Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Minneapolis, MN
Students enrolled: 221

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Loveworks Academy For Arts 1

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
This either needs a new director or to be closed. Their performance is horrible and what's worse, it doesn't get any better. Since 2007 they 'peaked' at doing better than 7.0% of the schools in 2011. That is not a typo. In the 2 years following that they finished better than...get this... .1% 'better' in 2012 and .2 better in 2013. 2 tenths of 1 percent folks. Yep...Love really Works in this case doesn't it? So, in the last 7 years they have done no better the BOTTOM 7% of ALL the schools in MN and they haven't changed the leadership. We should all have a job like that where we do the worst job imaginable and not only get to keep our jobs but also get raises off tax-payer funds. This school lacks so bad they don't even teach computers or have a playground! They have recess in the parking lot. Wires hang from the ceiling and the janitor doesn't bother to clean. It's a disgrace to Minnesota.

Loveworks Academy For Arts 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
Such a big improvement over W.I.S.E. Charter school, my son is doing so much better and I attribute it to the teachers/parent involvement.


Loveworks Academy For Arts 1

Posted December 04, 2013
- a parent
The worst school i have come to know. Kids are divided in two classes the smart ones and know someone in the management and those that are deemed not smart and have no one in management. Some of the teachers care so much but 90% of the others don't but act like they do. Please look for another school. Close this school and take these kids where education is taught.

Loveworks Academy For Arts 3

Posted September 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Loveworks Academy For Arts 5

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Loveworks Academy For Arts 5

Posted December 04, 2008
- a parent
Wow! Not too long ago parents in Maple Grove did not want thier children to attend school with the students of color, when Osseo was closing some schools. There are not alot of people of color in Minnesota, my daughter was the only child of color in her class and in 1st grade I had to deal with children telling her she is too 'Black' to play with them. So I am all for my child seeing someone who looks like her. We go through a lot that we just deal with because if not, we are just complaining... The name says it Love, which is being taught to the kids meaning it has no color... Teachers, and all other workers at the school please keep up the good work.

Loveworks Academy For Arts 5

Posted October 30, 2008
- a parent
This school has had its challenges just like other schools just starting out. However, one thing has remained constant and that is its positive school culture that promotes learning, loving and living to be one's best ability. When people complain that there is not enough diversity they are judging that on the color of the children....The reality is that this school is very diverse if you define diversity in other ways; economically, socially, multi-racially, religiously, educationally, ethnically, linguistically etc. Also look at things like abilities, age of parents, single/marital status, city of residence... All of these things contribute to make up a very diverse LoveWorks family of staff, students and families that contribute to a city school with a small town feel. It is this culture and the culture of learning that sets it apart and will continue to propel its founding vision as a school of excellence.

Loveworks Academy For Arts 1

Posted September 25, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Loveworks Academy For Arts 1

Posted September 16, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Loveworks Academy For Arts 3

Posted September 09, 2008
- a community member
This school is not a school that's mainly for students of color. It's a school for everyone of every background to go. However, the population is mostly students of color because this school focuses on excellance and college prep for students of color, unlike many pubic schools that don't care wether or not their students do well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Loveworks Academy For Arts
2225 Zenith Ave North, Minneapolis, MN  55422
(763) 522-6830
Last modified Loveworks Academy For Arts is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Loveworks Academy For Arts Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top