Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
373 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St John The Baptist School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
So far I haven't seen any evidence of these happening. If they got new leadership in the school I could see that someday happening

St John The Baptist School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
No because if one kid is picking on a kid or bullying them both students get into trouble


St John The Baptist School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
I don't think this school understand what those word mean. They only worry about themselves and don't care about the kids

St John The Baptist School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
They allow kids to lie, staff, and administration. They are not fair or honest and they hire parents for playground duty or other areas who treat kids horrible

St John The Baptist School 2

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Saint John the Baptist New Brighton- If you have a six plus figure income you will be just fine, if you don't -watch out! There are a select group of parents who seem to rule the school. To be on the school board you are privately asked, these positions are not just for anyone! The teachers are sub-par. Administration is new but about as effective as the old (so not) If you are a minority I would NOT advise looking at the school. They have a bullying program in place, it was even featured on the news-would be great if they actually followed it and did not allow bullying to take place! Those who bully have parents connected to administration or the school, the behavior is overlooked. They do not publish test scores so you really have no idea how the school ranks compared to others. Disappointed in staff and school overall.


St John The Baptist School 5

Posted February 24, 2012
- a parent
When I think of St. John's of New Brighton I think of excellence and a welcoming community. The principal, teachers and staff work together as a fantastic team, focusing on the achievement and success of our children along with emphasizing how to a good natured person. My children love their school and actually enjoy going to school here and I like the wonderful people that create this warm community. This is a happy place to be!

St John The Baptist School 5

Posted March 21, 2011
- a parent
Great School, great teachers, great students, highly recommend. I need to comment on the 3 star review = yes the rates keep climbing, but if you compare this to other schools, it is a bargain. The teachers have had a pay freeze a few times, in an attempt to keep the tuition low. Certainly some people cannot afford to pay for private school (the whole reason for the 3 star review, it sounds like) but for those that can, this is a wonderful place for your child(ren). The administration is doing a good job finding the right compromise between cost, programs, teachers, class size, etc. It really is a great school; the kids love it, us parents love it.

St John The Baptist School 5

Posted March 03, 2011
- a parent
St. John the Baptist is a wonderful school. We couldn't be happier with the education our children receive. SJB educates the whole child - faith, academics and values. The class sizes are small, teachers and administrators all have an active role in educating our children. Tuition is competitive and worth every penny.


St John The Baptist School
no rating

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
wonderful school, wonderful staff, school administers are very sensitive to rising tuition costs and do a great job working within a budget. We have our third child enrolled now, with our two older ones attending high school with 4.0 GPA's. St. John's is worth every penny!

St John The Baptist School 3

Posted July 02, 2007
- a community member
A school is only as good as its leadership. The families and teaching staff are wonderful here. They take care of the children and help mold them into wonderful people. Their mission is Jesus Others and Yourself, but the school administration does not give to others...they only take care of themselves. Children and familes get left behind. Tuition kepts climbing. The administration doesn't care about your child or your family...they only want your money.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St John The Baptist School
845 2nd Avenue Northwest, New Brighton, MN  55112
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (651) 633-1522
Last modified St John The Baptist School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top