Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sanford Middle School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
Sanford has been a great school for my daughter. She has been a successful participant in the AVID program and has been a consistent A student. The current plan for expansion and adding AC make the welcoming building even more comfortable.

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Thank you to the great Sanford teachers and staff who have made our time there an excellent middle school experience!


Sanford Middle School 4

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Great neighborhood school! My daughter picked Sanford over the K-8 magnet she had been attending (the magnet was a nice school, too but she was ready for a bigger school). It has been a good choice for her. Very strong teachers, including math and science teachers who have her loving math and planning to be a middle school math/science teacher. Having continuity of some teachers for 3 years has worked really well for our family (they call this looping). Learning Arabic is an amazing offering for a public school. Fantastic band program. Project Success partners with the school which has been a great community building opportunity. The older building (circa 1920s, maybe?) is wonderful, but has its drawbacks (small gym, some trouble with heating). I understand there are expansion plans underway - hope the school is able to keep its character even after the renovations. Very strong leadership team and good parental involvement.

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Sanford is a superb middle school. The teachers are fabulous, the curriculum is rigorous and the students are creative and dynamic. Great administrative leadership and support staff--they know the kids-and the atmosphere in the building is happy and productive. There are so many excellent extracurricular activities, and the band program is outstanding. Kids finishing 8th grade are very well prepared for success in high school and beyond.

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
My son had done very well without a whole lot of effort throughout Elementary School. Within the first month we could tell Sanford was really pushing kids to pick it up a level or more. Not just homework/busywork, but an overall concept of responsibility. They're working to prepare him for college; not just high school. So far Sanford has a been a very good, engaging, and challenging school.


Sanford Middle School 5

Posted January 05, 2008
- a parent
My son went to Dowling Elementary and is now in his second year at Sanford. He has many good freinds and is doing very well academically. He likes his teacher's and we like them. This is a wonderful school.

Sanford Middle School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
Sanford is a great school for my son it offers a great Pre liberal arts program that challenges him everyday. We decided on Sanford because of the PLA program and are so glad that we did. They also have a program called Circle of Discipline that helps kids who need the extra help in getting and staying focused. And we also liked the fact that it prepares them for high school from the 6th grade.

Sanford Middle School 4

Posted August 03, 2004
- a parent
Hard working teachers who made my son feel that he was successful even though he was adopted from africa and didn't speak much english. My other child was involved in advanced courses and got into the high school of her choice.

Nearby schools

Sanford Middle School
3524 42nd Ave South, Minneapolis, MN  55406
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (612) 668-4900
Last modified Sanford Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top