Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barton Open Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 03, 2016
- a student
All of the teachers are great except for a few of them. I love all the actual teachers especially John Klein, Allison, and Amber.

Barton Open Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 03, 2016
- a student
I love all of my teachers and they try to make us better people. Except John Dawson he just sides with the bullies because he thinks since they can speak Somali, even though they were born in the USA, they can be rude, mean, sexist, and dumb.


Barton Open Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 03, 2016
- a student
The teachers try but they aren't allowed to kick students out even if they are horrible. Jonas and Holly's fault, really.

Barton Open Elementary School 2

Posted June 03, 2016
- a student
I am an 8th grader at Barton and kids get bullied ALL THE TIME. It's the principal, Jonas' fault. The teachers are amazing but they can only do so much to prevent bullying. Jonas does nothing. The bullies in my class are all Somali boys but since the administration doesn't want to appear "racist" they do nothing to stop them from bullying. They call the Somali girls names because a lot of them think sexism is okay. And Barton only cares about racism toward SOMALIS, not Mexicans, not Asians. I'm Asian and the Somali boys call me yellow in my class and Jonas does nothing even when people complain.

Barton Open Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Clara Barton is an amazing community of students and teachers. Everyone works together to build a sense of community where students feel safe and cared for. Teachers work hard to meet the needs of each student and care about the child as a whole person. We are thrilled to have our 3 children attend this school. Highly recommend it to others.


Barton Open Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
There is an amazing community at this school among the students, teachers and parents. Our children have thrived here.

Barton Open Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
What impresses me most about this school is how they try to practice what they preach. Kids are happy and learning. They multi-age classrooms and no grades in the elementary. The teachers and administration seem to really care about what they are teaching and what they are doing. There are kids from all different backgrounds playing and learning together. They don't claim to be perfect, but are trying to do what is necessary to have a really good school in an urban setting. The middle school kids get great opportunities to explore their unique gifts. Just today I saw Barton 7th and 8th grade kids dancing, doing a lesson on hip hop, and reading really superbly presented, personal poetry in front of 800 of their K-8 peers and teachers. It gave me goosebumps! Love the leadership and vision of this school. I hope that they continue to champion open education!

Barton Open Elementary School 2

Posted January 02, 2012
- a parent
It s considered a great school so there are many teachers with seniority, but many are burned out. Teachers do things like give kids with good scores Smartees candy, the others Dum-Dums, and in other ways mock or belittle kids. If kids complain to an adult it s dismissed as joking, a classic bully response, and adults stand by when kids are taunted day after day. (There are some nice posters, though.) Some teachers don t know their subjects. When parents push for changes, teachers just get moved or get a lighter load. Standards are very low so all can succeed. Special Ed and non-English speakers are in regular classes with no aide. There are 10-12 field trips per year, many of no relevance, wasting both time and a significant amount of (our) money. Middle school starts at 7th rather than 6th. The 7th and 8th graders are together with no differentiation as to academic level except in math, and in 1st 6th there isn t even that. It s a Somali magnet but there s no training for teachers, apparently, on culture. For example, girls might have to hold boys hands, and conservative Muslim kids can t do that. Obviously, we left. No one from the school ever asked us why.


Barton Open Elementary School 1

Posted April 06, 2011
- a community member
I am a student at this school, (8th grade) and its not the best school in the world. Bullying is a big problem for me. I get bullied in front of teachers and they do nothing. And what do i get bullied for? Being a different nationality. They do not stop it what so ever. I get made fun of by teachers, TEACHERS! Thats not right if you ask me. Also, they put the 7th and 8th graders to together. And to save money i bet. You only learn science one year may it be 7th or 8th grade. Then take history the next year. Or the other way. Cause of this i am going to fail my Science MCA's. Its not a good program if you ask me. This is coming from a student. NOT a parent I do not suggest this school what so ever.

Barton Open Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
I love Barton's open curriculum. It has a wonderful arts program, and gets high ratings from parents. It's just a great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barton Open Elementary School
4237 Colfax Ave South, Minneapolis, MN  55409
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (612) 668-3580
Last modified Barton Open Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top