Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hopkins North Junior High School

Public | 7-9 | 918 students

We live the Hopkins ideal of Excellence: Our School, Our Students, Every Day.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2014

I would love to say that Hopkins North Junior High is amazing I consider it my home away from home! I have gotten so close with my teachers and fellow classmates! I love the fact that you can be who you choose to be, as well as the curriculum is amazing taking anatomy and physiology in Junior High and other challenging courses was a exhilarating rush that I will never forget! But, other then all of the Spectacular things I have to say about this school I do have to say that there are some down sides of this school, like any other schools, there is a decent amount of bullying (that is starting to be solved) as well as a lot of Students who take drugs go to Hopkins schools in general so you/ your child will be surrounded by people on drugs, but that doesn't mean that there aren't good people who go to this school! I hope this helped and i hope to see you/ Your child at Hopkins North Junior High School next fall.


Posted October 28, 2013

This school is bad you get no gym and it is also poopy. Most teachers are mean
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

Hello. I am currently enrolled at HHS (Hopkins High School), having gladly graduated from North. If anybody is reading this that is about to get forced into or go to North, my only recommendation is switch to West, purely based off my own observations and those of veterans of both schools. You see, North is run by administrators that mean well, but ultimately fall through in almost every regard. The review of "a student of 9th grade" should not even be read unless you have a degree in crypto linguistics and came from North, as it is extremely objective (while Misters B and B were some of the best teachers I ever had, there were certainly more than just them) and downright slanderous (Mr. K was actually one of the sweetest guys i knew at North if you to the time to talk to him, not just run from him). The teachers averaged each other out, with some amazing and others, well, not. The only reason I rate this school so poorly is because of the other students. Students such as two out of three who posted a review previous to me. The students here are not all elitist and not all cliquey, but rather all arrogant, intolerable, ignorant, and, for lack of a better term, pure ratchet divas.


Posted January 29, 2013

I'm in 7th grade this year, and I believe this school is amazing. The FLEX classes provide good advanced rigor for those to be challenged, and *most* of the teachers are very well trained, respectful, and teach us a lot. For public education, this provides the best deal, especially with technology being introduced into the curriculum (I.e activboards, iPads) which I think makes school easier for us kids. I would definitely reccomond it, and I'll tell you, your taxes are going to some good stuff.


Posted January 10, 2012

i'm a student of 9th grade i been here since 7th and the old principal was really rude, the new one is better but Mr Kusch has a few anger problems, for some students this may be hard for them or some don't care either way this school is to strict every year there's more fights more bullying and the teachers don't even care about it, sometimes the subsitute teachers aren't any better. if u want to bring u kids to this school than go ahead there's only 2 great teachers in this school Mr. Beckman and Mr. Beal, and one last thing pretty much everyone in this school are snobby rich talking people who don;t care about anyone but themselves that's also including the parents who come here. thank you for reading and have a good day


Posted June 26, 2011

The principal here is horrible. She does not care about the students or her staff. She does not look at the individual student and is rude and impossible to deal with. Thank goodness she's retiring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

As a parent it is exciting to see the new course offerings for next fall (2011-12 school year) the rigor of the classes, and the quality of the teachers are amazing. Couldn't ask for a better education for my student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

Great School, I have a 7th grader and all I have to do is go to the infinity campus and I will know how my kid is doing in school. Way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I am a parent who has an 8th grader at North Junior High, a junior at Hopkins High School, and a 6th grader going to North Junior High next year. Coming from a private elementary school made my husband and I a little nervous. Since Hopkins ISD has such a good reputation, we chose to go public for Jr/Sr High. Our kids are thriving thanks to the staff and friends they've made. Any place you go will have +/- but you get what you give, and North has great opportunities to volunteer as does the high school. I can email a teacher at anytime and will hear back immediately, AND they know who my children are! This is not always something that will happen in a large class, but it does here! My kids say they like the diversity the most and that the teachers are 'approachable'. Thanks for reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2005

very good academic program.good sport program. very involved parents. good principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2004

I'm not a parent but I'm a student. I think this is a really great school there are cliques but there good cliques not many of the student get bad grades here. I think its a really great school there not many fights maybe once ever month or two but nothing too bad.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2010.

280 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2012.

275 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2010.

265 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

256 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 44% in 2011.

287 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
Black51%
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Economically non-disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities79%
English language learners27%
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students78%
Female76%
Male80%
Black57%
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Economically non-disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learners18%
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 44% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female50%
Male48%
Black20%
Asian46%
Hispanic21%
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Economically non-disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities52%
English language learners4%
Proficient in English53%
Non-migrant49%

Reading

All Students61%
Female64%
Male59%
Black36%
Asian54%
Hispanic29%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Economically non-disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities64%
English language learners20%
Proficient in English64%
Non-migrant61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female53%
Male57%
Black20%
Asian65%
Hispanic22%
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Economically non-disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities19%
Students without disabilities58%
English language learners19%
Proficient in English58%
Non-migrant55%

Reading

All Students54%
Female56%
Male52%
Black34%
Asian41%
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Economically non-disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities57%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English59%
Non-migrant55%

Science

All Students34%
Female32%
Male36%
Black13%
Asian26%
Hispanic5%
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Economically non-disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities37%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English36%
Non-migrant34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Writing

All Students93%
Female92%
Male93%
Black86%
Asian88%
Hispanic88%
Native Americann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Economically non-disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities96%
English language learners58%
Proficient in English94%
Non-migrant93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II Graduation-Required Assessments for Diploma (MCA-II/GRAD) to test students in grade 9 in writing and 11 in math. The MCA-II/GRAD is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. Students must pass the MCA-II/GRAD in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 73%
Black 24% 9%
Hispanic 8% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Dance club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Hmong
  • Other
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
School Leader's name
  • Becky Melville, MA
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (952) 988-4869

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Hmong
  • Other
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Fencing
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Fencing
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • ALM Palooza
  • Anime club
  • Chess club
  • Comic Book Making
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Dungeons and Dragons
  • Model UN
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
More from this school
  • With a student population of almost 900 students, we deliver a highly personalized program by placing students on one of two grade-level teams, which results in every student having both a Homebase Advisor and a shared team of teachers.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Hopkins High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10700 Cedar Lake Rd
Minnetonka, MN 55305
Website: Click here
Phone: (952) 988-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Whole Learning School
St. Louis Park, MN


Omegon
Minnetonka, MN



Delta Place
Hopkins, MN


St. Louis Park Middle School
St. Louis Park, MN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT