Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
965 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Minnehaha Academy Upper School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Myers was, by far, the best teacher I have ever had. She is passionate and understanding. She did an excellent job structuring lessons such that students who were having a difficult time understanding or following lessons could succeed. She also holds students accountable for their work and their actions.

Minnehaha Academy Upper School 4

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
Minnehaha Academy was a great school for me, academically and athletically. I took a few AP classes, which varied in difficulty. I think that, while all of the teachers at MA seemed to be passionate about the school and their teaching, sometimes their methods were a bit unorthodox. While I acknowledge that it is a Christian school, I don't feel that it is important to point out "God's work" in every class session. Mrs. Myers (English) is absolutely wonderful.


Minnehaha Academy Upper School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a student
I have been at Minnehaha Academy for 10 years (since 1st grade) and absolutely love it here. The academic rigor, Christian values and caring environment are emphasized at Minnehaha. Some of my favorite aspects of the school are the teachers, the challenging classes, CFE (cultural field experience) and the athletic program.

Minnehaha Academy Upper School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 14, 2016
- a student
AP and Honors classes give more homework than regular classes, but I think that you can still find time to participate in extracurriculars and have a social life no matter your course-load. Teachers at Minnehaha understand that many students take multiple APs/Honors, so they do the best to give the right amount of homework.

Minnehaha Academy Upper School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a student
Minnehaha offers 18 AP classes and many other honors/enriched classes that challenge many students. The culture at Minnehaha encourages people to be smart and challenge themselves in a very positive way.


Minnehaha Academy Upper School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a student
I think that everyone who walks through the doors of Minnehaha Academy is immediately welcomed into the community. Students are very caring toward one another and push each other to be the best version of themselves that they can be.

Minnehaha Academy Upper School 5

Posted March 20, 2015
- a parent
Minnehaha Academy is a fantastic grades PreK-12 school, combining excellence in high level college prep education with strong Christian values. My kids have absolutely thrived in this positive and friendly community. From the top-notch teachers to the awarded fine arts, cultural field experience program, athletics, and many other extra-curricular offerings, Minnehaha has something for every student to be involved and they can do it all. The facilities are beautiful along the Mississippi River in a nice Minneapolis neighborhood, and the upper school will soon be adding a new STEM facility to the campus. The school offers a lot of financial aid and scholarships, which is helpful for families of all income levels. We highly recommend Minnehaha Academy for anyone looking for a fantastic education that caters to the whole person. We are so happy with this school and love to share our experience in hopes that other students may also benefit from MA like our kids have.

Minnehaha Academy Upper School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
Minnehaha is a great school, community, and place of worship! I would recommend Minnehaha to all prospective families. Start your kids here as young as possible!


Minnehaha Academy Upper School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a community member
Minnehaha Academy is a phenomenal school on all levels. They are excellent in academics, arts, and athletics. Most of my lifelong friends are not from college, but from my time at Minnehaha. I'd highly recommend Minnehaha to anyone!

Minnehaha Academy Upper School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
Minnehaha is an awesome school! The academics and teachers are great. The sports and coaches are great! The arts program and facilities are super. I'd recommend this inviting Christian school to anyone! Awesome. Awesome. Awesome.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Minnehaha Academy Upper School
3100 West River Parkway, Minneapolis, MN  55406
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (612) 729-8321
Last modified Minnehaha Academy Upper School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top