Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Whittier International 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
Both of my daughters graduated from Whittier, and I do not think I truly appreciated what an amazing school it is until they moved onto less inspiring schools. They had 2 principals while there, both strong and amazing women. There friends were amazing, from every socio-economic and cultural background you can imagine which truly prepared them to be empathetic, compassionate people comfortable around anyone! Their teachers were, for the most part, super supportive and amazing! They have lots of afterschool options, jump start, a great Minneapolis Kids program. They have lots of ways for parents to get involved, lots of special programs at the school. It is not always pretty and neat and orderly, but that is because it is a community of diverse perspectives coming together and creating something beautiful. I LOVE and MISS Whittier!!!!!!!!

Whittier International 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a community member
I am a tutor at Whittier and have always been positively impressed with the capabilities and dedication of the staff. The students are lucky to be able to attend this school.


Whittier International 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
Whittier is a fantastic school - don't let the 2/10 rating scare you from considering this school for your child. My kids are getting a rigorous education and surrounded by diversity and global thinkers. They are taught to question - not memorize. Great PTA and parents care and engage. Promotes tolerance and that there is more than one way to approach life - Whittier is a gem in MPS.

Whittier International 5

Posted May 12, 2013
- a parent
I can't believe GreatSchools gives Whittier a 2/10. That is ridiculous. This school has stolen my heart. My kindergartner loves to go to school every day and has really thrived in the IB environment that focuses on the "why" behind what they learn. I'd choose it over the "good" schools like Lake Harriet and Burroughs again in a heart beat. It does not have the high-powered PTA of those other schools with so many parents with extra time and money, but there is a strong PTA and an excellent school-family liaison on staff.

Whittier International 5

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
Fantastic school, supportive teachers and active parent community. Don't let the Great Schools rating worry you - this school is amazing and the IB curriculum is a huge win. My kids are learning to be critical thinkers - not just memorizing for the tests. Super open-minded environment.


Whittier International 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
Already fantastic school w/ so much more potential! I am fortunate to have my daughter attending.

Whittier International 4

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Great school with a majority of the teachers having pride in their craft, multicultural student body, and parents that are interested in their children and school. The IB curriculum is a plus which not only makes parents and kids stay on their toes, but teachers too!

Whittier International 5

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers and staff, great program, great parent support.


Whittier International 0
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a community member
It is a multi-cultural school with multi-lingual kids and staff that does a great job of keeping the kids learning about our world.

Whittier International 0
no rating

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
Whittier is one of the only truely diverse schools in the Minneapolis School district with a primary IB program that offers student a world view to teach them to learn and become world citizens.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whittier International
315 West 26th St, Minneapolis, MN  55404
(612) 668-4170
Last modified Whittier International is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Whittier International Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top