Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

434 students|Yinghua Academy
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Yinghua Academy
Grateful to: Student

Posted April 08, 2016
- a community member
I jus' wanna' say thanks to ma' homie', man. We rocks dis' place! Yo, Mammas!

Yinghua Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2016
- a community member
Yinghua Academy is an amazing school! Ignore all the other bad reviews, these kids are geniuses! Man, they're doin' calculus in 5th grade! What a school, what a school, dude! My itty-bitty baby is growin' up, yo! Go Yinghua Dragons!


Yinghua Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
Dishonesty starts from the top and works it's way the rest of the staff and students.

Yinghua Academy 2

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
Do not send your boys here!! We did for two years and pulled him due the staff's inability to deal with any child who has an energy level that is above docile. Prepare your children for long periods of time with their arms folded on top of their desks and short periods of time for lunch and recess. The administration pushes fund raising and test scores. The "dean of students", who has no degree relating to education, is a intimidator who does not take bullying seriously, after another boy sent my son to the doctor after being hit in the groin with a rock. This school cares nothing of its underpaid teachers, with all the best ones leaving to other chinese immersion schools in the west metro. If academics are your only concern raising a child then absolutely this is the school for you. The math and chinese are as good as you can get, but in my opinion not worth it.

Yinghua Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at this school are excellent with only a few exceptions. I would like to see efforts to retain them enacted by our administration.


Yinghua Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
Well, yes. There is a little too much. I understand our kids need to practice to be excellent, and it is clearly working. But our teachers often seem stressed. I'd like recess to be sacred. Research shows that it helps kids focus. They shouldn't be kept in for homework.

Yinghua Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
With the amount of homework and testing at the school, is there any alternative? However the proof is in the pudding, this is an excellent school.

Yinghua Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
Generally yes. The school philosophy correctly teaches students to respect each other and be part of a community, and the teachers do teach this. However, the current administration focuses on respect for authority. I worry that fear-based management may be at play.


Yinghua Academy
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
I feel we could improve in this area. The original mission of the school definitely asks students to work together and respect others. Now that the expansion is complete, it is time to return to this issue and make it a priority.

Yinghua Academy 5

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
I'm giving our school 5 stars this year because of the amazing teachers. We are incredibly lucky to have a school like this in Northeast. Look at St. Anthony for comparable schools - they still aren't rated as well, and our kids are fluent in Mandarin. They can talk to graduate students. Also, the transition to the larger school building has been completed fully. It was a huge project, and there are ups and downs with any project like it. Really, it is a privilege to be able to suggest any kind of improvement to a school this wonderful. Teachers, administrators and staff deal with great responsibility and provide a wonderful, safe environment; better than anything I had growing up, and I went to private school. However, our school has the same problems that other excellent schools have, and that our overall culture in the US does. Some kids tease others to the point of harassment; teachers address the problem, kids learn to complain or retaliate because they might get in trouble if they do. The kids operate on such high standards that even disapproval can feel like punishment. We could benefit from materials that contain positive, age-appropriate and NON victim blaming consent messages, as well as anti-bullying messages. We can improve the culture of the school in the parent, teacher and student populations, if the administration can be supportive. I would like to see the administration support future efforts to get anti-bulling speakers and materials into the school. I would also like to see more parents volunteering and helping out at school. Parents, remember, we have a responsibility to contribute and not just financially. If we engage with and talk to the kids, they will treat each other more humanely. We can make a difference.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yinghua Academy
1616 Buchanan Street N.E. , Minneapolis, MN  55413
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (612) 788-9095
Last modified Yinghua Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top