Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Harriet Upper School 5

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
This 4-8th grade school has just won the MN School of Excellence Award, along with Lake Harriet Lower Campus. It has a new administrative team that is bringing new energy and ideas to the school. It is one of only 2 schools in MPS with a STEM teacher, let alone one that provides hands on STEM curriculum for all grade levels. Lake Harriet Upper has students every year going to state in spelling, math, robotics and history day competitions. It has a strong community support that provides some of the extra curricular opportunities for students. Great staff and a very close community where people really know and care about students.

Lake Harriet Upper School 2

Posted March 12, 2014
- a parent
I take issue with an earlier post stating GT kids get most of the attention at LH. Since big staff turnover commencing about 04, where prior, GT kids did seem to be on a limited track for being pulled out for enrichment (mostly arts in Kindergarten & first few early grades), enrichment outside the classroom in MPS and SPPS in general, all but halted in favor of enrichment WITHIN the classroom (not effective) and mass move toward No Child Left Behind teaching to the the test (cognitive, static, rote ). Kids have graduated not getting GT services since lower campus except for self-directed accelerated math. GT is not just advantaged children, it is a way of processing material (enhanced tactile, creative or kinetic experiences) and some emotional components as well. Without differentiation, everyone across the learning spectrum suffers including teachers and their ability to deal. Having had more than one at LH for many years, the school has spiraled downward. Much of its praise is residual from an earlier time. LH lost its authentic child centered focus hitting rock bottom in about 09. My oldest in middle school experienced little to none! Submitted by a parent


Lake Harriet Upper School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
Lake Harriet has excellent teachers, impressive parent- administration cooperation and solid administrators. My children are getting a very good education in an environment with a strong sense of community with thoughtful priorities placed on learning.

Lake Harriet Upper School 1

Posted March 30, 2012
- a parent
This school is over-rated! The administration is disorganized, distant and seems burned out. There is no sense of joy inside the halls of this school, and no real sense of community either. An earlier reviewer nailed it by calling the atmosphere of LHCS dysfunctional and cold. While there are a handful of good teachers, most seem to be going through the motions, and some seem to actually dislike children! Bullying and discrimination seem to be embedded in the culture of this school. It takes a lot more than high test scores to make a good school!

Lake Harriet Upper School 5

Posted December 17, 2011
- a parent
This is a high quality school. The teachers are excellent. It sets high standards and helps kids meet them.


Lake Harriet Upper School 1

Posted July 01, 2011
- a parent
It has a negative feel to it, and it is a dis-functional environment. Especially for 6th, 7th, 8th grades. Especially hard on boys. Boys are often treated like criminals. Some of the teachers are ok- but stresssed. And, some teachers are just awful. I really felt like there were a few teachers that absolutely hated the students and other staff. The principal's approach to everything is stuck in 1950. She has created an angry, screwed up environment. The school has gotten worse in the last 8 years. I agree with the other comments concerning favoritism to certain kids, depending on who their parents are. There is a small group of parents that have way too much power.

Lake Harriet Upper School 1

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
LHCS has a group of very involved parents but I am not sure this is good for the students or the district at large. The principal needs to be reminded that this is a public school. I have personally witnessed teachers letting certain children get away with things based on who their parents are. Bullying and bragging is a real problem at LHCS.

Lake Harriet Upper School 5

Posted April 15, 2011
- a community member
I think the learning is wonderful and the kindness is amazing. I found the school to meet all of my requirements because it went above and beyond in every way.


Lake Harriet Upper School 5

Posted April 08, 2011
- a parent
Great school. The quality of the academics is top-notch. My child was very adequately prepared for a rigorous load of honors and AP classes at Southwest High School by attending Lake Harriet.

Lake Harriet Upper School 1

Posted March 19, 2011
- a parent
We left this school with bad memories. I felt many of the staff acted like the school was only meant for certain kinds of families. Even the principal said the school was not a good match for us - despite our tax dollars! Heaven forbid if a average child takes away from a 'gifted' child's education. My son scored above 95% in math and reading but was never seen as intelligent because we didn't fit into the elitist culture. Much of the 'parent involvement' is really fraternizing with teachers. Despite a lot of token gestures there is very little cultural competency at this school. I feel my son's current school has a better curriculum and better teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Harriet Upper School
4912 Vincent Ave South, Minneapolis, MN  55410
(612) 668-3310
Last modified Lake Harriet Upper School is a Public school that serves grades 3-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Harriet Upper School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top