Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Maple Grove Middle School 2

Posted June 15, 2015
- a community member
This school needs better leadership. My child's right to free speech was taken away and was graded down because of a personal difference of opinion with a science teacher about the origin of the earth. The principle was advocating for the staff, not making sure students have a safe learning environment where critical thinking and mutual respect are present. While some of the teachers are wonderful, unfortunately the school on a whole is a big disappointment due to a few bad apples and poor leadership. We are going elsewhere for a better education.

Maple Grove Middle School 1

Posted August 11, 2014
- a community member
The administrative staff are very rude. My child was sent down to the office for a minor dress code violation ( She was wearing running shorts that were maybe 1 inch too short) and the staff in the office laughed at her. The woman that had her put her arms down to see how short the shorts were said to the other staff in the room something along the lines of 'Ladies, see how short her shorts are! Do you really think you could wear this?' They kept her out of class for more than half an hour, waiting for someone to talk to her for only a few minutes. I personally find this disgusting. They took away my child's right to learn all because her shorts were a bit too short.


Maple Grove Middle School 1

Posted April 24, 2014
- a community member
I went here from 7th grade-9th grade because I was within district. Although many of the staff are devoted to teaching, the faculty could improve. If you are looking for a school that values high academic standards, community involvement, and unity this school is not for you. Over the course of my stay at this school I have witnessed many physical fights. I also witnessed a lot of drug use while I was there. I did not feel safe or comfortable being in this building. Overall the school is not challenging and every day felt like a prison. If this school had more student outreach opportunities and clubs, I'm sure this would bump it up to 2 stars. Maple Grove Junior High needs a lot of work and possibly all new administrative staff. This is only from my experience, but I hope you choose wisely because this school is not worth your time.

Maple Grove Middle School 4

Posted March 07, 2014
- a community member
I love this school! The teachers are great, and they are willing to help you, before or after school. Students are nice, and I've made many friends this year. I wish that there were more SMARTBoards, or that we had a chance to use iPads like other districts, but with the levies that passed in the fall, the schools will be much better! The textbooks are pretty old, ranging from 7-10 years old, to newer ones that are only 3. Again, I hope that the levies will fix this. This is the best junior high/future middle school (grades might be changing to 6-8) in the district, in my opinion.

Maple Grove Middle School 2

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
This school is bad. Bullying, fights almost every week, bullying, undisciplined kids running around basically doing what ever they want, and more bullying. The school itself is alright, good lunches, GREAT teachers and music program but it has its problems.


Maple Grove Middle School 1

Posted March 04, 2014
- a community member
If you have a choice, PLEASE don't choose this school. 1/2 the teachers have no control over their students, teachers just watch bullies and don't even try to stop them, and there's a fight at least once a week sometimes, twice a week. On one day there was 3! Not a very safe or controlled school overall. A few teachers are great but some are pervs.

Maple Grove Middle School 1

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
I certainly would choose another school to educate my children. I sent mine to private school. I know this school. The kids think they run the place and the principal doesn't respect her own teachers. It is just a warehouse.

Maple Grove Middle School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Teacher quality, principal leadership, and parent involvement are great. I can't ask for anything better.


Maple Grove Middle School 5

Posted March 10, 2013
- a parent
My son who is disabled and in the Special Education system went here for his Jr. high years. They were again WONDERFUL. This district accepted my son in open enrollment and he went to this school. Their resources were very good, they were able to go out into the community on very valuable field trips. The teachers truly care about the students and the friendships that were fostered here, were encouraged. They evaluate each students needs before transitioning them to highschool and make sure that the transition was as easy as possible. Very professional and caring at every level of the special education system in this district.

Maple Grove Middle School 2

Posted June 14, 2012
- a parent
MGJH has had a challenging year to say the least. The teaching staff is OK but could be improved. The administration leadership is absent except for the Administrative Assistants who pretty much do it all. The students are snobs and think they are better than anything. As far as the comment about tenured teachers and the district in general are totally false. The teaching staff at a neighboring junior high BROOKLYN JUNIOR are awesome. They are there early 7:00ish and don't leave until after 4:30. The tenured teachers make the school.

Nearby schools

Maple Grove Middle School
7000 Hemlock Ln, Maple Grove, MN  55369
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (763) 315-7600
Last modified Maple Grove Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top