Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roosevelt Senior High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2014

Great school. Small classes and teachers are so helpful. Can't say enough good things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Do NOT send your child to this school. I sent my son to Roosevelt and he has learned almost nothing except what new rule to follow everyday! Principal's philosophy: treat school like church . Many of his teachers have mentioned the programs that the school offered in the past such as AP where students earn college credits in their areas of strength and student sponsored activities. Now, it's IB or nothing (although your child is forced to enroll in at least 1 IB class to boost the numbers - who cares about your kid's interests or grades) and adult run activities. The newer Principal (2nd year) screams at the kids and turns on teachers during 'observations' upsetting the students. Almost all of the really capable senior staff is gone so if you want your child to only have fresh out-of-college and ready to practice education on your child, not seasoned teachers, this is the school for you. In short, this is a great school for kids who love rules (a new one everyday) and who also know how to pull one over on a new teacher try Roosevelt. If you want your child to be creative, learn to think and enjoy school, please send them elsewhere! My child is smarter and happier for leaving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2014

My son is a freshman at Roosevelt and he loves it. The teachers are very caring. The leadership is fantastic, as are the support staff. There are so many wonderful opportunities for after-school involvement - athletics, clubs, debate, academic support The transition to a large, urban high school could be tough on a kid, but Roosevelt has welcomed my son every step of the way. I spent a lot of time researching high schools. I'm glad we chose Roosevelt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Roosevelt High School is a hidden gem in South Minneapolis that is sadly overlooked by many families as a viable option for high school. We have one child who has experienced two fantastic years here and we did not hesitate to choose Roosevelt for our second child as well. To the contrary of what another reviewer has stated, the change in leadership, from my perspective, has been fantastic. There is structure and order in the building and most importantly, it feels safe. Expectations are clear and students know what they need to accomplish in order to succeed. As a parent, I feel I have an open line of communication to the teachers and the principal and receive responses more promptly than I had ever experienced with my elementary/middle schools. I would not be sending my children to this school if I felt they were receiving a sub-par eduction: most of the teachers are engaged and energetic. I feel that there is a concerted effort to build the sports teams which is an important aspect of the high school experience (Go Teddies!) We have been pleasantly surprised by our Roosevelt High School experience thus far, and believe it will only get better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

I am very disappointed at this school. After the tax cut our good programs for CPR and Mentor Health career opportunity went down hill. I am not happy. Their are some amazing teachers in Health and science but there needs to be more improvements on Math and English. These too major subject is what would help prepare us for College. I felt cheated having to go into maths IMP that did not help me prepare for college. English class was suppose to be all about improving in my writing, reading skills and expressing myself but no its more focus on stories and myth stories. All we did was watch movies, read myth stories and listen to myth stories. This is a big problem.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2010

The principal will not talk to parents, some classes are way too large, some are tiny. The students have no rules enforced and academics suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Extremely diverse student population and very supportive and loving parent community
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

I love that Roosevelt feels like a big family. I think that we have a teaching staff that cares for our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 23, 2008

I am a former graduate of Roosevelt High School and I have to say I had some really great teachers, that I won't argue with. The only good priniple was Mr. Smith. The ability of the school to keep it's students safe at the time was awful. The racial tension in that school is so thick you could cut it with a knife. Most peolple who went to other high schools say they wish they could be in high school again but I tell you what, you couldn't pay me enough money to go back. I also found that because the teachers were so busy sending kids to the office, and disciplining/ getting after the disruptive students that they didn't have enough time to teach the rest of us that were there to learn. I also want to note that this school didn't prepare me for college at all!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2007

Great school that deserves a much better rep! Teachers are amasing and although they have a tough job they are able to take the time for idividual students that need the extra help! They are ALWAYS supportive! Athletics coaches are great (i.e. football) they may not always win but they have great values that they pass on to the children! You couldn't ask for better role models! Roosevelt has been a wounderful place for my children to attend as my younger children too will go to Roosevel and I would recommend this school to anyone! If you have an issue with this school...belive me it is not the school parents need to be involved too in their childrens learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

This school deserves to have a better reputation. The teachers are top notch, admistration does an amazing job of working with limited resources and, as an aside, it's always clean. It's a great atmosphere where learning is emphasized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

This is a great school but your kid will get in trouble for going to the bathroom. It's great but it's a little to strict. And not all of the kids get lunch because there is never enough for everyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 30, 2004

The last review mentioned not enough quality teachers. Our staff has very talented and qualified teachers. What is needed is more consistant enforcement of behavior policies, more parents involved with their children's education and behavior. Students need to be placed in a school that benefits their learning process and what's best for their education. And if their not in the right setting then they need to placed in the correct situation ASAP. Our teachers do have a tough job but it isn't teacher quality that's at issue it's too many disruptive students in large classes and lack of resources and support from the state.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 6, 2004

They have a tough job.. too many kids and not enough quality teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
20%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Writing

All Students65%
Female71%
Male57%
Black62%
Asian82%
Hispanic56%
Native American75%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Economically non-disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learners48%
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students17%
Female17%
Male17%
Black7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Economically non-disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities20%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English27%
Non-migrant17%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
12%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2011.

191 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
3%

2010

 
 
10%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
15%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students38%
Female40%
Male37%
Black28%
Asian53%
Hispanic31%
Native American50%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Economically non-disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities45%
English language learners19%
Proficient in English50%
Non-migrant39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Science

All Students28%
Female29%
Male26%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Economically non-disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities28%
English language learners11%
Proficient in English34%
Non-migrant28%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students11%
Female9%
Male12%
Black2%
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Economically non-disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities13%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English20%
Non-migrant11%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 7%
Black 35% 9%
White 12% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bruce Gilman
Fax number
  • (612) 668-4810

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4029 28th Ave South
Minneapolis, MN 55406
Website: Click here
Phone: (612) 668-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


North Star Academy
Minneapolis, MN



South Senior High School
Minneapolis, MN


Mps Metro Sj
Minneapolis, MN


Leadership Academy
Minneapolis, MN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT