Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Anthony Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Most ridiculous and incompetent folks I've ever met. If you have a choice do not send your kids here.

Anthony Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
No, they will crush your kids. Each school district shall have a procedure for a parent, guardian, or an adult student, 18 years of age or older, to review the content of the instructional materials to be provided to a minor child or to an adult student and, if the parent, guardian, or adult student objects to the content, to make reasonable arrangements with school personnel for alternative instruction. ... School personnel may not impose an academic or other penalty upon a student merely for arranging alternative instruction under this section. [Minnesota Statutes 120B.20]


Anthony Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
NO. Each school district shall have a procedure for a parent, guardian, or an adult student, 18 years of age or older, to review the content of the instructional materials to be provided to a minor child or to an adult student and, if the parent, guardian, or adult student objects to the content, to make reasonable arrangements with school personnel for alternative instruction. ... School personnel may not impose an academic or other penalty upon a student merely for arranging alternative instruction under this section. [Minnesota Statutes 120B.20]

Anthony Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
hahaha, The staff here is the most incompetent bunch I've ever witnessed from the top down. How can they possibly teach our kids compassion, caring, and empathy when none of them possess it and when they knowingly violate state law. Each school district shall have a procedure for a parent, guardian, or an adult student, 18 years of age or older, to review the content of the instructional materials to be provided to a minor child or to an adult student and, if the parent, guardian, or adult student objects to the content, to make reasonable arrangements with school personnel for alternative instruction. ... School personnel may not impose an academic or other penalty upon a student merely for arranging alternative instruction under this section. [Minnesota Statutes 120B.20]

Anthony Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
The staff here is the most incompetent bunch Ive ever witnessed from the top down. How can they possibly teach our kids honesty, integrity, and fairness when none of them possess it and when they knowingly violate state law. Each school district shall have a procedure for a parent, guardian, or an adult student, 18 years of age or older, to review the content of the instructional materials to be provided to a minor child or to an adult student and, if the parent, guardian, or adult student objects to the content, to make reasonable arrangements with school personnel for alternative instruction. ... School personnel may not impose an academic or other penalty upon a student merely for arranging alternative instruction under this section. [Minnesota Statutes 120B.20]


Anthony Middle School 1

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Awful school, please do not send your kids here. Teachers and admins knowingly violate state law. Each school district shall have a procedure for a parent, guardian, or an adult student, 18 years of age or older, to review the content of the instructional materials to be provided to a minor child or to an adult student and, if the parent, guardian, or adult student objects to the content, to make reasonable arrangements with school personnel for alternative instruction. ... School personnel may not impose an academic or other penalty upon a student merely for arranging alternative instruction under this section. [Minnesota Statutes 120B.20]

Anthony Middle School 1

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
My daughter graduated from this Middle School last year. If it had been more than 3 years, I would have switched her but we decided to stick it out. I regret that decision. She went to a VERY diverse elementary school, so going to such a non-diverse school with so many people with money was definitely a culture shock. The parent engagement was pretty horrific, they only had a school newsletter that was emailed which doesn't take into account that some parents may not have reliable internet connections. If you didn't have an email and check it regularly, there was no other way of finding out anything going on at the school. I do not think my daughter was well prepared for High School. Oh, and bullies - she was bullied horribly in 6th grade and the school did very little about it, nearly siding with the bully. If you are not white, rich, and stuck-up - do NOT go here!!!! Her saving grace was that she had an AMAZING teacher for science in 8th grade, of course, they cut back on teachers and he was sadly the first to be let go.

Anthony Middle School 3

Posted June 27, 2014
- a community member
When I went to this school the environment was completely unsanitary. The number of quality or even seemingly qualified teachers can be counted on two hands. I was completely unprepared for highschool despite having great grades in their high level classes. I dont have happy memories of Anthony middle school.


Anthony Middle School 1

Posted May 19, 2014
- a community member
terrible school not safe feels like your about to be shot i about to run away its so scary

Anthony Middle School 1

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
I hate this school... The Teachers pile homework onto me making it almost impossible to anythings at home. I came from Kenwood a performing arts school. The only good things there are Japanese and G.S.A (Gay Straight Alliance). This website states that there are more Caucasian students then African-american, I beg to differ. THIS SCHOOL IS A PILE OF GARBAGE DO NOT COME HERE!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anthony Middle School
5757 Irving Ave South, Minneapolis, MN  55419
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (612) 668-3240
Last modified Anthony Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top