Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Carondelet Catholic School

Private | K-8 | 420 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Minneapolis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $278,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 2, 2014

Great community, individualized learning, high expectations, faith-based values. Teachers are effective, caring, and great communicators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

We have had a two children graduate from Carondelet and our youngest still in the Middle School at Carondelet. Most of the students in my sons class went into AP and honors classes and are now graduating with high honors. Both of children took advanced Math at Carondelet and excelled in all the core curriculum areas. Both were well prepared for high school and now college. The school is highly recommended by area high schools, which says a lot for the program. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

Carondelet Catholic School had an amazing elementary school. I have three kids. My first one went through the middle school program. The teachers didn't know much more than the students, and the smarter kids in the class ended up teaching themselves. I pulled my 2nd child out in fifth grade, and 3rd child in fourth. Even in Elementary, the smarter kids didn't get a good education. If you're at the elementary school, run from the middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

Our daughter started kindergarten at Carondelet this year, and we love it! The community has been so welcoming and the teachers and staff are outstanding. We've been very impressed with the communication, curriculum, community and small class sizes. We highly recommend Carondelet to anyone who is looking.


Posted August 11, 2011

I absolutely love this school, my kids are in grades 7 and 5 and every year since kindergarten has been great. The academics are rigorous and the learning environment is very positive. My kids have developed life long friends and have built skills that will be valuable throughout their lives. The school is a gem in sw Minneapolis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

My children have attended Carondelet since kindergarten. The Lower Campus was absolutely wonderful, so we were slightly nervous about moving to the Upper Campus for 3rd grade. We have never been SO happy!! The teachers are very nurturing and it is obvious that they truly care about the kids. I have also been very impressed with the incredible communication from teachers and availability to answer my questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

My family moved from Chicago (Sept. 2008)where our children attended a top academic school. Upon our arrival to Minneapolis, we started with the neighborhood public school. It was impersonal and provided little to no academic challenge, creativity or motivation. My children were bored and were losing their love for learning. Mid year we transitioned to Carondelet, and it has been tremendous! Becky Farber, the principal, and all the staff have been very caring, personal and excited to have the children there. There is an attention to the details for how a child learns. My children love it and are excited to be apart of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

My son attended Carondelet from 2003-2005. It is an EXCELLENT school. He left because we moved to California. We have had the misfortune of having him attend a public school in California. It is like night and day. He is so far advanced here he is bored. We left Carondelet at the end of his first grade year and it honestly took until he was halfway through 3rd grade for the California school to catch up to where Carondelet was in first grade. I am actually thinking about moving back to Minneapolis and enrolling all 3 of my children back in Carondelet. It is an awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

I am an 8th grade student at Carondelet, and 8th grade has been really fun for my peers and me. With an addition of some new teachers and a new principal, the school improves every day. Carondelet Is challenging and fun and a great place to learn and grow... going into high school I feel very well prepared. If you are looking for a great faith, based, friendly school in mpls., this is the place you want to be!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2008

Carondelet is an excellent school. in addition to great academics (my kids have been very well prepared for high school), the school emphasizes life long values, important for a happy life. A great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2008

With a new principal and some new teachers, we are happier than ever at Carondelet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

I have children in the elementary and junior high at Carondelet. We've loved everything about the school, including the great teachers and wonderful parent community. Are children are thriving. Great experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

I went to this school, and I was very unhappy. They need to get new teachers, and bump up the extracurricular program. This is a good school for elementary, but not for Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2007

'Carondelet is a great school. It is a wonderful, nurturing community and my children are thriving here. The teachers are very helpful and approachable.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

Because of the small size of our school there is a lot of one on one attention to students. There are also two major trips taken, to Camp St. Croix and to Camp Widjiwagen. They are extremely fun and it's a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2006

Carondelet is a very good school. The teachrs really know what they are doing.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Black 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Paul-Minneapolis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3210 West 51st Street
Minneapolis, MN 55410
Website: Click here
Phone: (612) 927-8673

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT