Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Minnetonka, MN
Students enrolled: 531
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gatewood Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
Gatewood is a great school from our observation. Our child's kindergarten teacher is excellent and is showing to be very effective.

Gatewood Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
Gatewood is excellent! Great education, great staff and the diverse community in the school is a representation of the real world that we live in.


Gatewood Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
Ms. Montgomery is a hands-down 5-star Principal. She deals with any misbehaviors in a direct and timely manner. This school, from my limited observations, enforces their "zero tolerance" for bullying. The teachers are amazing! Each teacher that my daughter has had are all very invested in her learning and are proactive in bringing any concerns to me as her parent. They all seem to know the kids in the school, even if they are not in their particular grade. It feels like the teachers / admin staff are like one big family. The only reason I gave the "Parent Involvement" a 3 rating is because I can view this from two angles... First, does Gatewood work to get parents involved? Then it would be a 5. Second, do I SEE a lot of parent involvement? That is where I give it a 3. While given many opportunities to be involved, it seems like parents are not choosing to get involved. I like the fact that Gatewood is considered an "International Peace Site." Their location is ideal because it's not on a busy roadway but rather tucked in among a beautifully landscaped area with safe play zones and positive security measures. Fabulous school!

Gatewood Elementary School 2

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
While my child has had good teachers while at Gatewood, the lack of leadership at the school leaves a lot to be desired. The rule seems to be talk the talk, but don't walk the walk. The actions by the school don't reflect the words being spoken. We are currently looking to move our child to a different school.

Gatewood Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
Gatewood is an amazing school with an amazing teaching staff! I wouldn't send my children anywhere else. The curriculum is rigorous, the technology is simply amazing, and the diverse learning environment is a microcosm of society and is exactly what all children need to live and work in our world in the future.


Gatewood Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
My children absolutely love Gatewood! It is an amazing place with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. We love the great curriculum as well as other learning opportunities such as orchestra, band, art, technology and on and on. We have a great PTO which makes many programs possible as well. The leadership is very effective and fair which is important at an elementary school. Thank you Gatewood for providing such a great experience for my family.

Gatewood Elementary School 5

Posted July 20, 2010
- a parent
My child has had an amazing experience at Gatewood. We are blessed to have found a school with highly qualified, caring teachers. We have been very impressed at the individualized attention each student gets, and the seamless integration of technology into everyday learning.

Gatewood Elementary School 2

Posted July 06, 2010
- a parent
The school depends on the parent volunteers to provide some of the primary learning objectives. Classroom size is out-of-control reaching beyond 30 and with a high percentage of ESL and SpecED in the classrooms making it even more difficult to manage the classroom. They have good intentions but the administration seems to be lacking leadership to support ALL areas of the academic level. Having had two children attend in previous years and witnessed the decline in support, I've decided to move my child to a nearby district that has much smaller class size and higher academic outcomes. I wish Gatewood all the best but must do what is best for my child.


Gatewood Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a community member
The staff at Gatewood is extraordinary. This group is highly experienced, well-trained, and always strives to motivate kids at every level. This is not a school that caters only to the gifted.

Gatewood Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2010
- a teacher
I enjoy Gatewood Elementary and find it a WONDERFUL place to educate children. We educate the child, as a whole person, rather as just a student. We have high expectations for all of our students. Gatewood will surely meet your needs as a caring, giving and high achieving school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gatewood Elementary School
14900 Gatewood Dr, Minnetonka, MN  55343
(952) 988-5250
Last modified Gatewood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gatewood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top