Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Country School

Private | PK-8 | 300 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Minneapolis

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2009

It is a community for both parents and kids and it is a child centered school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

The world would be a much better place if every child were entrusted to the staff of Lake Country School. Their boundless enthusiasm and commitment to children is astounding. I was lucky enough to spend 8 years in this wonderful place and it is my greatest hope that my own children will get to do the same.


Posted October 22, 2009

Young people attending Lake Country learn how to be a part of a community and are given a life long love for learning. It produces amazing people and my friends from my time there are still among my closest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

The teachers are fabulous - they support all children in their academic and social growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Of course the education is great, especially with the small classes and the thoughtfulness of all the teachers. What sets Lake Country apart is how it fosters personal relationships between students, teachers, and families, bringing together a wide range of people from across Minneapolis and the surrounding area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2009

It was fantastic to grow up in an enrhusiastic community that really fostered student learning. I have no doubt that it played a significant role in making me fall in love with learning from the start.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2009

What a rich and rewarding experience to spend time observing what Lake Country School is all about. The learning environment is one that encourages children to self-directed activities, For example, I found it fascinating that when children went to the bookshelves in classrooms--that included a wide scope of subject matter--they would select books about the universe; different cultures; and anything from which they could 'learn', (nothing for just entertainment), and this was 'their choice'. Also, the respect and regard they had for each other during interaction with their peers was absolutely beautiful to watch. How refreshing and heartwarming to know that children are being schooled not just in the academics, but also in the qualities that encompass what the individual as a whole should be----what a wonderful society we would be if all schools incorporated the Lake Country School method of teaching our most precious natural resources! Congratulations to the Teachers and Staff for inspiring children to be all they can be and for caring about nature, the environment, and all the peoples of our world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

LCS was an extraordinary place for all three of our children to start their school experience. The teachers are the ones who made all the difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Both of our kids attended from Kindergarten through 8th grade. They received an outstanding academic start to their lives, but more important, graduated with people skills, personal confidence and the love of learning which has sustained them in and throughout their adult lives. Lake Country School was a key element in the 'village' that we cherished as we raised our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Lake Country taught our daughter to respect her surroundings, her classmates, her teachers, other adults, and herself. She left the school prepared for high school and now is thriving in college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

My children learned about themselves and the world in a respectful and caring environment. They were encouraged to develop intellectually, physically, emotionally and morally. They left very well prepared for their rigorous high school program and now one is in college at a highly selective school. Lake Country helps build solid citizens, compassionate humans and inquiring minds!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

committed faculty; engaed and motivated kids; supportive parents and friends


Posted October 21, 2009

My child went to Lake Country from 3rd grade through 8th. The commitment to academics is incredible, but that's not the main reason I love Lake Country. Being one of the founding Montessori schools in the country, Lake Country has a certain commitment to other important life lessons for our young people. They create an incredible little community with the children there. They learn to help and support one another and to become better community members. That is something that is often not present in America. And Lake Country aims to change that and is doing an incredible job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Great school. I had four children there and now three grandchildren. A very caring and nuturing environment. Children learn at their own pace and visit the world through the materials offered. Also offered in the learning program is The Land School, a real working farm where students live and work exposing them to the land.


Posted October 21, 2009

The land school (aka farm) as part of the LCS urban program, provided extraordinary learning opportunities for both of my daughters
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Lake Country nurtures a love of learning in every child. The committed teachers gracefully integrate kids into respectful relationship with community no matter what their age. My boys received an excellent education, grew life long friedships, and are confidence in both academic and social arenas thanks to an extraordinary range of opportunities while at Lake Country School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

It is a GREAT Montessori school with the best teachers and staff in the world
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

LCS has amazing teachers, pedagogy,and caring nurturing environment. All 4 of our children, as well as my husband and me as parents, were able to learn and grow academically and emotionally and be empowered to be a responsible, caring human beings and leaders. The Land School adds to the unique, hands on experience of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Teachers respect and foster students' curiosity, autonomy, self-direction and self-control, empathy and stewardship of the school, the local environment, and the world. Kids excel not only in learning but in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I really enjoyed my 3 years at Lake Country. It was a great experience that really helped me grow up into not only high school student I am now, but also the person I am. It's very based around community and leadership. It was an all around good experience that I wouldn't chance a bit. The only thing bad I have to say is the size, about 25 or so per grade is extremely small. Now if you like close comfort this is definitely the perfect school for you. I certainly enjoyed it and all the things they work for and are about.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 73%
Two or more races 17% 2%
Black 5% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3755 Pleasant Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55409
Phone: (612) 827-3707

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pilgrim Lutheran School
Minneapolis, MN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT