Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
162 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Admissions open houses are great opportunities for the whole family to explore whether FSM would be a good academic and social fit for your child. Our fall and winter evening open houses include a tour by current students or parents, a presentation about FSM’s curriculum and philosophy, a chance to visit classrooms and chat with teachers, staff and current parents. Children’s activities are available so you can bring the whole family. No need to RSVP but you can send us your name and address and/or email to receive information about admissions events. Open house schedule: 6:30-7:00 p.m. School tours by students and parents 7:00-7:40 p.m. Information session in the multi-purpose room (children's activities available) 7:40-8:30 p.m. Visit classrooms, more tours, refreshments We also invite adults to tour the school during a school day, October-April. Contact admissions@fsmn.org to sign up for a school day tour.
August 08, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Friends School Of Minnesota
no rating

Posted August 08, 2015
- a school leader
Admissions open houses are great opportunities for the whole family to explore whether FSM would be a good academic and social fit for your child. Our fall and winter evening open houses include a tour by current students or parents, a presentation about FSM’s curriculum and philosophy, a chance to visit classrooms and chat with teachers, staff and current parents. Children’s activities are available so you can bring the whole family. No need to RSVP but you can send us your name and address and/or email to receive information about admissions events. Open house schedule: 6:30-7:00 p.m. School tours by students and parents 7:00-7:40 p.m. Information session in the multi-purpose room (children's activities available) 7:40-8:30 p.m. Visit classrooms, more tours, refreshments We also invite adults to tour the school during a school day, October-April. Contact admissions@fsmn.org to sign up for a school day tour.

Friends School Of Minnesota 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Both my children have been at FSM since kindergarten. My daughter just entered Middle School (5th grade), and both kids are thriving. We wanted a school where our children would be seen and heard and where they would be developed as whole people. When we chose FSM it was because they spend lots of time outdoors, and we learned that middle school can be great (who knew that it doesn't have to suck?). Our children have made lifelong friends, are learning to speak for themselves, and to be independent thinkers. The Quaker values lead to a strong conflict resolution program, service projects, and a focus on peace-making and justice. Oh, and they can do math and read and stuff, too. The community is out of this world - as a family, we have found our people and couldn't be happier. We were committed to public school and toured FSM as a favor to a friend. We walked in the door and never looked back. (one caveat: like all schools, FSM is not a fit for every child. If your child needs an academically accelerated program or a highly structured learning environment, you'll want to evaluate if FSM is a good fit). We love it, and wish all children had access to such an education.


Friends School Of Minnesota 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
A lot has been said in recent reviews that I totally agree with. We could not be happier at FSMN. When our son was in the lower school he was fabulously (largely invisibly) supported for his developmental/learning needs. At that point it was mentioned to me that the middle school years are even better. I could not imagine it, but having an aging middle schooler now, I could not agree more. Academic expectations are clearly set and they increase in a logical developmental manner. I can completely envision my child as a competent high schooler now, as the skills (social and academic) are firmly in place. Science, math, spanish, humanities are excellent. The new art space is inspiring. If you are looking for a progressive school with strong values and fabulous staff---take a look here. The school is small, but the community large. From K-8, students get to know each other and the teachers and staff, expanding their world. FSMN is an extension of our family.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Please come to an open house on: Thursday, November 13, 2014 or Thursday, January 22, 2015 6:30-8:30 p.m. Prospective families are invited to come see the school and talk with teachers, students, and parents about Friends School of Minnesota's philosophy, curriculum, and community. Bring the whole family! 6:30-7:00 p.m. School tours by students and parents 7:00-7:40 p.m. Information session in the multi-purpose room (children's activities available) 7:40-8:30 p.m. Visit classrooms, more tours, tuition aid info, refreshments Admissions open houses are great opportunities for the whole family to explore whether FSM would be a good academic and social fit for your child.
Posted November 07, 2014

Friends School Of Minnesota 5

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
We were very careful in choosing a school for our shy and anxious daughter, and I'm so glad we chose FSM! They really get to know every student, and give her the nurturing she needs while still challenging her to go outside her comfort zone. They facilitate friendships between grades so that the entire school becomes a community -- it's amazing how many kids of all ages our shy child now knows. And unlike the public schools, they have time for all the important "extras": longer recess, Open Lab (a once-a-week period where kids get to try new, or just fun, activities), Buddies (where younger kids and older kids are paired up), etc. Homework is minimal and academics slow-paced for the lower grades, but kids come out of there fully prepared, both academically and socially.


Friends School Of Minnesota 5

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
i cannot say enough good things about FSMN. The faculty and staff commitment to a liberal education, with high academic standards and a commitment to peace, justice, community, and diversity are astounding. This is a school that will support you as a parent and will be your support, not a source of distraction, worry, or concern.

Friends School Of Minnesota 5

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
Friends School's approach to education is inspiring. They cultivate a love for learning, curiosity about the world, a commitment to community, and a strong sense of self in students. All of the teachers are top-notch, both as educators and just as the kind of people you're glad to have as role models for your kids. Although the academics are very good, it is not an academically "elite" school, and they admit students with a variety of academic abilities (although it's true that, as a small school, there are not as many services for more serious learning disabilities). The philosophy is less achievement oriented than focused on character building, guided by Quaker principles of simplicity, peace, integrity, community, and equality. There's also a strong commitment to the arts, diversity, and social justice.

Friends School Of Minnesota 3

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
It all depends... the school has no resources for kids who are challenged in learning or learn differently. In fact, the administration is consistently resistant to efforts to provide them. They also seem to have no sensitivity to one parent families. If your kid is mainstream and whitebread, it's a good school for you. But I have an ethical problem with supporting a school that doesn't embrace all kids. It's the classic private school: if they aren't perfect we don't want 'em here, or we'll be happy just to push them through and let them fall behind.


Friends School Of Minnesota 5

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
Friends School of MN has been like a school heaven on Earth for our children. After experiencing various other schools- Montessori, public, gifted, and outdoor schools, this school pretty much seems to have it right. A holistic, develop,entally appropriate approach to teaching children where they are, not as adults wish the we're. The school is intellectual, outdoorsy, hands-on, and embodies respect toward children, parents, teachers and all who come through its doors. Quaker values imbue this school with a very conscientious moral approach toward relationships with all people. The teachers and staff are bright and dedicated. Everyone seems pretty happy here. I know my daughters have almost never complained about anything they've encountered in a given school day. And that's saying a lot. We are extremely happy with this school.

Friends School Of Minnesota 5

Posted March 14, 2012
- a parent
I came to appreciate FSM most after my daughter graduated and started high school. She was far better prepared for all of her classes than most others. The individual attention from teachers that she received at Friends helped her to grow in her knowledge, skills, and conceptualization of complex material. More than just the academics, though, FSM promotes healthy relationships between the students and with teachers and staff. This lays a solid foundation for the next steps.

Nearby schools

Friends School Of Minnesota
1365 Englewood Avenue, Saint Paul, MN  55104
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (651) 917-0636
Last modified Friends School Of Minnesota is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top