Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus

Public | K-3 | 304 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

Awesome school. Beth Ness is amazing and so connected with each child and parent at the school. The transition to Keewaydin in 3rd grade is seamless. Amazing school and teachers. Not sure where this rating of 4 comes from. If all of the parents took this survey I would bet the rating would be at 8.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

I used this site to research schools when our oldest was approaching kindergarten age, and I was concerned about the negative rating, especially because it's the school we're guaranteed admittance to, and would likely be our only option. THIS CONCERN WAS UNWARRANTED! This is a great school, and we are more than happy with the quality of teaching, the communication we enjoy with both the teachers and the principal, and the parent involvement. I think schools that suffer from an undue bad reputation work harder to prove themselves, and I believe we've benefitted as a result.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

I have to admit that Wenonah was not our first choice school. However, it has exceeded our expectations and we plan to stay! The school is small and there's an excellent sense of community. The teachers, principal and staff are welcoming, accommodating and truly care about the students and the families. On a weekly basis, my son has music, media, art, and gym twice a week. When the weather is nice, the kindergarten classes have outside recess twice a day. The academics seem excellent with a lot of focus on and support for reading. The focus is on teaching the kids in a variety of ways so they can truly learn and not on how much material can be covered or on testing scores (unlike some other schools). Homework is sent home on Wednesdays and due on Tursdays. We love it this way! Especially compared to some schools that have homework scattered throughout the week, even for kindergarteners. The students are diverse and there is lots of parent and community involvement. Wenonah earned the School of Excellence award in 2013 and is a neighborhood gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

My child is receiving a top notch education at this school, the staff and teachers are very involved with my student and you can tell tehy really care about the quality of education for all of the students. My student loves school and is thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

This is a great school and only getting better. The new principal, who started in 2011, is superb. Staff are committed and caring. Lots of individual attention for all students, independent of ability. Nice racial and socio-economic diversity as well. We were a bit concerned when our daughter started here, having moved from the suburbs where she attended a school that had it all, but we love the school and all it has to offer. Our daughter and son love it to. We have a lot of friends who send their kids to Burroughs, private, or charter schools, and we always try to convince them that Wenonah is great. Too few have actually taken the plunge. It's their lose in the end. Wenonah is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

Having kids at this school it's hard for me to believe the data listed here on test scores & racial demographic is correct. If one didn't know better they might get the impression this school is sub-par, which it's not. This is a VERY good school, lot's of parents involved, great lake neighborhood full of kids/parks. The base is neighborhood kids from middle class, blue collar-done-well families that live E of Lake Nokomis moving towards Minnehaha Falls & S of 42 St.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

Wenonah provides our two children with top-notch education. Teachers are superb! The best kept secret in the Minneapolis Public School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

This is a great school! Small classrooms, wonderful staff, diverisity - great urban elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2010.

72 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students70%
Female68%
Male72%
Black42%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Economically non-disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
English language learners40%
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female68%
Male70%
Black56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Economically non-disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities72%
English language learners38%
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant69%

Reading

All Students48%
Female51%
Male45%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Economically non-disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities51%
English language learners13%
Proficient in English58%
Non-migrant48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 74%
Black 25% 9%
Hispanic 17% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 2%
Asian 3% 6%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joan Hultman
Fax number
  • (612) 668-5050

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5625 23rd Ave South
Minneapolis, MN 55417
Website: Click here
Phone: (612) 668-5040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hale Elementary School
Minneapolis, MN



Span
Minneapolis, MN


Our Lady of Peace
Minneapolis, MN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT