Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lyndale Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
Lyndale Community School is a nurturing environment that stretches my children's learning. It's a community that celebrates diversity, educates the whole child and creates learning opportunities that cannot be found at other Minneapolis public schools. Lyndale Community School has a full time Differentiated Learning Specialist (aka Gifted and Talented specialist). Student to staff ration is approximately 7 to 1.

Lyndale Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
Principal James has done a fantastic job fostering an environment that allows teachers to be creative in their teaching, encourages ALL staff to work with integrity and creates opportunity to celebrate the children in their care.


Lyndale Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
Every teacher, including specialists, are top-notch. The work collaboratively as professionals to maximize the growth of each individual student.

Lyndale Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
MAP test scores support the persistence, grit and determination students have because Lyndale Community Schools test score show tremendous growth.

Lyndale Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
The culture of the school is one of integrity and respect for students and staff.


Lyndale Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
The leadership at Lyndale Community School is not afraid to muscle through difficult questions for the benefit of all students. Teachers encourage students to conduct themselves with integrity.

Lyndale Elementary School 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a parent
We love Lyndale, our neighborhood school. My son just finished Kindergarten. His teacher was simply amazing -- highly skilled, able to manage and motivate a very diverse group of kids at lots of different academic levels and still be a lot of fun. I especially appreciate how hard she worked to make sure kids reading above grade level were also challenged. Very involved parents, a warm welcoming school for all.

Lyndale Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
We are so happy at Lyndale! My daughter started kindergarten this year and she loves her teacher and classmates. She is thoroughly engaged in her academics and is supported and challenged accordingly. We have a wonderful principal who gives her all and the teachers are amazing. There is a great sense of togetherness and a great attitude throughout this school.


Lyndale Elementary School 1

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
The city needs to spend more time watching this school. The teacher my child has is the worst teacher I have ever experienced. Very bossy and not nurturing at all. When I go into the building, I just get a depressed feeling. The school is behind on everything. Even school pictures are not taken until November.

Lyndale Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2010
- a parent
Both of my daughters love Lyndale Community School. Lyndale is a diverse urban school with strong leadership, a great teaching staff, and a high level of parent and community involvement. Lyndale is among MPS s highest performers in year-to-year academic achievement. Lyndale School provides a strong sense of community. Everyone feels welcome there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lyndale Elementary School
312 West 34th St, Minneapolis, MN  55408
(612) 668-4000
Last modified Lyndale Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lyndale Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top