Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hale Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a community member
This school has wonderful teaching and is awsome. This school will be awsome in the future and th grades are k-4 sooo quiet! :)

Hale Elementary School 4

Posted September 27, 2012
- a parent
I have two children at Hale currently (2nd & 4th grade) and they both love going to school everyday- that says a lot right there, especially because start time is 7:30 a.m.. We have been very pleased with each and every teacher the kids have had. As well, the staff at the on site Mpls Kids is great! My kids are very different as far as their strengths and weaknesses, both academically & socially, and I feel they both have received the right amount of support.


Hale Elementary School 2

Posted August 21, 2012
- a parent
Hale is an average school with the potential to be excellent. They have some excellent teachers and many more who could be excellent. Hale offers excellent activities as does their PTA. The parents are very involved, but tend to look out for and fight for "their own." When the Hale community (teachers, parents, and admin.) realizes the amazing potential of their racially and economically diverse students, they will be able to do great things. A school with this much parent involvement and support should be able to better meet the needs of all students. When the school community learns to believe in everyone, they will be unstoppable. I wish I had realized sooner what all I needed to do to advocate for my diverse child at Hale.

Hale Elementary School 1

Posted August 03, 2012
- a parent
Hale offers many postive after school activities through the community education program and there is a very high level of parent involvement. 3 out of the 6 teachers with whom our children have had, have displayed engagement and commitment to the learning of our children given the large classroom sizes. Further, in our experience, the current principal does not appear know students or their parents. Reported bullying behavior by parents are dismissed by the social worker and administration, and responses to emails and phone calls are not consistent at best.

Hale Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
In regards to field trips, the Kindergartners at Hale usually go on two field trips a year. To the Apple Orchard at beginning of the year and Triangle Park at the end of the year. Very standard for that age group. The 1st- 4th graders go on a number of field trips. Second grade has been on five, two of them performances at the Children's Theatre (what a terrific opportunity!) The academic program at Hale is more advanced then the majority of Minneapolis schools and they offer ALC as well as advanced programs. The student teacher ratio is average for Minneapolis Schools, 26 per classroom- which is the only thing I would change about this school. However, it is a problem all the of Minneapolis schools are facing. The PTA and parent involvement are outstanding, helping to provide a safe, family feel.


Hale Elementary School 3

Posted April 26, 2012
- a parent
I'm not really impressed with Hale School. When I did a walk through I was told the students would go on field trips (zero field trips to date). The student teacher ratio is too high (as with most public schools). The diversity is minimal for a school in the city. The academic program is not impressive, however they meet the standards for No Child Left Behind.

Hale Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
Excellent parent involvement-which makes a huge difference when the school district can't provide what they once did. Generally very good teachers (there are 2 to avoid in K, however), a friendly, safe community. Opportunities for advanced kids are insufficient (no advanced language arts for 4th graders) although excellent where offered. Creative programs (rugby in PE, activities like "Arty Party." Bakken Science museum involvement, etc.). MPS in general-however? Uninspiring curriculum, too academic in kindergarten and WAY too much emphasis on testing. This is not Hale's fault, however, just the way things are these days. We've been very happy and our kids have, too.

Hale Elementary School 4

Posted May 11, 2011
- a parent
Hale has been a wonderful school for my child. The teachers have done an solid job balancing the needs for gifted children with those children requiring more attention. More support in the future for be needed for the staff to continue providing all the children what they will need. The major benefit is the exceptional parent involvement and PTA leadership which continues to strengthen the school community.


Hale Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2011
- a parent
Hale provides an excellent place to learn. The combination of parent involvement, strong pta, diversity, exceptional staff, and school pride really make Hale a special place. In turn, Hale is in high demand and forced to max out class size at many grade levels.This was an initial concern for us but was soon put to rest. I feel the Hale community does a great job of identifying voids and stepping up where needed; classrooms, events, programs for accelerated, programs for students who need extra help.

Hale Elementary School 1

Posted December 01, 2010
- a parent
Teachers are only focused on test scores, as stated by my child's kindergarten teacher. Class sizes are unacceptable, 28 students in K, making it impossible to provide individualized attention to children. Preferential treatment of students who are above grade level is given with a detrimental impact to students who have greater needs. When paying tuition for public school, I expect that my child will be taught at their level, not ignored because they are not ahead of the curve.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hale Elementary School
1220 East 54th St, Minneapolis, MN  55417
(612) 668-3760
Last modified Hale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hale Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews.