Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Armatage Elementary School 2

Posted June 30, 2014
- a parent
We sent our daughter to the pre-k program last year, but lasted only about a week. Prior to the program, our daughter was tremendously excited about starting "real school," and and both my husband and myself thought Armatage seemed like a stimulating, nurturing environment. Unfortunately, when we picked her up after the first day she seemed very withdrawn, and that night started crying and saying that both teacher Connie and the aide yelled a lot -- not at her but at others. The next day she came home crying, saying that the aide was yelling at her this time and telling her to get on the bus, when in fact we were to pick her up. My daughter had been through other programs before and now since, and has always loved her teachers, so I do believe this was "over and above." We decided to remove her after she continued to break down upon being brought to school -- it was heartbreaking to see her go from excited to discouraged in such a short time, and have her first entree into school be so miserable for her. Yelling at the preschool level seems highly unnecessary. She went to another program and thrived. Perhaps Armatage isn't the best fit for a more sensitive child.

Armatage Elementary School 2

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
We selected this school because of the "work at your own pace" philosophy, however, the work is just not challenging for above average and motivated kids. Yes the parents are involved but very cliquey. If you're not an upper middle class white family, forget about it, your views aren't welcome. God forbid you have a disability. The principal is difficult to deal with. This might be a great school if you are white, upper middle class and have kids of average abilities. Anybody else should look elsewhere.


Armatage Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2012
- a parent
Our family has been extremely happy with Armatage! We have had 1 girl graduate and the 2nd is starting her last year. The Montessori style of education really teaches critical thinking and accountability. My eldest daughter credits her time at Armatage for her success in middle school and feels she has an edge at organizing and is confident due to the Montessori technique. The teachers are smart and caring, the parents are involved and inclusive, and the building is safe with all doors locked and a camera at the entrance. My experience with the principal, Joan Franks is that she listens, cares, and runs a "tight ship."

Armatage Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2011
- a parent
I have a Kindergartener and fourth grade student in this school. I agree with the other reviewers that the teachers and parental involvement in this school is amazing and what makes it a very special place. The administration has done an excellent job in creating and nurturing a calm and creative working environment for all students. We are very fortunate to have such a great school in Southwest Minneapolis.

Armatage Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
We have a Kindergatener at this school. The teachers are fantastic, engaged, energetic. The principal is delightful. The parental involvement with this school is amazing - nothing bad to say. Wonderful place.Montessori also allows your child to grow at their own pace and can excel past 'normal' grade level standards. Also is helpful for children who may be a bit behind in some areas because everyone is working on their own projects and work.


Armatage Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
We are the parents of a kindergartener and so thrilled to be a part of the Montessori program. Way to go Armatage!

Armatage Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 26, 2009
- a parent
My kindergartener loves to go to school every weekday morning and that says a lot. The teacher is very involved and communicates very well with me and my child. We think the principle is very involved as well, which seems good.

Armatage Elementary School 3

Posted November 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Armatage Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2007
- a parent
We've been very happy with our choice to have our children attend Armatage Montessori. All her teachers have been tremendous. The teachers are very accessible and do a great job communicating with parents and tailoring the program to your child. Parent involvement is strong. The demand for the school is booming and they were able to create two new classes this year so class sizes didn't get large. We looked at schools with 'nicer' facilities but liked the smaller class sizes, full day kindergarten, and Montessori approach. A big bonus is the in-class bathrooms/sinks. The principal has started the process to be a School of Excellence too. My daughter loves the MPLS kids after school program and begs to go there on release days. The program provides access to the computer lab, homework help, arts & crafts, nature hikes, athletics, etc. The attached community center also offers sports programs (soccer, baseball,etc.)

Armatage Elementary School 4

Posted August 19, 2007
- a parent
In general it is a good school, with tremendous parent involvement. The principal, Joan Franks, however is very difficult to work with. She has a poor reputation in the district for her support of special needs children and their parents. She feels that she should treat every child the same. The staff is well meaning with special needs kids but are not very experienced and there is minimal support offered. If your children have special needs I would look at a different school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Armatage Elementary School
2501 West 56th St, Minneapolis, MN  55410
(612) 668-3180
Last modified Armatage Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Armatage Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.