Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenwood Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2014

We moved our kids from a college-prep school to GW and couldn't be happier with our decision. We left based on cost and that our children weren't challenged. We are very impressed with the teachers and how they adapt the classroom curriculum to the classrooms varying capabilities. We agree that not all the teachers are equal in capabilities however the worst at GW is as good or better than the average teacher at the prep school we had previously attended. The gifted program is also a nice plus (Vision 21) with the new teacher taking a great program and improving on it. In short, all of our children are challenged and thriving. It was interesting to read the posts that were critical of the principal. Our interactions have been very positive and we find him very open and approachable. Our kids love him and how he eats with them at lunch or plays with them during recess. We couldn't imagine a better environment for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

We have only good thing to say about this school. very happy with Mrs. Hampre for 2nd grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2013

We had a problem with one of the teachers not returning our emails or phone calls and approached the Principal, Brad Gustafson. He not only didn't listen to us, he disagreed with us about our issue. We heard how great this school was when moving here but we have quickly become discouraged with this school and the leadership. We have had some trouble with a few teachers but most have been good if not great. If I could, I would rate a zero star on the Principal leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

The teachers are hit or miss. One of the Kindergarten teachers is awful. Pretty sure she doesn't even like children. She should've retired years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Most of the teachers at Greenwood are excellent. We have had a wonderful experience over the past 3 years at Greenwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

Not up to Wayzata district standards. The principal is nice, but not very good at running the school. He is new, but in my opinion, not up to the job. The teacher quality has decreased since he took over, and nothing is being done about the incompetent teachers. I agree with previous posts, most of the teachers are EXCELLENT, but there a few bad apples, one of them just moved from a part time position last year to a full time classroom just this year. This school also fails advanced students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

I moved to this city just for the school and was greatly disappointed. The year after we came to this school the principal retired and they hired someone who could not stand up to bullies and protect the innocent children. As soon as a bully gave him trouble he backed down and decided that no bullying had ever occured. After almost two years we gave up and moved my daughter to a private school. Not worth the trouble! They should hire someone that can stand up to a 10 year old!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

I totally agree. We moved into this school district on purpose, to get a great education. My son's 2nd grade teacher is a total waste. He loved school in K and 1st. Now, every day is a total mess. At first we thought it was us (at home). Then, we did some digging. Our son was well liked in his previous school, his coaches like him, and his after school program likes him, his camp counselor from summer day camp liked him. Evey the lunch ladies take me aside to tell me this kid is nice. Yep rotten ROTTEN teacher. The other dads and moms think she is a complete joke. Everyone says that you simple have to survive her and get to the better teachers later. Let's hope so. Otherwise, I REALLY made a mistake in moving into this district. Yuck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

This is a great school. Mrs Bradsher - the Vision 21 teacher- is excellent. She goes above and beyond, and does what ever is necessary to help my child learn. The school has changed since there was leadership switch .. I am hopeful that things will continue to grow but I am nervous about the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

I have a third grader and a K student at Greenwood. We lived in the city before our kids went to school and choose between Edina and Wayzata school districts. We just happen to find a house in Wayzata District. I have been very happy with Greenwood. I feel some teachers are excellent and some are good. We have yet to have a teacher that I don't like. There is a TON of parent involvement and the school is VERY welcoming to parents that want to help in the classroom or eat lunch with their kids. I was an elementary teacher before staying at home and I think I have high standards for my kids school experience. I am very happy with Greenwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

Greenwood Elementary is a great school for your children. The principal helps to direct the staff in positive ways, and communicates well with faculty and parents. The parent group is bigger than most schools and works to form a school community. I had 2 children attend Greenwood from K thru 5 and the staff was always willing to discuss how my children were doing. More over, my neighbor's child had minor learning problems that the staff and parenting involvement helped turn into an honor student at Wayzata West Middle School. Greenwood Elementary did very well by my children and those in my neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

we used to be in the osseo school district and moved to the area just for this school. the parent involvement is tremendous! every single teacher is spectacular! and the kids are excited to go to school. i would recommend GW to anyone in a heart beat!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

When we moved to Minnesota we chose our school district first and are very happy with the Wayzata schools. My kids have attended Plymouth Creek, Kimberly Lane and Greenwood. We have been extremely happy with Greenwood. The principal is wonderful, my children have had amazing teachers, and the parents and families at this school are involved and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

We moved to Plymouth more than a year ago and we are more than happy with the school. Many parent volunteers, great teachers, excellent school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I had 2 kids at Greenwood; one has mild LD, yet very intelligent, and was poorly served by our tax dollars at Greenwood. I did surprise visits to find him at a computer, riding an exerbike, struggling to read a book, or playing ball with Down Syndrome kids---definitely not working with what my child actually needed. As a result I now have a h.s. student who thinks very little of himself, assumes all his assignments will be 'modfied', instead of a student who works hard, instead of a student who actually learned how to accomplish what he needs to succeed, despite his very very mild learning differences. My other child at this school is a good mainstream learner and is doing about average. If I had the $$$$ and could turn the clock back, I'd go private in a flash.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2010.

106 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

125 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2010.

130 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 46% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students92%
Female95%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Economically non-disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Non-migrant92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students94%
Female92%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Economically non-disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Non-migrant94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students97%
Female94%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Economically non-disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities92%
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Non-migrant97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female97%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Economically non-disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Non-migrant93%

Reading

All Students81%
Female92%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Economically non-disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female92%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Economically non-disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Non-migrant93%

Reading

All Students78%
Female75%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Economically non-disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female76%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Economically non-disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant79%

Reading

All Students85%
Female83%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Economically non-disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Non-migrant85%

Science

All Students81%
Female78%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Economically non-disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 6%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Black 2% 9%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18005 Medina Rd
Plymouth, MN 55447
Website: Click here
Phone: (763) 745-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Providence Academy
Plymouth, MN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT