Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
197 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bloomington Lutheran School 5

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
We love this school. The teachers really care about our kids, and we feel safe and welcome here. Our students' test scores have always been very high. The tuition is much lower than other private schools in the area. We highly recommend it to other families who want to feel more involved in their kids' educational experience.

Bloomington Lutheran School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
There are so many good teachers, that I can't single out any one as better than the others. Mr. Schmidt has been the principal for many years, and he is highly respected by the families at the school. His assistant, Mrs. Dietsche, works very hard to keep parents informed. We owe her many thanks for her help over the years.


Bloomington Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
While some teachers are more laid-back than others in their personal style, they are all effective in their teaching. We have enjoyed the different personalities in each teacher, because the love for their job shines whether they are new or have been doing it for 40 years. They aren't here because of tenure, or high salaries, but because they love what they do. It is so refreshing to find people who love their jobs.

Bloomington Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
My kids have always had some homework, but the 10 minute-rule seemed to prevail. For those who are not familiar with this, it's about 10 minutes x the grade level. (1st grade = 10 minutes, 2nd grade=20 minutes, etc.) While the homework level will vary, depending on your child's ability, the teachers are receptive to working with your family if you have concerns in this area.

Bloomington Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
Daily lessons are given from the bible, with a focus on helping others, being honest, being responsible, and showing love and kindness to all people. It is just part of the "culture" of this school.


Bloomington Lutheran School 5

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
After a VERY disappointing experience in Eden Prairie public schools, my child thrived at BLS! The teacher was very attentive to my son's needs and provided much more challenging work for my gifted student. The public school system had written him off as ADHD and high-maintenance because he asked many more questions than the other students. EP gave him remedial work because that was the level his classmates were at in the public school classroom. The classes were so large in EP that the teacher had to spend all her time dealing with the underachieving students (and there were many.) The teacher at BLS was very in tune with my child's needs and was patient enough to really work with him so that his intelligence could shine through. She was truly a God-send and worked hard to make sure the environment was set up for his success. We HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone who has had enough of the overflowing/herd mentality of the public school system. The access to the teachers, quality teaching tools, affordable tuition, and Christ-centered lessons made all the difference and we are SO GRATEFUL for Bloomington Lutheran School. I just wish we had placed him here sooner.

Bloomington Lutheran School 5

Posted August 04, 2010
- a parent
Excellent teachers, principal and support staff make this school great! Students receive an outstanding education and go on to achieve at the top of their high school classes. This school is a gem!

Bloomington Lutheran School 4

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
We love this school! Our two children (kindergarten and 3rd grade) love it as well. The students and teachers do well with the curriculum and textbooks chosen and are learning the same information as their public school counterparts. (Though without all of the behavior and ESL distractions, they are able to cover it more in depth and learn material quicker.) The school has a very personal touch and feels much like small town community nicely located in a large suburb. We live in Eagan and the school bus is able to pick the girls up in the morning and get them all the way over there. The staff really goes above and beyond to cooperate with parents and families for a positive outcome! I would highly recommend this school to anyone interested!


Bloomington Lutheran School 5

Posted June 09, 2008
- a parent
Bloomington Lutheran School is a wonderful Christian School with a strong academic focus and extracurricular activites for everyone. The teachers are high caliber and the students and parents are outstanding.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bloomington Lutheran School
10600 Bloomington Ferry Road, Minneapolis, MN  55438
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (952) 941-9047
Last modified Bloomington Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top