Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Rose Of Lima Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 254 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Roseville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $168,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, October 17, 2014

Our children are in St. Rose and we have had nothing but great experiences. They are thriving academically, gaining confidence, and learning respect for themselves and others. The teaching staff at St. Rose is incredible: they are very invested in each child's success, and take the time to communicate well with parents. The community of families at St. Rose are very involved at the school, and we feel very confident in our children's safety and future growth. We looked at several area public and private schools before we chose St. Rose, and are extremely happy with our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2014

Too small, poor principal leadership. We changed schools (to another Catholic school) and feel much more challenged academically and the children are happier socially with at least 2 classes per grade. Also, bulling was a major issue at St Rose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

I can confidently send my child to school every day knowing she will be safe, she will be loved, and the values we have worked so hard to instill in her will be encouraged. The school atmosphere encourages respect, calm, and happiness. I love the small class sizes. I know she won t be lost in the crowd and that she will get one-on-one attention from her teachers. I have always experienced excellent communication with teachers. I appreciate the updates and reports I receive each week in the Friday folder. I know I will be contacted if my child is struggling with something. At St. Rose I know there will be no surprises when we attend parent/teacher conferences. The teachers are easy to approach and always return calls or emails right away. I love that their middle school prepares students for high school. I like that they are on a separate floor learning new skills (i.e. changing classes, lockers) but they are still able to be part of the school community. This is a school that is open to all faiths. I like that it has the foundation of Christianity, but allows families and students to continue with their own spiritual journey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

I have 3 children that attend Saint Rose. (2012-13- 7th, 6th, and 4th) They've attended since preschool with the exception of 1 year outside of Saint Rose. I tried the public school system for one year, and returned the children to Saint Rose. Saint Rose is more than a superb education. It is a community where everyone is interested in each child's well-being. The school has one camera monitored entrance which makes it a safe environment for the children. Spanish has been added to the curriculum and will be taught to every child during the 2013-2014 school year. I am so grateful that my children attend a school that not only gives them an excellent education, but also cares about their emotional, mental, and spiritual well-being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

Our child has been at Saint Rose since Pre-School and is now in Middle School. We have been so impressed with how well rounded her education has been. She is in Advanced Math and the work she is doing in Science reminds me of what we did in High School! Not to mention the other core subjects she is able to articulate and speak in front of her peers and adults with such confidence and ease. Faith is interwoven into all aspects of her day and she is a better student and friend because of it. The fact that the older kids have the opportunity to be mentors to the younger kids in the Spirit Partner Program gives the children the opportunity to be a good example. For the students at St. Rose It is cool to be smart and it is cool to be kind! We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

I have a Kindergartner at St. Rose. We started our son in the St. Rose preschool program and loved it, so we enrolled him for Kindergarten. He has been at St. Rose going on 3 years and we could not be happier. We have been delighted with the teachers, the curriculum as well as the St. Rose community. We feel blessed to have found this gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

We currently have a kindergardener and a second grader enrolled at St. Rose. We did our homework prior to enrolling them and looked at both our local public schools and several catholic and private options. In my opinion, you cannot get a better all-around education for your money. The smaller class sizes allow the teachers to really know the students well and in both first and second grade, the academics have been tailored to my child. The teachers and prinicpal have been very receptive to any concerns and really want each child to succeed. My favorite thing about the school is the faith and values based education. The children REALLY care about each other. It makes me choke up a little when I think about how kind the "big kids" have been to my little ones on the bus and at school! Where else would a seventh grader regularly sit with a kindergardener on the bus? Awesome. Great extras - GREAT music curricula with really impressive christmas concert yearly. Gym 2-3 times a week. BRAND new computer lab and updated computer/"smart boards" in the classrooms. Lovely building. We are looking forward to more years at St. Rose and enrolling our now 3 and 1 year olds!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2013

We have one child in 6th grade at Saint Rose and one who graduated last year. Our journey over the last nine years at St. Rose has been very positive. We have transitioned through three principals which inevitably creates challenges, but due to the high caliber and professionalism of the faculty the quality of my children's education continues to be excellent. In addition my children have felt they are part of a family. The parent community is welcoming and supportive. My 9th grader was well-prepared for high school academically, but even more important had a strong moral compass upon graduating from Saint Rose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2012

We have a PreK and a first grader. We tried the public school in the area last year for our fist grader (in Kindergarten) and started our other child in the PreK program at St Rose. We did not feel the sense of community at the public school that St Rose offered. Great teacher and parents that watch out for each other. My son did not want to go to school last year at the public school. When we asked what he did at school the answer was 'nothing'. Now he is up before his alarm and excited to go be a school. He is always talking about what he is learning. I highly recommend St Rose of Lima Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

We have a third grader and a first grader. Both have been in the school since prekindergarten, and we have been pleased every year. The teachers are phenomenally dedicated, kind, and patient. The other parents are involved and diverse, and among them we have found our best friends. Other people in the school community (adults and older kids) "look out" for and help my kids when I'm not there; it feels like a family to me. The class sizes are small and our kids get lots of individual attention. My children are thriving academically and socially. They do service projects and field trips. My kids wake up every day excited and ready to go. All positive! Our family loves St. Rose of Lima!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

We have two children at Saint Rose and we have been a part of the school for 8 years. The teachers are outstanding! Their commitment, knowledge, and faith are top notch. The sense of community is above and beyond at Saint Rose. There are many ways to get involved. People know each other, they are their to help each other, and support the school. If you are looking for a faith-centered, quality education in an awesome community, Saint Rose is calling your name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

We have a first grader and a 4 year old prekindergartener. I have been so pleased with St. Rose school! Both of my kids love school and report that their days are "awesome" on a regular basis. The teachers are amazing. They are dedicated to teaching a strong academic curriculum along with teaching our kids to be responsible and caring of others. I love the individual attention they get. My son is enrolled in the after school language program and loves that too. So glad we made the choice to attend St. Rose! We have also met some of our closest friends through the school and it's so nice to know others are 'watching out' for your child during the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

My child has had one year of preschool at St. Rose, and it was a great experience. I was very excited about the progress my child made over the year. I'd definitely recommend this preschool. The teacher is fantastic, and the environment is very warm and friendly. Looking fwd this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

We have had our children at St. Rose since PreSchool. We have been impressed by the strong academics, the dedication of the faculty and the incredibly strong parent involvment! This has made for a well rounded education for our children. We feel that they are going to be very well prepared for highschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

We have two children at St. Rose. One in 5th grade and one in 2nd. They have both gone to St. Rose since they started in kindergarten. It's true the parents are clicky and know each others business (too much) but what do you expect from a small school where all the parents are active in the school and participate in events? Like a family, you get to know too much about each other. The academic focus is around the basics. If you're looking for 3 hours of art class, this is the wrong school. If you're looking for respect from the students, teachers that care, parents that are involved, difficult homework for the kids, and a christian education....this is the best place. We've stayed in Roseville because of this school. One final note, measure the teachers, the education, and the kids -- not the principle (who cares?). A+ from us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

Now that St Rose has a new principle, everything seems to have improved. What a differance! This is the way a school should be. Focus on strong academics, family, faith. Outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

The principal really cares about the students and the families and goes out of his way (on his free time) to get to know the parents. The academics are great, and the music and sports programs are really outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

i am very blessed that my son goes to St. Rose of Lima Catholic School in Roseville, MN 55113. We have tried 2 other private catholic schools around the area and finally we found St. Rose where as a parent I am very satisfied. My son has been going there since 2nd grade and he has been very happy and satisfied. He is now a happy 7th grader. The principal, all the teachers, and other school employees are very supportive and great. Academics are high standard, discipline is strict which I prefer and the teachers are very accomodating. I love the new principal who values faith and family first. I highly recommend this school to parents who would like a very good catholic education for their children. It is the best legacy or inheritance that they can leave to their children that no one can take away from them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

New principal is a great leader and the teachers are fantastic! The academic standard is high, and my children have received and are receiving a great education. We have been exceptionally pleased with St Rose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

This school has made some fantastic changes in the past year and is stronger than ever. We are very pleased with the school and would strongly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Black 2% 9%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of St. Paul-Minneapolis
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2072 Hamline Avenue North
Roseville, MN 55113
Phone: (651) 646-3832

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Extended School Year
Roseville, MN





Fairview Program
Roseville, MN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT