Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pratt Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 204 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

Pratt is dedicated to the need of their children. The staff goes above and beyond to make student's successful!


Posted September 10, 2013

Best Social Worker Ever!!!! The staff really cares about the students! I love what Pratt does!


Posted September 10, 2013

Pratt community school is trusted throughout a very diverse community. Pratt care's about the community, families, student's and every aspect that affects their students success.


Posted March 27, 2012

My son attended Pratt from kindergarten through fifth grade. During those years, the school changed from a tiny, very affluent school to a still small, but larger, much more diverse school. This is the best thing that could have happened for my son and the other privileged students at Pratt. He gained so much understanding, compassion and poise from learning with kids from such different backgrounds, and being part of such a close-knit community. Academically, he was able to skip to advanced seventh grade math when he started middle school this year, and placed into the g&t reading and Arabic program as well. I always appreciated how much challenge his excellent teachers were able to provide for my son and the other students who were ahead of the curve. Homework was never an issue-he spent his time in school learning and his time after school playing, which is what is best for elementary age students. I teach AP history at a high school in the suburbs that was named one of the top schools in the nation by Newsweek. I KNOW that my son got a great education at Pratt. He will be well prepared for AP classes in high school. More importantly, he is happy, confident, & socially savvy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

Pratt School has been wonderful for our family. I have two kids in this school now and one who will start in a year. The teachers are top notch, the parents are active and strong, and the student body is richly diverse. Many neighborhood families choose this school and reap the benefits of living in a community lucky enough to have one of the smallest schools in the district. Others choose to drive their kids here to have a small school, diverse educational experience. One of the best schools in MPS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

We have one graduate of Pratt and one child still there. Both attended since kindergarten. The current principal is wonderful. She has attracted, and kept, a wonderful group of teachers. Test scores are very good, when measured against students of similar backgrounds. Our children have been afforded a great academic, cultural, and arts education. Our first child, who has moved on to middle school, tested a grade level ahead in math and into advanced writing in large part because of the instruction and confidence building at Pratt. Our second child is also doing very well. Pratt is a wonderful place where children of all backgrounds learn, play and nurture each other. Our children have received a wonderful multifaceted education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

Clearly the two recent reviews were not from very recent experiences. The school certainly has its share of FRL and ELL, but we love being part of a diverse school. And if we must judge a school on test results my kids are a testament to excellent instruction as they both (current 2nd and 4th) exceed the standards by a huge margin. Every teacher my kids have had has been extremely dedicated, and the principal is a fabulous leader. I can't say enough good things about this school. My kids are getting a high quality education in a school of only 200 students, and at the same time they are learning that not everyone in this world comes from the same culture as they do. Pratt school is a wonderful, nurturing environment in the center of a community that strongly supports it. The classes that have historically had trouble in this school have a direct correlation with the years that MPS has threatened to close it due to it's small size. Those threats resulted in some white flight. Luckily the strong dedicated parents and neighborhood community prevailed and we are well past that threat as the school continues to grow and kids thrive. I highly recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

REALLY enjoyed walking to school & connecting with very caring neighbors. Unfortunately, we transferred out in 4th with several neighbors which was gut wrenching & sad! Our 2nd/3rd math was never on level with our MPS peers. Those years are fundamental for math facts as foundation (& reading). Our homework was largely drawing "zinglots" - completing animals from partially provided line drawings. 1/2+ of our daughter's class was not at state standard in math or reading (WPM) and we saw virtually no quantitative measures mid year or specialist intervention. Behavior also needed much improvement! So much that we could identify a Pratt kid. Our daughter is again straight As as she was before and after Pratt. She's also gifted & talented. But it was a long and tough haul emotionally & financially with hard work & determination :) on her part (with SAP math specialist & Dad) to dig her out of partially proficient status The $ cost to us was real in terms of both summer tutors and eventually, alternative private school for middle school years to maintain her confidence. Every transfer should get an exit interview. We never considered Pratt for our 2nd who is highly gifted
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

Test scores aren't everything. But initially Pratt rivaled Lk Harriet & to date hasn't recovered in scores or GS rating. The 2011 MCAs are welcome sign reaching close to state ave. Unfortunately, Pratt was frought with a passive aggressive principal/vice for many years & thrown into a whirlwind of uncertainty/risk with only the well connected neighborhood to advocate for it. This is its strength & continues to be palpable with strong sense of community. For us the widely variable stats that started to manifest a few years after Pratt opened, as well as comparatively crippled resources,extracurricular and enrichment, had us go right outside the neighborhood to school. There was a very tough period with behavior that the school found itself due to past admin. To make ours sit through that without gauruntee of their education, was not acceptable & ultimately was unfair. Our Pratt experience in 2nd and 3rd put us way behind, & required several hard years getting up to speed as foundation for accelerating math concepts. Hopefully the community will continue pull it through as is its strength. Unfortunately, the cost of inconsistency to our family is much too high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

