Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 28 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Osseo

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $304,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, August 16, 2014

Uncertain why seasoned leaders in secondary are not returning this year. Seems like a massive changeover. Without the secondary principal, guidance counselor, and deans who will students go to who know the kids, culture and history? My friends are worried that HCA is losing its focus on Christian values and relationships. Why so many changes? and I heard we will know be eating lunch in the gym while elementary students are taking PE. Whats up with that? current student


Posted June 26, 2014

New principal presents himself as extremely unorganized, we are worried about the quality of education here and are looking for another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

We have been apart of Heritage for 7 years and have two kids there. We love the education our children are receiving. With one child in middle school, the relationship he is developing with his teachers is priceless. The commitment to growing spiritually is a key piece of Heritage. HCA's leadership team is a group of God honoring, prayerful leaders. Are there other private schools in the area... Yes... But..This is a private Christian school... The Bible is taught here without Biblical concepts changed to fit the time!! Excited and thankful for the vital Biblical worldview my kids are learning at HCA!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

Absolutely LOVE HCA! We have been there 7 years and plan to continue through 12th grade. The relationship our kids have with their teachers is amazing. These teachers pour their hearts out for the kids and teach from the Bible. Our children look up to the teachers as mentors and love going to school. We wouldn't trade it for anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

We have four children that attend this school and we cannot say enough about our overall experience. The teaching staff not only teaches a curriculum second to none, they nurture each student and teach morals and character based on biblical principles. The new president of HCA will continue to move the school in a progressive manner without compromising its base principles. So excited about the academic career for each of our four children.,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

Our family has been part of the Heritage family of believers for going on 9 years. Both of our children have had amazing educational and spiritual experiences and we are grateful to the Academy for being a light to our family and so many! Heritage offers excellent academics, many extracurricular opportunities and most importantly a focus on Jesus. Our kids' Biblical classes are off the chart amazing! The teachers, administrators and staff are wonderful examples of Christ-like leadership and educators. HCA students are loved, nurtured, challenged and equipped.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

We have been at Heritage for the past five years and couldn't be more pleased. The class sizes are small and allow for individual attention, the teachers really care and are available to help before and after school, and the quality of the education is excellent. My daughter graduates next year and we have every confidence that she will be well prepared for collage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

If you are looking for a great start to your children's education, this is the school for you! The kindergarten program is amazing, teaching the kids to read within 9 weeks! The elementary teachers spend extra time caring for and enriching their students' lives. The Accelerated Reading (AR) program encourages all students to become life long learners. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

Our children have been attending Heritage Christian Academy for the past 8 years. What an amazing school! The teachers and staff are wonderful and are incredible role models for the children. There is a strong Christian atmosphere in the school. Also, from an academic standpoint and athletic standpoint, the school has so much to offer. We feel very blessed that we are able to send our kids to Heritage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

i was a student at heritage christian academy and i still am scared with memories of that place. the majority of the schools facalty were nice, but i can say the kids at Heritage christian academy acted far from christians. after X amount of years there i lost my faith and attended counseling to be free of the demeaning and close to evil ways these students behaved towards me. i use to cry myself to sleep nearly every night because of how nasty these kids were and i have little to no self asteem or self confidence after leaving that place which is amazing to think of because i was the so happy to be me before i went to HCA i was the most confident person alive(not cocky or snobby).these kids have grown up in that school from preschool and the have formed strong cliques. if you are "pretty" your cool or if you are "snotty" or if you have been there a long time you are popular.


Posted October 19, 2011

We have been at Heritage for 3 years and have been VERY pleased. Not only are our children getting a good education, continued growth in their faith, but they are loved by the staff . The elementary principal is absolutely top notch! She's an experienced educator, parent and outstanding role model to her students and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2011

HCA is a great school in many aspects, especially because of the great families that go there that my child has gotten to know and love over the years. There are some very excellent and devoted teachers, especially the seasoned ones. I love the biblical teaching and the caring staff that works on the spiritual and character development of the students. The biggest problem I see is in the secondary school regarding academic flexibility to meet the needs of an individual student. From the administration it is dictated that no student can be treated any differently than any other student, no exceptions!! I and several other families I know of have had to take our students out of the school to other schools where there is more flexibility allowed to make our students successful after all their hard work on their studies, or to properly challenge them. Although there is a special services teacher, she provides little more than fancy paperwork--not exactly sure how that is helpful to our students when it is nothing more than empty words. If your child does well on their own in school, this school will be a great place for them. If not, this is not your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

We have been at Heritage since our first child started their preschool program more than 8 years ago. We have been very impressed with the quality of education--with a focus on core curriculum, but also teaching biblical truths and modeling how students can integrate their faith in the everyday. The teachers love the Lord and care for their students. We were also pleasantly surprised by how close we, as parents, have gotten to other parents and families. Our children are getting a challenging, first-rate education in a loving environment! Because the school is smaller than some of the public schools, the athletic program will be smaller as well. We have been impressed with how many different sports are offered. We are very happy at Heritage!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

We have been at Heritage for 9 years and have been very happy there. It is not a perfect school. No school is. But if you are looking for a Christ centered education with strong academics, fine arts and athletics then you should check it out. Our three children have received a great education and great character development. HCA does not offer a ton of extra electives, but the teachers and staff actually care enough about the students to know their names and listen to them. I find that the teachers are well prepared and willing to listen to parents if we have issues or concerns. My oldest child just completed her first year of college and felt that her education at Heritage prepared her very well for the rigors of of a university and to able to defend her beliefs. We believe that you get out of an education what you are willing to put into it. We have excellent teachers, some who have even left the corporate world to teach at our school. Our president and principals really want to partner with parents to raise Godly young men and women who are ready to make a difference in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

Absolutely love this place!!!! It has been a tremendous blessing. I am very thankful that my daughter is able to go to school here. The staff is amazing and has an incredible heart for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Its run by an amazing administration with incredible educators! All the while our children get a superior education that is Christ centered! What more can you ask for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

Heritage is a blessing to our family in so many ways. I have two children who are currently attending the school and I am also a teacher there. The school provides strong academics and also allows for teachers to be able to shepherd the hearts of the students. The administration has an amazing listening ear and I trust their decision making!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

Excellent Academics! My children have a solid and advanced education thanks to the curriculum at HCA. The teachers are at Heritage because they want to be. They love my kids and I trust my kids to them on a daily basis. The teachers and leadership of HCA are committed to helping my children grow in the grade and knowledge of God. My husband and I are grateful for the Heritage community. The administration prays with us and listens to us; they are constantly striving to be the best at academics, school programs, qualified staff, Bible knowledge, etc. We have had our children at Heritage for 7 years and believe strongly that this is God's perfect design for our family. We strongly recommend and trust Heritage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

Education is about the teachers. From my experience, HCA has a great staff who really love God with their heart and soul. I feel blessed to have wonderful teachers impact the lives of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

We feel so blessed to have our children at HCA. Our public school experience was not what we had hoped and HCA came to the rescue. Our children are thriving and receiving an excellent education. Being a small school, they have so many more opportunities to be involved. All the teachers our children have had over the years have been wonderful. Many of the HCA teachers have years of experience and the new teachers are so positive, full of energy and innovative teaching styles. We are really pleased with the new President and are excited about the direction he is taking the Academy. We highly recommended HCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Black 2% 9%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Other lutheran
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15655 Bass Lake Road
Osseo, MN 55311
Website: Click here
Phone: (763) 463-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ave Maria Academy
Maple Grove, MN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT