Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Otsego Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
My oldest is finishing up his Kindergarten year with Ms. Berwyn at OES and we have had the best experience. They made it so easy for him to adjust and he enjoys all of the learning experience and classes compared to his preschool program. He isn't a perfect kid, he has spent some time in ASR, but I was always given information as to what was going on with him. He learns well from the consistent discipline along with consequences at home. Overall, we couldn't be happier, everyone at the school, especially the secretaries, is truly wonderful.

Otsego Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
OES is a fantastic neighborhood school. The staff is creative, caring and committed to shaping and preparing young minds. The school offers numerous events to involve families and welcomes volunteers and visitors during the school day. I have had 3 children attend OES throughout the years and have never felt anything but respect and admiration for the work that is being done each day. My kids love going to school! OES has created a community of learners where kids feel important and needed. We are so thankful to have a safe and caring place to send our kids!


Otsego Elementary School 2

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
The staff is very good at brushing things under the rug. They find excuses why they are not to blame for falling test scores and low student performance. Retention has been come a problem for the school as the staff will not take advice on how to correct the issues. Bullying of students is accepted at the school and staff usually blames the victims.

Otsego Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2012
- a parent
This school has done great things and they are "moving forward" as they say. The kids LOVE the school, their teachers and the principal. We couldn't be happier.

Otsego Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2011
- a parent
My child just completed Kindergarten, and is entering first grade. I could not be more thrilled to have my child at OES. The community of OES creates a welcome environment in which the individual needs of both struggling and excelling learners is identified and treated. The every day K teacher is someone for whom I would vote for president and we loved her as much as she loved our child. The reputation OES has earned for the "academic probation" (which everyone knows is a complete policy nightmare passed on from the gov) is not true and I wouldn't want my child at any other school.


Otsego Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a parent
My special needs child is respected and cared for. His school work is challenging for him and the teachers and assts help but also allow him to be independent. I think this is one of the best things about the school. the kids in the class play with him and include him too. the principle is someone he knows, likes and sees often (but not in a bad way). I think this is a really good school.

Otsego Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a community member
Otsego Elementary is a fantastic school! Everyone from the teachers to the office staff are superb. They work WITH parents to help every child succeed!!

Otsego Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2011
- a parent
I have had the opposite experience and feel this school goes above and beyond to meet my child's needs. I am involved, read the eagle news and am impressed with the ENTIRE staff. The family support is critical and this school works in partnership with the parents to help all kids, and there are a lot of needs in any public school. As I said, I am IMPRESSED with this school and thankful my children attend here. Thanks to all.


Otsego Elementary School 2

Posted May 27, 2011
- a parent
If your child needs help and is not a special needs child it is next to impossible to get support from the school. My child was not doing well; I met with the principal and she told me that my child was one who was falling through the cracks. She also said that the school did not have the funding that they needed to help my child and that I should write to my congressman!

Otsego Elementary School 1

Posted April 12, 2011
- a parent
If you really don't know much about education or have the attitude that "it was good enough for me, so it's good enough for my kids" then this is the school for you. It's an example of what happens when we fail our children...on every academic opportunity.

Nearby schools

Otsego Elementary School
8125 NE River Rd, Otsego, MN  55330
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. (763) 241-3494
Last modified Otsego Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top