Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-9
Public charter
Minneapolis, MN
Students enrolled: 860
Before care: No
After care: No

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hiawatha Leadership Academy 5

Posted December 02, 2013
- a teacher
I have great respect for all of the teachers and leaders who work at this school. They walk the talk and make it all about the kids success. Teachers believe in making learning fun. Parents are incredibly involved and amazing to work with. They love the school and love that their children are being prepared for college.

Hiawatha Leadership Academy 5

Posted September 21, 2011
- a teacher
Executive leadership is ruthless about student achievement. It's all about the results at Hiawatha. It's a TFA mecca if you like that sort of thing. I lost my job because I didn't want to work the long hours. The principal runs the place like a business. I can't complain though. School is getting the results and the kids are very happy here.


Hiawatha Leadership Academy 5

Posted May 13, 2011
- a teacher
Fantastic school to work for. The school's leadership has a compelling vision. I feel like a true professional here. From great professional development to the generous performance pay, I'm proud to be a part of Hiawatha. This is not a place to expect a paycheck or be entitled. It's all about the kids here.

Hiawatha Leadership Academy 5

Posted March 24, 2011
- a teacher
School's leadership is the best I've ever worked for. This place is really about the kids and the school's principal Mr. Shannon is relentless about making sure the right staff stay and is quick to get rid of the staff that need to go!

Hiawatha Leadership Academy 5

Posted January 18, 2011
- a parent
Fantastic Teachers and School Leader. Discipline i strict but my child is learning a ton and loves his school. Keep us focused on the path to college Hiawatha!


Hiawatha Leadership Academy 0
no rating

Posted April 17, 2010
- a community member
Hiawatha is the most promising school in all of Minneapolis. Excellent school leadership that will not accept mediocrity or tolerate academic failure. The staff works extremely hard and getting the job done

Hiawatha Leadership Academy 5

Posted April 15, 2010
- a teacher
I've taught in many poorly run schools. This school is amazing! Strict discipline, high expectations and a principal and staff that is passionate about the achievement gap! Hoot Hoot. HLA!

Hiawatha Leadership Academy 2

Posted March 26, 2010
- a community member
days too long - children up and gone for 12 hours. school starts 745 ends 415. pick up starts 6am kids home latest 6pm most of time buses run late. children come home exhausted woren out from long day. school is ran military style. less than 15% of the student body is english speaking. its a school for parents who have more imporant things to tend to other than their children or parents who just don't want their kids at home or need someone else to discipline their child.


Hiawatha Leadership Academy 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
Best elementary school in Minneapolis. My son has done wonders here!

Hiawatha Leadership Academy 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
Fabulous Academy. Hard working staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hiawatha Leadership Academy
3810 East 56th St, Minneapolis, MN  55417
(612) 987-5688
Last modified Hiawatha Leadership Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hiawatha Leadership Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top