We moved our son from the Twin Cities German Immersion School to Pratt and we couldn't be happier with our decision. Our son is thriving because he has experienced teachers who know how to challenge him and a warm and loving environment which is largely due to the amazing leadership of the principal Anne Wade and her fantastic staff and teachers who treat children positively by rewarding them for their hard work not with negative consequences under the guise of "Responsive Classroom."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

We have a first grader at Pratt and our daughter is learning very well, enjoying the learning, and feels VERY much a part of the Pratt community. This is her school and she is truly part of something special at Pratt. Her teachers have all been very skilled and love all their students. The rest of the staff is responsive and every single person know the kids and watch out for them; we're very happy with our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2010

I am a Pratt alumni and now attend Sanford Middle School. When I started there, I was already over prepared and have made it onto the A honor role every quarter. I think that what led to my success in middle school has been my time at Pratt. All the teachers were caring and challenged my greatly. I would recommend Pratt as a number 1 choice to any parent with an elementary school age child.


Posted June 16, 2009

I am a parent who has a child in first grade and in our observation, Pratt teachers are extremely caring and involved with the kids. Our child comes home happy and excited about things he learns on any given day. Staff appears to know every single kid by name and general environment at the school is very warm and happy. This is a gem of a school which caters to kids from different socio-economic background and diverse racial profiles. Test scores are a really poor way of deciding on the school if you don't pay attention to the kids being served and how (in many cases dramatically) they may improve over the time spent with excellent, well-qualified and caring teachers at this school. I strongly encourage prospective parents to pay a visit. Pratt is located in one of the nicest neighborhoods in the city and gets great support from it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

I hardly ever look at these sites, so kind of funny I saw the latest 2 reviews. I have an alum of Pratt. I think both Sept 23 and one immediately after are true. Prospect Park in general has a great community feeling and that IS reflected in its jewel -Pratt. I think after 8 years or so of running things, though, there can be a good hard look at what works and what doesn't. Alls I can say is after enrolling in another school, my daughter really suffered setback from all the lack of things mentioned in Sept. 23. The neighborhood component IS great, but spartan resources/comaprable programs and behavior issues does leave some to be desired. I don't think Pratt knows how rich it could be! I do agree, past prinicpal was damaging to neighborhood and school, and new one pulled in. Everyone wants the best for Pratt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

The post from Sept. 23, 2008 seems curious given that Pratt has a new principal this year. The principal has shown great leadership in the short time she has been in place. I am a parent of a first grader. From my perspective, this year is going very well. We have a great new art teacher, and our music program, which is being provided by an artist-in-residence, is fabulous. My child has a science educator coming to her classroom every week. The teaching staff is strong at all grade levels. Pratt remains a small school with a great community feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

My son came as a first grader and is now in fifth. Our daughter is in second. The kids know each other across grade levels and adults (many parents in the school at drop-off and pick-up, as well as staff) know the kids' names, even ones who are not in class with yours. Encouragement and 'be nice' reminders give an overall sense of caring watchfulness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

It's an outstanding school -- our daughter has been very, very happy there and its academic credentials are some of the best in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

Pratt school is a wonderful, close-knit neighborhood school. Our 2 kids have extremely caring and professional teachers and specialists (music, art, gym, etc.). I appreciate how the teachers challenge my kids, tailoring work to meet their level of academic achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

Pratt is a great elementary school with a highly involved community, dedicated staff, and rigorous academic standards. And their afterschool program is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

If you are looking for a Minneapolis Public School where your child will get individual attention and won't be lost in a crowd this is the school for you. Pratt's small student body means smaller class sizes and a very involved staff and faculty. I'm amazed when I bring my kindergartner to school and all the staff and teachers we meet in the hall greet her individually by name. Pratt has a wonderful community feel to it, and you can't beat the high academic test scores - higher than nearly every other MPS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2010.

21 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

23 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2010.

18 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2012.

19 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
10%
Science

The state average for Science was 46% in 2011.

23 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
0%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students52%
Femalen/a
Male40%
Black53%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students79%
Female92%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students88%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female64%
Male41%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities52%
English language learners20%
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant50%

Reading

All Students50%
Femalen/a
Male39%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students18%
Female15%
Male20%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities18%
English language learners6%
Proficient in English36%
Not migrant18%

Reading

All Students9%
Femalen/a
Male7%
Black10%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities9%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English17%
Not migrant9%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female35%
Male50%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English43%
Not migrant40%

Reading

All Students62%
Female72%
Malen/a
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant62%

Science

All Students35%
Female40%
Malen/a
Black0%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English48%
Not migrant35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 9%
White 25% 73%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 2%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Annie Wade
Fax number
  • (612) 668-1110

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

66 Malcom Ave SE
Minneapolis, MN 55414
Website: Click here
Phone: (612) 668-1122

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ronald Mcdonald House
Minneapolis, MN


Seward Elementary School
Minneapolis, MN


Mps Metro Ha
Minneapolis, MN



Anishinabe Academy
Minneapolis, MN


Mps D/Hh
Minneapolis, MN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT