Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Charles Borromeo School

Private | PK-8 | 297 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Minneapolis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2010

I am not only a parent of several students that are currently at, or have graduated from St. Charles, but I am also an alum. The majority of the teachers have their Masters Degrees and have chosen St. Charles. They could be making so much more at a public school, but chose St.Charles for the love of the students and the kind of school St. Charles is. They are true to the faith and live it out everyday. My kids were much more advanced than their fellow students when they got to H.S. I couldn't recommend it more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2010

My experience as a student here was deeply underwhelming. I had to unlearn most of the Spanish I learned there once I got to high school, because we were taught by people who, at best, spoke semi-passable French. My math teacher ignored me entirely, as he did most of the female students. That was fine with me at the time, since I thought I hated math, but doesn't sit well with me in retrospect (particularly now that I'm considering an MBA). I went on to a selective and challenging college prep high school, then to a selective and challenging liberal arts college, but that was more in spite of St. Charles than because of it. Gosh, though--I sure did learn a lot about the evils of secularism and feminism and liberals and gays and all! Totally helped get me to get to where I am today.


Posted September 6, 2009

It is a great school, with great teachers.


Posted January 14, 2009

Great education. Safe nurturing environment that brings out the best in students. Very dedicated staff and administration that adapts well to individual needs. Very good sports and extra-curricular programs. Very involved community with many opportunities for volunteer. Graduates from this school do well when they move on to high school and beyond. I strongly recommend this school.


Posted December 20, 2008

great school! good at sports but education is up there too :) they have a great system for kids who are bellow and above normal!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2008

St. Charles is an excellent school. The teachers instruct, listen, and care about each child. It is a safe environment and well kept. St. charles has done well to keep up with the times in the sense of teaching our children computer, spanish, more science. They try and work hard to help children with special needs. I went to a catholic school as a child and we played in the parking lot and had to find fields to play sports. That should not be a part of our child's education. Thank God St. Charles puts their funding to education and not play time. I am proud to be a parent of St. Charles. One of my children graduated and is excelling in private high school, mostly due to the education she received from St. Charles. My other child is still at St. Charles and is doing well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

A great school for the Pre-K to 8. I've had 3 children at this school...some with several years to go. The staff has brought out each of their unique skills and helped them individually when they stumble. Involved parents, faith based, great sports and arts programs, very committed staff mean your child gets a well rounded and character building academic experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

The parking lot not only is used for cars but is also used for the children's playground. Steps need to be taken to assure safety for the children from oncoming cars. The lot has gates but are always open. New teachers are not given adequate briefing about existing programs and curriculum therefore they make up their own and confuses the parents and students from what they are used to and what they usually expect from past programs and teachings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

This is a great school. The staff cares about the students and works well with parents. Gary, the principal, is very active in the function of the school. Religion is very much the center of their education
—Submitted by a staff


Posted October 10, 2006

Excellent education. The teachers are very attentive to the students and provide structured yet caring environment. Small Class room size allows the teachers to really connect with each student. I was surprised to find that they offer the same variety of classes that public schools do. The majority of teachers there have a Masters Degree in Eduction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

I have two children currently attending St. Charles, and one who recently graduated. I have been very pleased over the years with the school's fidelity to the Catholic Faith, amount of parental involvement, prompt and effective administrative action in response to concerns I have brought up, and high academic standards. One concern I had in the past was the quality of the middle school band and choir program, and the school appears to have made a significant improvement in those areas this year. One logistical downside of this school is that it does not have its own baseball/soccer field, and sometimes requires extra driving when your kids are involved in school sports. However, most/all of the families of St. Charles students are friendly and more than happy to help with driving. This really is a great school, and I am glad my husband and I chose to send our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

My daughter attended this school. My daughter recieved an excellent education, and she was prepare well ahead of her counterparts for high school.The staff, and students were great. My daughter 7 years later, still has maintained those friendships. The lesson learned in the classroom, and playground are life lessons that have made her the fantastic college student she is today. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2005

St.Charles is a good school it is really close and family like but there are low ends of this school that make it not great ... It doesnt offer to many classes that are for those in advanced or those that need special needs. The teachers are ok they dont really give a lot of attention. Overall my experiance was not that great.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 73%
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Black 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Paul-Minneapolis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2727 Stinson Blvd
Minneapolis, MN 55418
Phone: (612) 781-2643

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Northeast Middle School
Minneapolis, MN





Yinghua Academy
Minneapolis, MN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT