Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
965 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Minnehaha Academy Upper School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a student
I have been at Minnehaha Academy for 10 years (since 1st grade) and absolutely love it here. The academic rigor, Christian values and caring environment are emphasized at Minnehaha. Some of my favorite aspects of the school are the teachers, the challenging classes, CFE (cultural field experience) and the athletic program.

Minnehaha Academy Upper School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 14, 2016
- a student
AP and Honors classes give more homework than regular classes, but I think that you can still find time to participate in extracurriculars and have a social life no matter your course-load. Teachers at Minnehaha understand that many students take multiple APs/Honors, so they do the best to give the right amount of homework.


Minnehaha Academy Upper School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a student
Minnehaha offers 18 AP classes and many other honors/enriched classes that challenge many students. The culture at Minnehaha encourages people to be smart and challenge themselves in a very positive way.

Minnehaha Academy Upper School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 14, 2016
- a student
I think that everyone who walks through the doors of Minnehaha Academy is immediately welcomed into the community. Students are very caring toward one another and push each other to be the best version of themselves that they can be.

Minnehaha Academy Upper School 5

Posted March 20, 2015
- a parent
Minnehaha Academy is a fantastic grades PreK-12 school, combining excellence in high level college prep education with strong Christian values. My kids have absolutely thrived in this positive and friendly community. From the top-notch teachers to the awarded fine arts, cultural field experience program, athletics, and many other extra-curricular offerings, Minnehaha has something for every student to be involved and they can do it all. The facilities are beautiful along the Mississippi River in a nice Minneapolis neighborhood, and the upper school will soon be adding a new STEM facility to the campus. The school offers a lot of financial aid and scholarships, which is helpful for families of all income levels. We highly recommend Minnehaha Academy for anyone looking for a fantastic education that caters to the whole person. We are so happy with this school and love to share our experience in hopes that other students may also benefit from MA like our kids have.


Minnehaha Academy Upper School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
Minnehaha is a great school, community, and place of worship! I would recommend Minnehaha to all prospective families. Start your kids here as young as possible!

Minnehaha Academy Upper School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a community member
Minnehaha Academy is a phenomenal school on all levels. They are excellent in academics, arts, and athletics. Most of my lifelong friends are not from college, but from my time at Minnehaha. I'd highly recommend Minnehaha to anyone!

Minnehaha Academy Upper School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
Minnehaha is an awesome school! The academics and teachers are great. The sports and coaches are great! The arts program and facilities are super. I'd recommend this inviting Christian school to anyone! Awesome. Awesome. Awesome.


Minnehaha Academy Upper School 5

Posted April 05, 2013
- a parent
Minnehaha Academy has been an amazing place for our kids to grow and excel. The high school is small enough for the kids to know just about everyone, yet big enough to offer everything from football to a debate team. What is unique is the desire of these students to do well in everything - positive pressure to have great grades and perform well in whatever activity they choose. And with a smaller school, kids aren't forced to choose between band and theater and hockey. They can do it all. My kids have made terrific, solid friends and have close relationship with their teachers as well. The senior capstone class is amazing for these young adults to express, explore and solidify their faith. And the cultural field experience allows the entire high school to spend a week in a new cultural environment, learning about and serving others. We are very satisfied with not only the education our children are receiving, but all the 'extras' that are helping them become adults who want to do their best and serve others.

Minnehaha Academy Upper School 4

Posted October 15, 2011
- a student
I currently go to Minnehaha Academy. I highly recommend Minnehaha Academy. Teacher - Student relations are better than any that I know of. The teachers will bend over backwards to help you out in any area. Students are generally accepting and if you put yourself out there at least a little bit, you'll find someone to hang out with. The music and art departments are absolutely amazing, and I hardly hear complaints about bad coaching in sports. There are a few downsides to this school, which are just that the school is very Christian focused and that there is a lack of diversity. The religious side could bring a student to the point of feeling uncomfortable in class judging by how much we pray or bring religion into our day to day lives, but in no way is the religion forced upon their students. The teachers and/or classes are just very set in their beliefs and don't leave much room for personal opinion. Overall, this is a very good school to send a kid to. Financial aid is very generous and helps a lot. The Christian values of the school bring a very welcoming aspect to the school, wich is very valuable in a teen's life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Minnehaha Academy Upper School
3100 West River Parkway, Minneapolis, MN  55406
(612) 729-8321
Last modified Minnehaha Academy Upper School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Minnehaha Academy Upper School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top