Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-3
Public
Maple Grove, MN
Students enrolled: 503
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cedar Island Elementary School 1

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
Kidstop - Terrible program. The staff needs better training. The staff disregards the kids to be social vs. doing their jobs. The program claims to be educational, but my child either colored, gym time or computer lab to play games. One improvement the program could use is creating a homework club where kids can have time to complete their homework and get help. Nope...the staff is not interested in working with the kids...only interested in gossiping and avoiding the kids. Sad.

Cedar Island Elementary School 2

Posted August 22, 2012
- a parent
I've been extremely disappointed with Cedar Island. They spend more time dealing with behavior issues, than teaching. My son was bored a lot and not challenged. As a parent volunteer, i was appalled by the way his teacher behaved. The before and after school program is filled with people who seem to prefer to socialize rather than interact with the children.


Cedar Island Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Cedar Island Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
We are satisfied with this school. My son is learning pretty good.

Cedar Island Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 06, 2008
- a parent
I have been impressed with the dedication of the staff at Cedar Island. I was always warmly greeted by the office staff, found the principal easy to talk to, the volunteer coordinator super to work with, and the teachers well prepared, hard working and they made learning fun for our children. attenCedar Island.


Cedar Island Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cedar Island Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 27, 2008
- a parent
Teachers care about every student and frequently communicate personally with families. My kids feel safe at CI and have never expressed feeling unsafe, bullied or treated unfairly.

Cedar Island Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Cedar Island Elementary School 3

Posted August 21, 2005
- a parent
Having transferred my child in from a public elementary in another state, I find Cedar Island subpar. Even though the test scores are good, the curriculum is not nearly as challenging as what we experienced in other public schools. ALOT MORE could be accomplished. Yes, the school is older and that's okay but aesthetically, the school is poor and not well maintained at all. Crazy when you consider the high property taxes in the area. They boast that they have alot of parent involvement but volunteers are used for fun stuff and not for projects that could help boost the curriculum and learning experience. This might be a top public elementary in Minnesota but from personal experience, this school doesn't even compare to some public schools outside of Minnesota.

Cedar Island Elementary School 4

Posted April 03, 2005
- a parent
All my chilren have gone to cedar island and i think it is a great school. They really have good teachers and the counselor there is great. Although there is this one teacher that i do not like at all, the teachers are very educational and helpful. It is right by oak view and that school is much nicer and newer than cedar island. The school does not have air conditioning in yet, they installed it last summer but it is not working yet. All students will be going to maple grove junior high school in there 7th year in school unless you have open enrolled. Cedar island is a great school to put your children in.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cedar Island Elementary School
6777 Hemlock Ln, Maple Grove, MN  55369
(763) 425-5855
Last modified Cedar Island Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cedar Island Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top