Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus 3

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
This school has a great community focus. The Principal was perky and clearly wanted to please every body. Most of the faculty and staff were very friendly and smiley. But when it actually came to teaching the students, there wasn't a high expectation. I didn't feel like my student was being challenged and was often bored. Maybe we have just lucked out and gotten 2 mediocre teachers, but this school is not a good fit for our student. Bottom line, community focused school, not academically focused.

Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus 5

Posted February 26, 2015
- a parent
My son has been going to Wenonah for almost a year now and he loves it! We are very pleased with all of the teachers and leadership, especially the principal who is usually waiting outside every morning to greet the children (by name) and answer any questions or just listen to a students story about their newly lost tooth. They have art, music, and a fantastic P.E. program that includes sledding and fishing. This is truly a great school!


Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
Awesome school. Beth Ness is amazing and so connected with each child and parent at the school. The transition to Keewaydin in 3rd grade is seamless. Amazing school and teachers. Not sure where this rating of 4 comes from. If all of the parents took this survey I would bet the rating would be at 8.

Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus 4

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
I used this site to research schools when our oldest was approaching kindergarten age, and I was concerned about the negative rating, especially because it's the school we're guaranteed admittance to, and would likely be our only option. THIS CONCERN WAS UNWARRANTED! This is a great school, and we are more than happy with the quality of teaching, the communication we enjoy with both the teachers and the principal, and the parent involvement. I think schools that suffer from an undue bad reputation work harder to prove themselves, and I believe we've benefitted as a result.

Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus 5

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
I have to admit that Wenonah was not our first choice school. However, it has exceeded our expectations and we plan to stay! The school is small and there's an excellent sense of community. The teachers, principal and staff are welcoming, accommodating and truly care about the students and the families. On a weekly basis, my son has music, media, art, and gym twice a week. When the weather is nice, the kindergarten classes have outside recess twice a day. The academics seem excellent with a lot of focus on and support for reading. The focus is on teaching the kids in a variety of ways so they can truly learn and not on how much material can be covered or on testing scores (unlike some other schools). Homework is sent home on Wednesdays and due on Tursdays. We love it this way! Especially compared to some schools that have homework scattered throughout the week, even for kindergarteners. The students are diverse and there is lots of parent and community involvement. Wenonah earned the School of Excellence award in 2013 and is a neighborhood gem!


Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus 5

Posted October 31, 2012
- a parent
My child is receiving a top notch education at this school, the staff and teachers are very involved with my student and you can tell tehy really care about the quality of education for all of the students. My student loves school and is thriving.

Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school and only getting better. The new principal, who started in 2011, is superb. Staff are committed and caring. Lots of individual attention for all students, independent of ability. Nice racial and socio-economic diversity as well. We were a bit concerned when our daughter started here, having moved from the suburbs where she attended a school that had it all, but we love the school and all it has to offer. Our daughter and son love it to. We have a lot of friends who send their kids to Burroughs, private, or charter schools, and we always try to convince them that Wenonah is great. Too few have actually taken the plunge. It's their lose in the end. Wenonah is great.

Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus 5

Posted March 26, 2011
- a parent
Having kids at this school it's hard for me to believe the data listed here on test scores & racial demographic is correct. If one didn't know better they might get the impression this school is sub-par, which it's not. This is a VERY good school, lot's of parents involved, great lake neighborhood full of kids/parks. The base is neighborhood kids from middle class, blue collar-done-well families that live E of Lake Nokomis moving towards Minnehaha Falls & S of 42 St.


Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus 5

Posted July 10, 2008
- a parent
Wenonah provides our two children with top-notch education. Teachers are superb! The best kept secret in the Minneapolis Public School District.

Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus 5

Posted February 11, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school! Small classrooms, wonderful staff, diverisity - great urban elementary school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus
5625 23rd Ave South, Minneapolis, MN  55417
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (612) 668-5040
Last modified Lk Nokomis Community-Wenonah Campus is a Public school that serves grades K-3
Top