Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Patrick Henry High School

Public | 9-12 | 1140 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2012

I also needed to add that I don't know where this adults look the other way while students do drugs thing came from??? I did not in the four years I attended or the four years that both of my little sisters attended Henry see this type of behavior. Now if a parent witnessed an isolated incident, then it should be treated as such and not the entire vision of the school. The kids at Henry are not druggies nor do the staff allow or condon this type of behavior. Everyone has their own style of dress so what is considered inappropriate to one could be perfectly fine for someone else. That is why I love Henry, teens are allowed to be themselves. And this is high school in the 21st century all kids in all high schools across the state and the country have teens that engage in PDA. Again the parents have to parent at home and stop putting all of the responsibility on the teachers and staff at the school because they are there to teach and provide academic guidance and not to babysit, teach etiquette or have the bird's and the bee's talk with students. Again Patrick Henry is a great school!!! Just ask the students and staff Go Pats!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2011

I am a student at Patrick Henry, and I am appalled at all of the bashing of our school that is being allowed on this site. You say we have no school spirit? We do the best we can, but it's hard when we are verbally attacked when any one of us says to someone, "I go to Patrick Henry". You say our teachers are bad? Well I have plenty to say about our wonderful, encouraging, helpful teachers, but if you disagree, then remember that it isn't even our school that decides what teachers we get, it's the school board. You say we are druggies? Learn to love a little. I am no druggie, and neither are those I know that go to our school. Well, we love our school, and we are tired of all of the bashing that we get. We are the only IB school on the Northside, and we open the door to millions of opportunities that normally none of us would have access to. Ask any one of us. Our school has done something right, and no amount of prejudice can take that away from us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

Henry is a good school that will teach you many things in many different areas of education. My school will also help prepare you for your future and advancing onto college, since my school is an IB school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2009

Henry definitely has its shortcomings (like lack of support for numerous sports, struggling support for certain students), but these are largely due to a lack in funding. In addition, many of Henry's attributes makes up for its shortcomings. It has a great community, great teachers, great students, amazing school pride, and amazing student-teacher relationships! I graduated two years ago and I return each year for annual events!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

love all the teachers. math teachers who will actually help you understand while keeping up with the class. english teachers who will tell you the truth and not just say good try. graduated 4 years ago and i still visit my teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2009

Excellent school- great students, teachers, and administration, amazing IB program- you won't find a better urban high school in the area.


Posted January 21, 2009

I'm a teacher at Henry and I am happy to say I work in a positive atmosphere with an amazing, dedicated, energetic and disciplined staff. The kids are terrific--and with programs like Admission Possible in our school, helping all kids achieve college and scholarships, it's no wonder 4 Gates Millennial Scholars graduated from Henry last year! This is a wonderful place to teach and to learn. Eva Lockhart, International Baccalaureate Program
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 8, 2008

I am a graduate of Henry (Class of 2008) and I cannot express the gratitude I have for having the opportunity to attend such an excellent school. Henry is defined by their teachers; their teachers are bar none the most driven and dedicated core of professionals in the district. At the end of the day the teachers absolutely care about their students academically, mentally, and emotionally. I highly suggest the Henry experience to anyone considering this school. The professionals and the diverse Henry environment has fostered growth in me, such growth that I will fully utilize as I attend college in the upcoming fall.


Posted August 26, 2005

I have been a student at Patrick Henry for all of the 4 yrs. I have been in the comprehensive program for all of the 4 yrs.It is a good experience,there are alot of good teachers.I have learned alot of stuff in these 4 yrs.I would definately recommend this school to 9th graders.We have school spirit & alot of people to get to know.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2005

I am a junior at henry in the IB program. I love this school very much! Last year I swicthed to Edison becuase of convenience, but switched back the very next day because Henry was simply extraordinarily better than it. I have been involved in many activities and parents do show their support. Right now I am writing this message from a classroom in SPAIN! Through Henry, I am having the time of my life! I will be very sad the day I graduate from Henry.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

Patrick Henry high school is the worst school in Minneapolis to send your child to. It has irritable teachers and no school spirit whatsoever and when I was a student there I was captain of the wrestling cheerleading squad and we had maybe two parents come every meet and no students. Also, at football games. Sometimes no one would show up at all. The best part of Henry is the IB program and even there most of the students think they're better than everybody. I graduated with the IB diploma and I was ashamed of my school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 24, 2004

I am a student at Patrick Henry High School,I am in the comprehensive program & that school is tight. We have alot of school spirit and we represent our school to the fullest.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2004

I have one child who has started Henry in the IB Program and graduated from Patrick Henry last year and another child who started at Henry as a freshman and is a junior this year in the IB Program. I really love this school. It provides excellent academic opportunities that are not available elsewhere. Sports and extracurricular opportunities are available here that are not available to students at any other schools. The school is well organized and well run. Teachers are more than willing to spend time after school and before school to meet with students. The principal recently won a national award, only 1 of 3 nationwide that year given out. It's a top shelf place to have your kids. Parent volunteerism is encouraged and appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2003

Patrick Henry High School is one of the first Minneapolis Schools to reverse the trend of treating parents as add ons. Patrick Henry administration values parents by including parents on all standing staff committees,including parents in the staff planning retreat, and increasing methods for meaningful interaction between teachers and parents. Parents are beginning to feel the power of being accepted and respected as an integral piece in educating students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

232 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Writing

All Students73%
Female80%
Male65%
Black67%
Asian76%
Hispanic83%
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Economically non-disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities86%
English language learners64%
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female50%
Male57%
Black30%
Asian64%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Economically non-disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities57%
English language learners33%
Proficient in English58%
Non-migrant53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

232 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2011.

234 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
20%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
17%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students48%
Female51%
Male44%
Black36%
Asian42%
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Economically non-disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities51%
English language learners19%
Proficient in English55%
Non-migrant48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Science

All Students36%
Female32%
Male42%
Black26%
Asian31%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Economically non-disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities47%
English language learners6%
Proficient in English41%
Non-migrant36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female43%
Male42%
Black25%
Asian50%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Economically non-disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities45%
English language learners15%
Proficient in English49%
Non-migrant42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 42% 6%
Black 40% 9%
White 11% 74%
Hispanic 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Japanese
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Latanya Daniels
Fax number
  • (612) 668-1993

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Patrick henry high school: school, family, and community partnerships patrick henry high school uses education research regarding best practices in family involvement to support student achievement and family engagement. much of this research discusses the importance of school, family, and community partnerships. educational researcher, joyce epstein, defines these kinds of partnerships using six types of involvement. these types of involvement are: parenting: assist families with parenting and childrearing skills, understanding child and adolescent development, and setting home conditions that support children as students at each age and grade level. assist students in understanding families. communicating: communicate with families about school programs and student progress through effective school-to-home and home-to-school communications. volunteering: improve recruitment, training, and schedules to involve families as volunteers and audiences at the school or in other locations to support students and school programs. learning at home: involve families with their children in learning activities at home, including homework and other curriculum-related activities and decisions. decision making: include families as participants in school decisions, governance, and advocacy through pta/pto, school councils, committees, action teams, and other parent organizations. collaborating with the community: coordinate community resources and services for students, families, and the school with businesses, agencies and other groups providing services to the community. patrick henry high school includes all six types of involvement in its family involvement plan: parenting monthly principal parent meals-a wide range of issues relating to parenting and other educational topics are discussed with parents and relevant school staff. parents provide the topics for these discussions. staff development sessions- parents are invited to staff development sessions to share their insight and dialogue with our staff. these sessions also provide an opportunity for parents to learn about child development, learning, etc. communicating quarterly parent-teacher conferences-parents and teachers meet to discuss the academic progress of their students. other staff (e.g. the principal) are available to discuss any concerns with parents. translators and a personal translation system-translating staff and a personal translation system are available at school events for parent use. school website and email list-important information for parents (e.g. student accomplishments and upcoming events) is posted on the school’s website which is updated daily. also, a daily email list is sent to parents with similar information. advisory phone calling –advisory teachers call families twice yearly to welcome them and inform them of student progress toward graduation. volunteering volunteer training-a volunteer training is held at the beginning of the school year and individual trainings can be arranged for parents by appointment throughout the year. flexible volunteer opportunities-the school offers a range of volunteer opportunities that provide flexibility in regard to parents’ interests and schedules (e.g. ongoing opportunities and one time events). learning at home collaborative homework-individual teachers provide students with collaborative homework that encourages the involvement of family members with student work. parent newsletter-a quarterly parent newsletter is sent to families with articles on many topics including “learning at home” activities that parents can perform with students to increase academic achievement. decision making site council-parents can become members of the site council, a committee that influences the direction of the school (e.g. assisting with the development of the school improvement plan). patrick henry high school booster club-parents can support the school financially by becoming members of the booster club. the booster club raises funds for school programs and activities throughout the school year. committees-parents serve on various committees to support building work, including the lighthouse team focused on credit readiness, the senior events committee, and others. collaborating with the community community partner recognition event-the school holds an annual event that recognizes the contributions of community agencies and volunteers. community partnerships-over twenty local organizations partner with the school annually to provide services and support to students. current and new partnerships are supported and sought throughout the school year. internships-patrick henry students are placed in internships at local businesses and organizations, for which they earn credit. an internship coordinator and class help make sure our students meet the expectations of our partners. ph factor-the power of the patrick henry dollar in local small businesses within a mile of our patrick henry high school campus. many of the examples of involvement activities can represent more than one type of involvement. also, these are just a few examples of many involvement activities at the school. *definitions taken from school, family, and community partnerships by j. l. epstein et al., © 2002 corwin press, inc.
More from this school
  • We have developed what we believe is the best high school Web site in the world that captures the genius of our students and staff at: http://henry.mpls.k12.mn.us/ At this site you can sign up for a FREE daily online newsletter with Official Calendar information, Susan Breedlove's North Side multicultural calendar/almanac, parenting tips, Today's Face in African American Registry, and the top story for the next day. Please feel free to contact our Parent Liaison for further information at 612-668-1932.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4320 Newton Ave North
Minneapolis, MN 55412
Website: Click here
Phone: (612) 668-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


North Vista ALC
Robbinsdale, MN



Unity Campus
Minneapolis, MN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT