Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Convent of the Visitation School

Private | PK-12 | 603 students

We are best known for college-prep excellence.
 
 

 
 

Living in Mendota Heights

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $275,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2014

GREAT SCHOOL.. ABSOLUTELY LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THE SCHOOL AND STAFF! Would definitely recommend the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

Our daughter started at Visitation in early childhood. We were so impressed that we kept her there through 12th grade. The teachers are exceptional -- not a bad one in the bunch. We also loved the sense of community there. Vis was instrumental in shaping our daughter into the person she is today. She's a leader. She also knows about to work with a variety of people and personalities. And she's the type of kind and gentle person anyone would want to have among their friends. Sending our daughter to Vis was a financial stretch for us, but it was well worth every dollar spent. Now that our daughter is in college, I can see the return on our investment. She is well-prepared for the rigor of college. She knows how to organize her time. And, she can handle almost any situation that arises. What more could a parent want!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

I have been a parent at Visitation for the past 13 years. I will be forever grateful for the education my children received. The exceptionally committed teachers, academic excellence, extra-curricular opportunities, and faith-filled community have been such a blessing. I encourage anyone that is thinking of a private education for their child (ren) to check out Visitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

As an alum and current parent, I am so grateful that my children have the opportunity to be educated in the Sisters' home. As a parent of Lower School and Upper School students, I see how each one is truly valued for the unique person that they are, with their individual gifts and talents being nurtured and celebrated. The academic preparedness is second to none. I am experiencing that with my junior as she looks at where she will attend school when she graduates from Visitation. The opportunities that will be available to her seem to be endless. One of the things I appreciate most of all about a Vis education is that our students develop a grateful heart, not one rooted in entitlement, but rather gratitude for all that they have been blessed with. It is a huge sacrifice for our family to send our children to Visitation, but I can think of no greater gift that we could give our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

No school is perfect, but Visitation was a great fit for our daughter for high school. She attended 9 - 12. It is very academically challenging and there are high expectations for every student. I don't agree with some of the comments relating to wealth or status. In fact, very few students discuss or care about that (perhaps their parents do per the comments below). They are too focused on the demands of homework and activities getting them ready for a great college experience. You will find status seekers in any school. But uniforms, no make-up or boys and kids spread throughout the metro all contribute to anonymity - not status. Their philosophy stresses inclusiveness and social teaching with care and service to others in our community - things I wish all schools focused on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

I went to Vis for 7-12 grade and sent my kids here for Montessori. I sent both my sons here for Montessori, but would NEVER send them for grade school. I walked those halls as a parent for 6 years (3 kids) and it's not the place for boys. Check it out for yourself. Go sit in the kindergarten for a morning. As a high school girl, my blue collar parents sacrified near everything to send me here. It got me educated, yes, opened worlds of poetry and art and manners to me, thank God and God bless the sisters. But many of the girls I went to school with were just too spoiled wealthy to provide anywhere for a girl who shopped at Kmart and Target to find her drive or identity... I remember vividly one of the seniors, talking about where to go on their senior trip saying, "NOT Hawaii... I am SO SICK of Hawaii..." The clothes, the cars, the vacations... all too much the focus. The best thing about Vis was the sisters: graceful, loving, educated women who made me feel loved every day. Sadly, they are not a part of the Vis education as much any more. My own daughter started 7th grade last year. Not at Vis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

As an alum of Visitation, I have nothing but great things to say about Visitation. I went to Vis from grades 8-12, and my experience was extraordinary. I did not appreciate the education I was receiving as much until I was in college because I was so well prepared. The student-teacher relationships are great, and the teachers are always there to do what's best for the student. I have made life long friends at Vis, and the community so close knit. Everyone is always there to help everyone.


Posted February 4, 2012

My wife and I researched many quality schools prior to choosing Visitation for our children; we were initially drawn to Visitation because of the high quality academics (looking specifically at lower and middle school entry points) as well as the Catholic faith aspect of the educational experience. Having been at Visitation now for over three years, we are fully satisfied with our school choice. Visitation combines high academics, outstanding administration/faculty/staff, and incredible facilities with a supportive family community. Our children are challenged and happy, and our entire family has developed friendships that extend far beyond the school day. Thanks, Vis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

Not a good school for boys (lower school). The schools Principal leadership are not honest and will lie to protect the people who contribute the money. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL! Contact a former teacher prior to considering this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

Having just spent the holidays with my daughter after her first semester in college, I can only say "Thank you Vis!" The transition from high school to college academics was so smooth thanks to her college-prep experience at Visitation. The all-girls aspect boosted her confidence and helped her find her voice. She received over half her tuition in financial grants at Vis and did not feel like she was less important than those paying full tuition. If you ever wonder if the price tag is worth it consider this: The 70 girls from the class of 2011 received $7 million in MERIT scholarship offers. Our daughter received $150,000 herself. Pretty good return on our investment in her at Visitation. Take a look at Vis if you want the best for your daughter (or son in the Lower School).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

My daughter entered as a Freshman and we couldn't be happier. The academics are strong, the families are warm and welcoming, the staff are nuturing and loving. Our daughter is making life long friends and has the opportunity to explore many avenues for sports, choir, clubs, and outreach. We are so pleased with our choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Visitation has provided our family with a true sense of community; the relationships fostered at the school are second to none. The academics are strong, extracurriular offerings rich, and leadership opportunities plentiful. We are thrilled with the education our children are receiving at Visitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

This Catholic school is very political and has Its own set of rules like the church. This school will protect the families that they feel have something to offer especially money. The children of these families are protected and they have different behavioral standards for the children with something to offer and for those who don't. The school will make your life difficult if your child doesn't get along with a protected child. The school will cover for the bad behavior of a protected child so the reputation of the school and the high profile parent is not tarnished. Make sure you fit the profile before you consider sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I have had three children attend Visitation from Montessori though Middle School (boy) and Upper School (girls). Visitation exceeded our expectations and prepared our children for the 'real world.' We would highly recommend Visitation to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

I have two sons who attended Visitation and could not be happier with their educational experience. Visitation educates the whole child and my boys have thrived in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

Visitation is a superb school, with excellent teachers and a supportive parent community. My children are fortunate to attend Visitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

My daughter is in her second year at Visitation. The all girls environment is nuturing, challenging and fulfilling. She loves the school and the staff is excellent. Changing from a public junior high experience to Vis was the best choice for her. She will never go back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I had the greatest 4 years of my life at Vis - I would want as many students as possible to experience the generosity of the sisters and the overall philosophy of the educational system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I went to Vis for 6 years and it really prepared me for College and beyond. I would strongly recommend this school to any parent or girl considering it, and I will definitely be sending my kids there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2008

I went to Visitation for a total of 3 months before giving up and going to another private school. It was a very difficult school for a person who isn't impressed with money and status. I wasn't well off, my parents were. I wanted to go to a school that followed Christ's teachings and didn't allow girls to act as though they were 'special' only for the reason that they could afford to go there. And don't be fooled by the financial aid. In less than a week it was clear who could and couldn't afford the tuition and the girls were treated as a lower class person. Very sad to see. If you want your daughter to be in an enviroment that stresses financial wealth (shown in their tuition alone) and teaching girls that they are somehow better than others, then give it a try.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 73%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Black 3% 9%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Chinese, French & Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Dawn Nichols
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS
  • NCEA
  • NCGS
Fax number
  • (651) 454-7144

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Montessori
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Diving
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Diving
  • Equestrian
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • FIRST Robotics Team
  • Foreign language club: Chinese, French & Spanish
  • Girl scouts
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Visitation is an independent, Catholic day school, founded by the Sisters of the Visitation in 1873. The school is coeducational from our Montessori Preschool classroom and up through sixth grade. Visitation is the ONLY all-girls private secondary school (Grades 7 - 12) in Minnesota. Visitation is owned by the Sisters of the Visitation, who govern it in cooperation with a Board of Trustees. It is supported by tuition and endowments.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$7000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2455 Visitation Dr
Mendota Heights, MN 55120
Website: Click here
Phone: (651) 683-1700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Thomas Academy
Mendota Heights, MN


Friendly Hills Middle School
Mendota Heights, MN


Mendota Elementary School
Mendota Heights, MN


Special Education Program
West St. Paul, MN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT