Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Paul's Lutheran School / Little Saints ECC

Private | PK-7 | 76 students

Quality Education

 

Living in Prior Lake

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $211,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2014

This school has been such a blessing for my son. The staff if motivated and inspirational. The school has an advanced curriculum, a strong emphasis on the arts and a core of Christianity. The children are well rounded and expected to show kindness and compassion to the world around them. I am amazed at what a difference the school has made for my son. I highly recommend Saint Paul's Lutheran in Prior Lake!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

We love St. Paul's! Both of our children go there. All of the staff is dedicated and passionate about their students! The small class sizes are awesome. We could not recommend St. Paul's enough. They start Spanish in Kindergarten, have before-school and after-school care, and have started after school sports as well. We feel very lucky to have found such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

The teachers at this private school are tremendous. The principal is unbelievable, and the curriculum is top notch. We have had two kids go through the program here and we have been very satisfied. It has been a true privilege to have our kids enrolled at SPLS. They are so committed to raising our kids in an institution that honors and lifts Christ above all else. The commitment to integrity, faith, and high quality education is unmatched in our area. If you are considering a private education for your kids, look no further. Sit down with the principal and you will quickly know why this is a safe and wonderful place for your children. We are blessed by SPLS! Dr. Jeff and Dyonne Danielson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

St. Paul's Lutheran is a wonderful school -- a hidden gem as one of the other reviews says! The class sizes are small, the curriculum is challenging. St. Paul's offers music, art, and sports as well as the basics. But, the best thing about St. Paul's is the teachers and the atmosphere of the school. It is a very encouraging, supportive school. The kids all know each other and all the teachers. The schedule allows all the kids to have classes with all the teachers. The teachers and staff keep the parents informed and aware of problems and also successes. My children were in a public elementary school and classes were large and the only solution if there were problems was that my kids would need to change to fit into the school's program. The teachers at St. Paul's take the time to get to know the kids and find their strengths and treat them as individuals. We couldn't be happier with St. Paul's and as another reviewer said -- we wish it went to grade 12 also!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

I can't say enough about St Paul's Lutheran School! The teachers are terrific, and the curriculum is top notch. My son loves going to school, and participates in everything St Paul's offers. The classes are small, and the teachers have time to really get to know each student. They have field trips, plays, and even a student led Praise Band! I highly recommend St Paul's to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

I have two kids at St Pauls' and they LOVE school! I LOVE the great communication between parent and staff. I can call , email or text a teacher at any time.The sense of community is nice to see, the older kids spend time with the younger students either on the play ground or reading a book . There is a great deal of respect between the students and staff. And I love that my kids have had Spanish since Kindergarten. This school is a hidden gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

We have been at SPLS 7 years and have had excellent teachers, every last one of them! We love the small class sizes. We love that good values and respect are reinforced in the school setting. I appreciate all the opportunities for instruments, singing, arts, as well as athletics, and other enrichment activities. I would highly recommend SPLS. I only wish it went through 12 grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

St. Paul's has been a great school for our children! Our children have excelled with the Core Knowledge curriculum, which challenges each child and creates a broader spectrum of learning. St. Paul's offers small class sizes to adequately meet the needs of each individual student. Behavioral issues are not a factor, because they are dealt with accordingly and parents are involved in the communication process. St. Paul's Lutheran School has provided the environment and education we were not able to find elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

I came to St Pauls looking for a more calm and nurturing environment for my son. He was having trouble with other childern at Jeffer's Pond Elementary picking on him because he wears his emotions on his sleeve. He couldn't understand how kids could be so mean. Either could I. I had fruitless conversations with his teacher and principal. They didn't approve of the behavior of some of the other children, but did nothing to change the outcomes. HIs grades suffered as well as his self-esteem. I was so distraught, I pulled him out and changed schools mid-year. St Pauls welcomed us with open arms and Connor has been thriving in the month following his enrollment. His teacher is amazing and so are the kids. There is such positive energy throught the school from the principal on down. They offer tutoring and most importantly, acceptance!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

I think St. Paul's Preschool is so good and it is all because of the teacher. She has helped our son love going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

I was very displeased with the academic help and curriculim this school taught. I also think this school is strict and the staff is judgemental.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 73%
Black 1% 9%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Doug Mierow
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (952) 447-2119

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • Lego League
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
76
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
76
Students typically come from these schools
Litlle Saints Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Prior Lake High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5634 Luther Rd SE
Prior Lake, MN 55372
Website: Click here
Phone: (952) 447-2117

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Aspen Academy
Prior Lake, MN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT