Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sanford Middle School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
Sanford has been a great school for my daughter. She has been a successful participant in the AVID program and has been a consistent A student. The current plan for expansion and adding AC make the welcoming building even more comfortable.

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Thank you to the great Sanford teachers and staff who have made our time there an excellent middle school experience!


Sanford Middle School 4

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Great neighborhood school! My daughter picked Sanford over the K-8 magnet she had been attending (the magnet was a nice school, too but she was ready for a bigger school). It has been a good choice for her. Very strong teachers, including math and science teachers who have her loving math and planning to be a middle school math/science teacher. Having continuity of some teachers for 3 years has worked really well for our family (they call this looping). Learning Arabic is an amazing offering for a public school. Fantastic band program. Project Success partners with the school which has been a great community building opportunity. The older building (circa 1920s, maybe?) is wonderful, but has its drawbacks (small gym, some trouble with heating). I understand there are expansion plans underway - hope the school is able to keep its character even after the renovations. Very strong leadership team and good parental involvement.

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Sanford is a superb middle school. The teachers are fabulous, the curriculum is rigorous and the students are creative and dynamic. Great administrative leadership and support staff--they know the kids-and the atmosphere in the building is happy and productive. There are so many excellent extracurricular activities, and the band program is outstanding. Kids finishing 8th grade are very well prepared for success in high school and beyond.

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
My son had done very well without a whole lot of effort throughout Elementary School. Within the first month we could tell Sanford was really pushing kids to pick it up a level or more. Not just homework/busywork, but an overall concept of responsibility. They're working to prepare him for college; not just high school. So far Sanford has a been a very good, engaging, and challenging school.


Sanford Middle School 5

Posted January 05, 2008
- a parent
My son went to Dowling Elementary and is now in his second year at Sanford. He has many good freinds and is doing very well academically. He likes his teacher's and we like them. This is a wonderful school.

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
Sanford is a great school for my son it offers a great Pre liberal arts program that challenges him everyday. We decided on Sanford because of the PLA program and are so glad that we did. They also have a program called Circle of Discipline that helps kids who need the extra help in getting and staying focused. And we also liked the fact that it prepares them for high school from the 6th grade.

Sanford Middle School 4

Posted August 03, 2004
- a parent
Hard working teachers who made my son feel that he was successful even though he was adopted from africa and didn't speak much english. My other child was involved in advanced courses and got into the high school of her choice.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sanford Middle School
3524 42nd Ave South, Minneapolis, MN  55406
(612) 668-4900
Last modified Sanford Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sanford Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top