Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rochester Arts and Sciences Academy

Private | PK-5 | 62 students

RASA is known for small class sizes and rigorous academics.
 
 

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Rochester

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $143,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2014

Small class sizes, individualized instruction, academically rigorous, responsive to parent concerns, and Spanish and French beginning in preschool. Only secular private school in Rochester.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

I would give 6 stars!! RASA is excellent. Not only is RASA rigorous academically, the students learn to be culturally aware and to be good citizens. My son is in preschool and I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

This is an amazing school. I have 2 children in this school and couldn't be happier. The children are in a wonderful community of other children. They are academically challenged. The small class size allows for lots of individualized attention. Both of my children are quite different in their needs. My daughter has learned to be assertive and now does great with public speaking. My son has learned to follow instructions and gained listening skills. This is the most rigorous school in town. The math and science are started early as are the foreign languages of which they are learning French and Spanish at all grade levels. The teachers are kind and caring and have a great balance of dicipline and nuturing. Both of my children have learned to be more independent in their school work and have been challenged at every level. The afterschool activities include science club which my daughter loves. The school truly puts the needs of the child first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

RASA is an incredible, small school near downtown Rochester. We first started looking at private schools because at the time, the public schools only offered 1/2 day kindergarten. We couldn't be happier, and plan to keep our kids at RASA until they age out. There are small classes with amazing teachers, rigorous academics (our kindergartener now adds, subtracts, reads at a basic level, knows about countries around the world, speaks some basic french and spanish, and asks ridiculously insightul questions). And with all this, he loves going to school every single morning. There is after school care available - not just child care but also great activities like Chinese Club, piano lessons, and lego club. We can't recommend it highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

We have been at the school now for three years and are constantly amazed at how well our two children are doing both academically and socially. Small class size, dedicated teachers, rigorous academics and two foreign languages all come together to make this an excellent small school. The teaching staff know all of the students giving the school a very friendly nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

My son has been at RASA for 6 months in the Junior Kindergarten program and has really thrived there. As other parents have noted, it's the small classroom, individualized attention, and excellent language program that have been most impressive to us. Our son LOVES the daily French and Spanish classes (30 minutes each every day!) and we have been amazed by his language acquisition. Our son was already reading at a pretty advanced level coming into the school, so I can't really speak to much to their reading program. I don't think he is getting the individualized attention in that regard that I would hope for, but that has been an issue at all of the schools I've checked out at the Preschool/Pre-K level. The facility is not pretty, but the smallness of it makes him feel right at home. It is great to have to have an afterschool program right on site that includes things like Lego club, music lessons, etc. It is also very helpful as a working parent that the school year/school day are longer than most and that there are no "snow days." We are having a tough time figuring out to do for Kindergarten next year. RASA is great, but also looking at less expensive options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

RASA is an amazing IB school focused on the educating the whole child. Each child PK-3 get 30 minutes of both Spanish and French daily. All the teachers and staff outstanding to work with and dedicated to the success of each child. I have been at 3 different school and this by far has been the best experience for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

the very very best private school here!! teachers work so hard. My child is in second grade and her reading fluency is at a level that public schools cannot provide. The individualized attention really works.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

My daughter attended kindergarten at RASA for half the day, and a public school for the other half day. We were amazed how much farther ahead she was in academics compared to her peers at the public school. The teachers are very motivated, kind and nurturing. The class sizes are small and the children know everyone else at the school. The school building is not the best looking, but resources seem to be going into providing the best in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

My daughter is completing her first year at this school. We are very pleased with our experience at RASA. This school has so much in one place compared to area public and private schools. Full day Kindergarten, after school care program, small class sizes, daily world languages, challenging academics, curriculum that develops social, emotional and intellectual growth. Teachers and staff are attentive to my child and family's needs and know each child's strengths and weakness. I am getting my monies worth with this level of personal care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

This is not the perfect school but this is the best school in Rochester MN for my kids. Being always taught in big classes we, as parents, know how important we small class size is. Teachers are awesome and highly motivated. Parent involvement in school is great too. This school is like a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

This is a school with outstanding potential. It is very new and still struggling with finances and the physical environment. Education is outstanding, leadership is visionary, all teachers are dedicated, and children are motivated to learn! All they need to be complete is funding to support a dedicated and adequate physical infrastructure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2010

There is no way to over-emphasize the potential students can reach with the individualized attention/small class size. School is new and has the expected growing pains and the facilities are not the greatest, but my son's progress never ceases to amaze me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

Tuition is very high, but the facilities are poor. Classrooms are small without any windows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

Small class size (less than 12). Two foreign languages. Individualized attention and lesson plans. Our children are growing academically and personally (much more confident) in a safe environment with no bullying. Only international baccalaureate candidate school option in town. And for those families who do not have someone at home - there are no snow days or surprise late starts. No school is perfect - but this one is always there for our children and for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

Small class size. Individualized lesson plans.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:25 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Vanessa Haluska
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
  • Writing
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$9000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Friedell Middle School
Willow Creek Middle School
John Adams Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 5th Ave SW
Rochester, MN 55901
Website: Click here
Phone: (507) 206-4646

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Campus School
Rochester, MN


Special Education Esy
Rochester, MN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT