Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Minneapolis, MN
Students enrolled: 445

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Waite Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Fantastic! We are now in our last year at Waite Park and our son has been served exceedingly well. He has received tremendously individualized attention every year, from kindergarten through 5th grade. Our gifted & talented teacher, Jamie Boardman, is particularly amazing. Our son loves going to school and is always anxious for summer to end so that he can get back to his friends and teachers. Waite Park is a positive, nurturing, respectful and very community-minded school. I can't say enough great things about it. We will miss it next year when we transition to middle school.

Waite Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Great school and wonderful teachers. Supportive, safe and involved community! Cannot imagine my children anywhere else!


Waite Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
My son attended Waite Park last year for the high-5 program (pre-kindergarten). We immediately fell in love with this school. They have a very nice park and recreation center connected to the school which helps for after school activities as well as sports programs. We also were impressed with their school lunch menu which now offers healthy and organic alternatives. Waite Park school is the perfect setting for our family. One last thing is that Waite Park has a wonderful volunteer program. At the end of the year they have a small breakfast reception for those who have volunteered in the school!

Waite Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2012
- a parent
We love Waite Park! We have a 4th grader & 1st grader currently attending, and have been consistently impressed by the dedication and quality of the teachers - their classroom teachers and the specialists (gifted & talented, art, music, phy ed & media). They also have a superior after school program, notably the theater program which involves kids 1st through 5th grade. Parent involvement is high, and we too like the very diverse environment.

Waite Park Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2010
- a parent
This school has it all! We considered private, charter, and public suburban schools, and ultimately chose Waite Park for our daughter. We're so glad we did! High academic expectations and support plus time for play and personal expression. Dedicated teachers and specialists in music, art, gym, and technology. Student body diversity with high parental involvement. Beautiful facilities with lots of natural light in every classroom. The new principal is kind, thoughtful, and responsive.


Waite Park Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 17, 2009
- a parent
Both my children attend Waite Park. My oldest is in 5th and my youngest in K. We are very happy with the community feel of the school. The teachers and principal know all the students by name. They run a tight ship and have high expectations for student behavior. Even with larger class sizes, the teachers have a good handle on their classrooms. There seems to be good support between staff and administration, with little teacher 'burn out' to speak of. I am very, very happy with Waite Park!

Waite Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
I'm very pleased with waite park, my son has been attending this school for 3 yrs and is doing very well with his studies. The teachers are great, parents are always welcome to join the class. Waite park has many programs/activities for the kids and lots of family events!

Waite Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Waite Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Waite Park Elementary School 5

Posted December 18, 2006
- a parent
Our daughter has attended Waite Park since kindergarten, she is now in 2nd grade, we love this school. It is strongly a community school, although kids do come from all over the metro to attend. The community is very actively involved with the school and there are many family events and programs, family reading night, family math night, family dinner night etc. The teachers have been excellent, they push the kids without being nasty, overall the teachers and principle maintain a very good level of discipline and behavior (there are always a very few exceptions), but the kids are well-behaved, respectful, eager to learn and have fun. The school has a great relation with Waite Park Recreational Center, the buildings are joined, and the Rec Center has a tremendous before and after school program, and even a pre-K program. These guys are fabulous. Highly reccommended.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Waite Park Elementary School
1800 34th Ave NE, Minneapolis, MN  55418
(612) 668-1600
Last modified Waite Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Waite Park Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top