Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Concordia Academy

Private | 9-12 | 107 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Roseville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $168,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2013

Concordia is a truly exceptional school. 4 of my 5 children have graduated from CA and all have gone on to graduate college. Not one had to take a remedial class in college (as 30% of public high school graduates do) and 2 of the 4 received full ride scholarships for college. CA educates from a christian worldview with an emphasis on honoring God through excellence. It is a small personal school that may not be able to accommodate the whim of every parent, but they bend over backwards to meet the needs of the student. It's a wonderful school and on of the best kept secrets in the North Metro.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2012

My son went 9th - 12th grade and I wish he would have gone anywhere else! Do not send your child to Concordia Academy. There are two teachers I do not think they are qualified yet they let others go. You do not have a choice of which teachers are to instruct your child's education. I inquired this freshman year and it started an uproar. No missions tips or strong community support for one another within their organization or within the students. Injuries are not reported to parents. The senior year book spelled his name wrong and did not include his baby picture they confirmed receiving. He left jr. high on the B honor roll and graduated an average. I expect a private school to maintain it and be recognized. He has yet to be accepted to a university. Not a good college prep school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

This school offers such a great environment! The teachers and staff honestly care about the academic, emotional and spiritual well-being of students. I loved it at Concordia Academy. Although there are limited electives, excellent college prep courses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2008

This school truly cares about each and every student; from the star football player to the shy kid. You can take everything from AP and college courses (PSEO and within the school) to the basics. It truly is a community where your child can grow to be the best they can be. They can also grow spiritually if they are receptive, but it is not necessary to get a great education. You can't find a better school community. My children love it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

As a former 4.0 student who attended this high school for all four years, I would hesitantly recommend this school. It is a very religious school, and if you are not comfortable expressing your faith, then this school, with twice-weekly mandatory chapels, might not be for you. However, I will say that the school did push academics and encouraged the State's PSEO program, which I took part of. I did find that the school was very clique-y, and some of the students could be very judgemental if you were uncomfortable with your faith. Even though the teachers were very nice, they seemed to be out of touch with what was really happening in the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2006

This school is all too often used as a last resort school for students who have problems in public schools. The environment is very religious and if your student doesn't want to be a part of it, they pretty much have no other options. They are also woefully lacking in health education, especially when it comes to moral issues. Also, the enriched programs (AP, Honors)and classes outside core subjects are completely missing from the curriculum. On the other hand, the teachers do care about each student individually. They were always available if a student needed to talk about any issues. If you are looking for a school that will nurture your child's faith (and your child wishes to enhance it) this school is for them.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 12, 2005

I would have to say that a strongly disagree with the comment first made. Concordia Academy is an unbelievable school. The teachers are great and have a great love for God. The Christian atmosphere is so strong. There are many prayer groups, a few bible studies, etc. There is also Peer Support where students can talk to other students about their problems, but other whise students feel free to talk to the teachers and ask for advice. The teachers are extrordinary. I went to this school and felt my life with God change drastically. From a student, I would definetly recommend CA. -Emma
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2005

I thought this school was nothing exceptional. Some of the teachers were decent, however, I felt most were underqualified. I found the atmosphere to be very hipocritical and I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 73%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Black 4% 9%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 Dale Street North
Roseville, MN 55113
Phone: (651) 484-8429

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Project Return
Little Canada, MN



East View Academy
Little Canada, MN


Alp @ Capitol View Center
Little Canada, MN


Fairview Program
Roseville, MN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT