Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeview Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2014

After reading some of the other reviews I thought I'd share our experiences at Lakeview. Our child is currently in the third grade and has attended since K. In that time his class size has ranged from about 21-24 students (and while I couldn't handle that many I feel it is a reasonable class size..esp when I hear from friends in other areas/states :)) Any time I have contacted the school I have received prompt responses, usually within a few hours..next morning at latest. We have always received a lot of newsletters/flyers info sheets etc. (students bring home weekly folders with info that are to be signed and returned) and also our son has brought home a lot of his work for us to see. We were (are) concerned with the test scores at Lakeview and the school ranking ...but we are involved with the school and our child's work and encourage reading/learning etc and he continues to test well above the district (state) average. The only thing I would like to see is more parent involvement... I see the same (dedicated) faces at almost every meeting and event where volunteers are needed...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

This school ranks 599 out of 700 MN public elementary schools. Fewer than 40% of Lakeview students meet state reading, math or science standards. Visit the MN Department of education website for further details. I wanted to post these facts before stating my opinion... We knew that Lakeview had poor test scores and knew it wasn't one of the "best" schools in town. We chose to send our children to Lakeview, our local school, because we believe in supporting our community and that a school is really more than a number like a rank or test score. NO. NO. NO. This school is not more that its rank. It is horrible in nearly every way, though I'll concede I did feel that my child was safe while attending this school. Please explore open enrollment options for your child(ren)! First time parents may be surprised to learn that open enrollment applications need to be submitted by Jan. or Feb. Do not miss this opportunity! I see that other parents report being happy at this school and I honestly find that sad, I can't imagine any happiness at Lakeview. Schedule a tour -this school "feels" bad. Or maybe the bad feeling I still can't shake is from our poor experience. Do better for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

This school is terrible they have a serious bulling issue and refuse to address it. When something happens to your child the don't call To inform you. U have to call them and they ignore the issue unless something happens to one of their teachers. No one should be forced to attend this school do to it being rated a 2 when the best number being ten in the top ten robbinsdale school I tried to transfer my daughter and was told I would have to get approved and even then I would have to take too and from school myself so my only option is to move out of that district several parents in my building has removed their kids due to the Mis handling of their child N the bulling the bus drivers are also having issue with the school when they report kids bulling other kids that they keep on the bus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Wow, I am very surprised to see such negative comments about this school. I have had children in Lakeview for 6 years, and I am very happy with the school and the teachers. If I have ever had a question/issue, I have contacted the school, and they have gotten back to me within 24 hours (usually much sooner). As far as Kindergarten, I remember that there was always a weekly newsletter sent home and posted online. I will have a student there for 3 more years, and I am very excited! The Lakeview experience gets better every year (especially now with the monthly family events)! The main issue I have seen is a district issue, not a school issue. I wish that there was more funding for gifted education at the elementary level. (Although, I am not sure if other neighboring districts are any better in that area.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Awesome school. I have 3 students K-5 and have been there 5 years. Have had run into zero of the complaints described below in negative reviews. Any concerns we have had were addressed by teachers or principle. Reach out to them. Great teachers, aides, adventure club staff and office staff here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

My daughter was a student here for K & 1st (2010 - 2012.) I would never recommend that any family send their children to this school. There's very little communication from the school (almost none really.) The first week my daughter attended Lakeview the only piece of paper I received home in her backpack was 1 picture of an apple that she'd colored. No info about curriculum, no info about a typical day at this school, no introduction from the teacher - absolutely nothing. A picture of an apple. I was also disappointed to find that half-day kindergartners don't have music or phy-ed classes like the full-day kindergarten students receive (this is unique to District 281 - neighboring districts provide equal instruction to their students.) By January of our Kindergarten year, after much complaining, we were able to start receiving communication from the teacher - stuff like when library books were due. I didn't have as much luck with my complaints about no music or phy-ed. BUT... When I asked why the children were watching Finding Nemo at school? "The children are completing their unit on living and non-living things, so the movie was related to their unit." Best excuse ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Class size is way too large. 27 children in my son's kindergarten class with one teacher and no assistants. The teachers and staff are really trying their best and are very sweet but I feel very disconnected with the school even though I constantly try to reach out and touch base with the principle and teacher. I feel like the problem is not within the actual staff but with the student body/other parents. My son (and myself) have been called various derogatory terms by another kindergartener and while the teacher was appalled, nothing was done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

My son went through Kindergarten here. The class sizes are WAY too large (30+ kids), and the school puts too much emphasis on household income when determining whether a kid gets 1/2 day or full day Kindergarten. The teachers don't bother giving kids who excel additional challenges, and resort to the "take a break chair" when said kids get bored because they have finished. There is no way for the teacher to give each kid the attention they need due to class size. The reading standard is 20 sight words as opposed to the 80 found in other districts. After experiencing a year in Robbinsdale/Crystal, we will be putting our kid on the express train to private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

My daughter has been a student at Lakeview for two years. We love the IB program, creative programming such as the One School One Book project, and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2011

Unproffesional teachers. My child has had 2 good teachers in 4 years. This last year's teacher was very unwilling to work with simple changes to make learning easier. Very quick to judge also. We gave up and went to a charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

I have been so pleased with the Lakeview experience! The staff is excellent and my kids love going to school every day. The IB program offers the children a global approach to education. I'm so thankful for Lakeview!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

I have had children at lakeview for 6 years and it is a wonderful school with wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2010.

51 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 46% in 2011.

73 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students66%
Female67%
Male66%
Black47%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students63%
Female58%
Male67%
Black39%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learners58%
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students57%
Female58%
Male55%
Black41%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Not migrant57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
31%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students29%
Female21%
Male35%
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English32%
Not migrant29%

Reading

All Students28%
Female24%
Male31%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English31%
Not migrant28%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Female50%
Male38%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities47%
English language learners55%
Proficient in English42%
Not migrant45%

Reading

All Students25%
Female34%
Male13%
Black4%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities26%
English language learners18%
Proficient in English27%
Not migrant25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female45%
Male38%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English43%
Not migrant42%

Reading

All Students52%
Female48%
Male56%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English55%
Not migrant52%

Science

All Students35%
Female32%
Male37%
Black16%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English37%
Not migrant35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 73%
Black 31% 9%
Hispanic 13% 7%
Two or more races 10% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nicole Rens
Fax number
  • (763) 504-4109

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4110 Lake Dr North
Robbinsdale, MN 55422
Website: Click here
Phone: (763) 533-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Loring Elementary School
Minneapolis, MN


Noble Academy
Minneapolis, MN



Northport Elementary School
Brooklyn Center, MN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT