Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ave Maria Academy

Private | PK-8 | 165 students

Our school is known for high academic achievement and character formation.
 
 

 

Living in Maple Grove

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $304,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

Everything about this program is top notch! From the families to the staff to the leadership. You cannot find a more amazing place for your kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

A true Catholic school, that doesn't apologize for it. Not all Catholic schools are created equally, Ave Maria Academy is a true gem. The children are taught virtue in all that they do and the academics are top notch. So happy to be here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

Ave Maria Academy is a great school! The kids get a very well rounded education, Faith studies are at it's foundation to strong sports and in a fun learning environment. Thanks to Ave Maria and the tremendous staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

Ave Maria Academy is the epitome of Catholic education. It is self-supported, not attached to any parish, and yet still educates students with virtue in all areas of their lives. The educational model it uses, addressing four aspects of a student's life, is unique and successful. I am very impressed by this school!


Posted October 29, 2013

Amazing education! Amazing teachers! Amazing children & families! Thank you for enhancing the faith & values that we teach at home. The new campus will be great but we all know it isn't the walls that make a school...it's the people within it. Our children have received a great education preparing them for high school and beyond. We would recommend this school to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

My daughter is in their PreK4 program. She started in Ave Maria when she was 3yo. I am really impressed by what teachers teach at school. For 4 yo, they even expect them to recognize and write all the letters and numbers. They also integrate the concept of addition and subtraction in the activities they do, which will definitely prepare them to successfully master addition and subtraction in Kindergarten. Besides academic education, they offer excellent religious education too. Every month, they send home a poster who is designed to foster a virtue for the child. I am glad my daughter is receiving all-rounded education there. Teachers are truly caring and loving, treating all children as God's children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

We have had children attending Ave Maria for 11 years and still counting. When we drop our children off at school in the morning, we know that they will be in the best care physically, academically and spiritually. Every child is known and loved at Ave Maria. Our older children have had great success in high school after leaving Ave Maria. All have placed in Honors classes, and most importantly, have a solid moral foundation that helps guide them everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

I have 3 children that attend Ave Maria. This school is such a hidden gem. The academics are above any I have ever seen, and I happen to be a public school teacher. It is a community that teaches character, ethics, and integrity. It is not a private school with several wealthy families. Parents make sacrifices to ensure their children can attend this amazing little school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Ave Maria Academy is a wonderful school!! The teachers truly care about the students, not only about their education but about who they are a a person and what they can do to become closer to Christ.


Posted October 25, 2013

We've had our daughter at Ave Maria Academy since Pre-K 4. From the beginning we've believed in their school mission. " Ave Maria Academy forms young minds, hearts, and souls through a commitment to clear thinking, academic achievement, character formation, prayer, and service." We are so proud of what our daughter has learned from the teachings and the exemplary staff at Ave Maria. She continues to test well above nationally for her grade. She's not only extremely intelligent for her age, but she is also respectful, caring, and compassionate. I truly appreciate how the school helps instill good values in their students. Ave Maria Academy over exceeds my expectations of what a school should offer its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

This school has been an amazing find for us! The community is wonderful and suppportive, welcoming and warm. The education for our pre-schooler has been top notch and the staff has been incredibly caring and engaging. If you are looking for superb education with a strong sense of community, look no further!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Ave Maria is a tremendous asset to the Maple Grove community where Christian values are taught and rigorous academics are practiced. They are are a wonderful blessing that educates the whole child. We would recommend the school to anyone seeking a great local education option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

A fantastic school that pushes the students academically and spiritually. I have no doubt the education my kids will receive from Ave Maria Academy will help set them apart in high school and college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

The teachers work so hard to help each student grow. There is a tremendous amount of personal attention!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Finding this school for my son was a blessing. He had the choice of other local schoosl but chose Ave Maria after he spent a day there "shadowing" his grade class. He enjoys every school day : his lessons are taught by experienced teachers with so much enthusiasm that learning is contagious. One of the girls made him a cute oragami figure to take home that day and his decision was made. We bought his school uniform the next day and when he asked if he might be able to wear his blazer to school every day - not just on mass days, I realized then that he was keen. Since then he has made good friendships and is growing academically and spiritually. This may be a small school but it is rich in commitment and we are excited to be a part of it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

This is our second year at Ave Maria and we are so blessed to be part of this amazing school. We love the individual attention that each of our children receive from their teachers due to the small class size. Most important to us is the beauty of our Catholic faith that is lived out by the teachers, parents, families and administration of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Our children have been attending the school for the last 9 years...my husband and I could not be happier. We looked at quite a few schools to see what would be the best fit and we made the right decision. We realize that our children would spend more time at this school than any other school (high school & college combined) so it was important that they were being formed correctly, inline with our faith, high academic standards and family values and that they would be cared for by teachers and other students. They get that and more. We are a part of small community that volunteer at the school when we can and know what is going on in the day to day of our children's lives. Thank you Ave Maria Academy (used to be Cedarcrest Academy) not only for all that you do for our children but our family too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Ave Maria Academy is a school that is committed to helping students have a clear focus on what it means to be a lifelong learner as well as helping their students strive to be saints through the practice of different virtues. I enjoy the way the school helps me to come alive as a person as I work in an environment that challenges me to grow and I feel that I am supported by not only the staff and faculty but the students as well. I come to work looking forward to each new day and the ways that I can see how Christ is working in the hearts of my students as well as within myself. I am happy, blessed and proud to work for Ave Maria Academy and fully support them as a school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2013

This school has a hard time keeping track of paperwork. Also parents aren't given fair chances to volunteer only those who are friends with the room parent will ever be allowed to participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

Ave Maria Academy is a school like no other - every child is respected and treated as a son or daughter of God. The teachers are utterly amazing, and are dedicated to each child's success. Everyone goes above and beyond, and it shows!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Black 2% 9%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jason Slattery
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (763) 494-5389

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Boys Virtue Club
  • Chess club
  • Drama club
  • Girls Virtue Club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Room Parents
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
34
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
35

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$2000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
FACTS

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Providence Academy
Totino Grace
Chesterton Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6950 W Fish Lake Rd
Maple Grove, MN 55311
Website: Click here
Phone: (763) 494-5387

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT