Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Castle Elementary School 1

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
I went to this school as a child (many moons ago) and never had a problem at all - loved it, actually. My two daughters have been to this school now for a couple of years and this was DEFINITELY our last year here. We've done all that we can to hang in there for the remainder of this school year - and, it's been painful to say the least. Castle has been through 3 principals in the past 4 years for a reason! The children are insane - behavior issues left and right. And, the teachers are ill equipped to deal with it, to say the least. Instead of focusing on creating engaging learning opportunities, they are completely focused on "correcting" the poor behavior (which is NEVER solved because they aren't dealing with it properly in the first place, not to mention that the behavior stems from home issues that schools just cannot solve). This is a VERY POOR ENVIRONMENT that is NOT CONDUCIVE to GOOD EDUCATION. We will be leaving after this year due to the terrible learning environment, poorly trained teachers (there are a few great ones, but NOT representative of the group, for sure), negative attitudes of the adults "in charge", and RIDICULOUS behavior of the children.

Castle Elementary School 2

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
This is in response to the last post on 5/11/14 - it was posted under Castle, but really goes into a lot of ISD 622. Which much is true, parts of it are communities that don't care about education. But, Castle is rated the lowest of the district, not "the best of the bunch". There are better schools in 622 - ones with higher rating. If you look at the ratings of Elem. schools -all the "4" are in neighboring areas. North High is not the only high school in the district, there is another, Tartan, in Oakdale. As for the past reviews being phony or written by school officials- there are teachers that care in every school, there are good, kind, loving teachers in struggling schools.


Castle Elementary School 1

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
Castle is fair at best. This entire school district (622) which consists of the three burbs of Oakdale, Maplewood, and N.St. Paul is comprised of old, run down schools, poorly paid teachers, and unmotivated students who come from low income households. There are some good teachers yes, but they are fighting a tough battle. This area is becoming more run down every year. The local government here is apathetic too. With a heavily aging population, voters frequently vote "no" on tax increases for schools. So it only gets worse. Pay no attention to the stellar reviews that other so called parents wrote. Those sound phony. I am telling you the truth about this entire district 622. Come over and look at the one and only high school - North High. Drive by it. That should tell you all you need to know. Kids have to walk outside in all weather to get to added classrooms! No protection at all. This relic should have been replaced ages ago! Look at this site's test score results. The glowing parent reviews must be written by city and school officials. Castle Elem. may be the "best" of the bunch, but that's not saying much. If you live here, you'll have to use the middle and HS too. Bad News.

Castle Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2014
- a parent
Castle Elementary School, has lots of opportunity's for children to take more advanced classes. While making all students feel important.

Castle Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
Castle Elementary is filled with creative and caring teachers and staff. My child's class has been collecting positive compliments all school year. Those "class" compliments makes her very proud!


Castle Elementary School 4

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
We are so fortunate to be able to send our children to Castle Elementary in Oakdale, MN. Every time I walk in the doors, I marvel at positive buzz that fills the halls. It is abundantly clear that every single person working there cares so much about what they are doing. I'm glad that my kids get to walk through those doors every day knowing that they will be safe, well-cared for, and that the highest expectations are upon them. The teachers our kids have had have exceeded all of our expectations. The four star rating is only because there is always room for improvement; and there is no group more committed to making those improvements than the staff and PTO of Castle Elementary. As a parent, I feel like Castle does a good job of providing many opportunities for my involvement.

Castle Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
Castle is an awesome community of students, educators and parents working together to make the best school possible! We have great teachers, an involved principal and are located in a wonderful community!

Castle Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2008
- a parent
Castle is an outstanding school--from the principal to the teachers to the support staff. They are welcoming, caring and sincerely concerned about your child's progress. Whether your child is in high-potential, Title One or somewhere in between, you can be sure that there's a teacher there doing everything they can to ensure success. Parental involvement is high, and they have many opportunities for families to gather outside of school, if desired.


Castle Elementary School 4

Posted January 11, 2005
- a parent
I have been very pleased with Castle Elementary. My son struggled with learning to read and received Title One assistance through first and second grade. The teachers were wonderful in supporting him and now, in third grade, he is ready at above grade level. I am impressed with the weekly communication I get from the teachers and the involvement of the principal. With two children currently enrolled, and another starting soon, I can say Castle has been and continues to be a great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Castle Elementary School
6675 50th St North, Oakdale, MN  55128
(651) 748-6700
Last modified Castle Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Castle Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top