and counselor provide 1:1 meetings with kids who make wrong choices and give them opportunities to think and select corrections and steer them on the better academic and social paths. My children reported some students met weekly to improve grades or check in about family or personal issues. The teachers also provided and support administration and make sure kids feel good about themselves and are as ready to learn as they can be since no two children are alike.

Jordan Middle School 5

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Having two children with varied needs, this school provided a great learning environment academically, emotionally and physically. My son had a more difficult time academically and was offered additional participation both during school hours and after school hours to assist him in success. There was no pressure to participate, so he felt good about what he was offered. My daughter was more gifted, especially in math, and was provided advanced classes and lessons to challenge her. Emotionally, unlike surrounding schools, there are social workers and counselors to support students. While my children both report they were never bullied, they shared that when peers said hurtful things within earshot of a teacher or staff member, there was an immediate intervention with both parties involved. Other family members have also shared many positive stories, programs, and opportunities their children have had at the Jordan Middle School in fine arts as well as the traditional education classes. Physically, there are opportunities for movement throughout the day and at recess for the younger kids. Physical education offered at all grade levels with amazing phy-ed staff with fun ideas to get the kids moving. The community rallied to create an optimal learning environment, and Jordan's small town community vibe can not be measured in mere stars. If you are looking for a great place to raise and educate your children, Jordan is the place, and the Middle School is a great part of the educational opportunities Jordan can provide.

Jordan Middle School 1

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
Teachers act like teenagers here, with only a few exceptions. These aren't leaders or even good role models- sharing personal information in the classroom and gossiping in the hallways is unprofessional and a waste of taxpayers' time and money. Most will not help a student who is struggling; they prefer to nurture the 'easy' kids so they don't have to actually work at their job. Many of the teachers are also coaches and the overlap is bad, as those favored in the classroom get preferential treatment in sports as well. Poorly run overall and would love to move out of this redneck town. Any complaints only fall on deaf ears.


Jordan Middle School 4

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
Jordan Middle School has been a positive place for all of my children. We are very excited for the complete renovation of the middle school as well as the new adjoining community center. I appreciate the honors classes that have been implemented in the past two years. It has really prepared them for the rigor of our high school. They run a true middle school and have an advisory period everyday where the students do activities such as character building, class bonding activities, and charitable events. There is a strong parent presence at JMS and they have a very active PTA organization! I love that all the schools in Jordan are in a campus style. Makes it easy for my kids to meet with their brothers if needed. Finally, the leadership, under the direction of our new Superintendent, in our district has improved tremendously in the past year. Excited to see what comes next!

Jordan Middle School 1

Posted October 30, 2013
- a community member
poor leadership, only a handful of teachers care about you and your grades, much harassment and nothing done about it even though they say they do, they don't. School and staff could use a make over.

Jordan Middle School 4

Posted September 03, 2012
- a parent
For the most part the teachers in Jordan Middle School provide high expectations and strive for student achievement. Just like any school, there are a handful of teachers that seem to be "employed" only during clock time. However, I have found that the Principal does address parent concerns and also wants what is best for the students. I am happy to have had my children attend. I am especially grateful that in light of a traumatic event last spring, the staff took the high road and helped without asking for acknowledgement. That says a lot about overall character!


Jordan Middle School 1

Posted March 23, 2012
- a parent
Overall not a good school, in my opinion most of the teachers don't care and won't meet after school. I was told by one teacher that she only works until 3:15 and won't meet after that. Most people work longer. The school does not really address bully and harrassment issues and I do not believe that they have stong leadership and the academic programs are not great.

Jordan Middle School 2

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Same issue as parent above - my daughter pulls in c's and d's and then steps it up towards the end and relies on the unused hall passes to bring her grades to a B- or C. The kids even talk about 'the teachers that do this and how to play the system' Not real impressed with the district as a whole. The teachers are not 'teachers' they try to be the 'friend' in a middle school environment- the kids need more structure- the teachers tend to share to much personal information that does not belond in the classroom

Nearby schools

Jordan Middle School
500 Sunset Drive, Suite #2, Jordan, MN  55352
(952) 492-2332
Last modified Jordan Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top