Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mendota Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
My family would like to thank our daughter's Kindergarten teacher for being such a kind, devoted and exemplary educator. "G" has always loved to learn, but has evidently become even more enthusiastic about it since starting at Mendota last fall. As her parents, we have also appreciated her thoughtful and prompt communication throughout the entire year, during even the busiest of times. She is a credit to her craft of shaping and inspiring the inquisitive nature of young children. We are greatful to you KB.

Mendota Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
The entire feel of the school centers around strong leadership and teamwork. We noticed it immediately when we first toured the school before enrolling our child. It has been such a positive and affirming learning environment and we are so greatful to be part of this community. Mendota Elementary is the place where kids are encouraged, supported, challenged and taught the skills needed to succeed and thrive in their future.


Mendota Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Whether there is cause for commendation or concern, Mendota Elementary is proactive and supportive. They understand that while good behavior deserves recognition, matters of discipline can be respectfully handled.

Mendota Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
I cannot imagine a brighter, more engaging, more caring group of teachers at any school. The teachers are Mendota Elementary are simply amazing.

Mendota Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Most days homework takes from 5-30 minutes. Some families might feel that's not enough, but I appreciate that our kids have enough homework to practice skills learned at school while still having plenty of time to go out and play and be kids. And if families are looking for more to do, the school's website offers links to math sites that will allow the student to practice math concepts at their own pace.


Mendota Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
There are many opportunities at Mendota Elementary for students to challenge themselves and feel a sense of accomplishment for doing more than they thought they could do. The accelerated reading program, for example, allows students to read books in their own time to achieve and surpass goals established by their teacher based on the student's individual reading skills. That is just one of many ways I've watched our children persist and push themselves to try harder and learn more at Mendota Elementary.

Mendota Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Respect is strongly emphasized at Mendota Elementary. I attended an assembly at which students who excelled in the area of respect toward others were given a certificate, which I thought was a wonderful way to show the importance of respect.

Mendota Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Mendota Elementary really excels in this area. if you walk through the halls or sit in the lunchroom, you'll see kids looking out for one another's well-being in a way that never happened when I was a student in the '80s. It's encouraging to see students at Mendota receiving praise and recognition for being caring and empathetic toward others.


Mendota Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
All of these are high priorities with the teachers, staff and principal. Our children come home with stories from school demonstrating that teachers are emphasizing honesty, integrity and fairness in the classroom.

Mendota Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
We couldn't be happier about the education our children are receiving at Mendota Elementary. The teachers truly care and the principal is outstanding. We have been blown away by the individualized attention given to our children, which has allowed them to feel challenged, engaged, understood and valued. They receive a small amount of homework - enough to allow them to practice their skills but giving them ample free-time to just be kids. Our children love going to school and they love to learn thanks to the efforts of the teachers and staff at Mendota Elementary. We are so grateful for the environment of respect and kindness at this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mendota Elementary School
1979 Summit Ln, Mendota Heights, MN  55118
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (651) 403-8000
Last modified Mendota Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top